We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but thin walls”
Review of The Bentley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bentley Hotel
Ranked #208 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Everything about this hotel I would say is good. The location is good as it doesn't take too long to walk to the subway or even central park only took 15-20mins. There are enough bars and restaurants nearby, and if you get a room with a view of the river it's great.
My only complaints would be that the walls are very thin - we had a family staying next door for a few nights and had the noise of the children waking us up in the morning. . . . And the lifts took forever - I have no idea why they took so long but we could easily be stood there for 5 minutes waiting for the elevator.
Apart from these few niggles, the room was nice and clean, it's in walking distance to a lot of places - Central Park, Bloomingdales etc, and the staff seemed friendly enough although we didn't interact with them very much.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lark2713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Hello Lark2713,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for your recent stay at The Bentley Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you felt the walls were thin and the elevators took an extended time to respond. Our elevators have been operating optimally for quite some time, so this likely was a result of someone holding the doors open.

We do hope that The Bentley is in your future travel plans when retuening back to New York. Thanks again for your feedback, we truly appreciate it.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,772 - 2,778 of 3,921 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed at the Bentley Hotel this weekend and I was so pleased with the room. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathrooms provided everything I needed and more (mini dental kit, shaving kit, and sewing kit). The service was also great. I enjoyed my stay so much that I am going back for my birthday next weekend!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dsogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hello Dsogirl,

We are thrilled that you had a great experience with us, this past weekend. So much so, that you've decided to return this coming weekend! Please do let us know how we can make your birthday celebration, the best birthday party ever!

We are confident that we have gained your loyalty to The Bentley and look forward to welcoming you back time and time again.

Happy Birthday!

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Had made a reservation months in advance. On the Sunday before the Tuesday we arrived, I requested a room fridge via the on-line concierge service. This was not in the room when we arrived, although the staff brought it up to us very quickly. Views are great as advertised, and the bed and linens were great too. The big problem was the heat in the room. In the late afternoon and night the temperature was fine at around 70 degrees, but we would wake up to mid-80s temperatures in the morning, which was only made worse when trying to take a shower in that heat. Since we were out and about most of our 4 days there, we dealt with it through the morning and got the heck out ASAP until our last day there when we wanted to relax in the room for a bit around 2pm. Still mid-80s, plus the TV stopped working. The staff moved us to a new room, but the temperature on arrival there was still over 80, when we wanted it more like 70. We had a dinner reservation at 6pm, and by 5pm, the problem was still not solved, so our afternoon was wasted. The maintenance person's solution was "turn the A/C off and open the window", so we slept to the soundtrack of the FDR on the last night... and still the temperature in the room was mid 70s, since the A/C unit still pumped out heat even when the control unit was set to "off". On checkout, the front desk simply shrugged and apologized, and offered us something from the breakfast bar. Others came down after us and complained of the same - apparently there was an issue with the x11 rooms (we were moved to 1911, the others there were in rooms ending in 11, but that doesn't explain our problems in 1406, our first room). I have no problems with issues coming up from time to time, as "things happen" sometimes... but when the problems aren't solved, and we're greeted with a shrug on checkout, that's not right.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Neale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hello Neale R,

We are verry sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations as it relates to the climate in your guest room on a couple of occasions and the stained pillow. I can only imagine how inconvenient it must have been, not being able to get your room to a comfortable temperature.

The manager on duty attempted to reach you (unsuccessfully) many times during your stay and has since been in touch with you since your departure, via email, to resolve your concerns. Sorry we were not able to connect with you, but please know that every attempt was made to do so. It unfortunate that you did not mention our efforts to resolve your concern, in this trip advisor posting.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

On short notice, needed to book to attend a funeral. Hotel was suggested - and location was fine. Room was nicely equipped - but overly heated. Staff were always professional, helpful. The problem was that when I called and booked room, the agent recommended the "breakfast special" - saying that by PRE_Paying - I could have breakfast for the 2 of us - for additional $35 -instead of the normal $28 + + per person. DIdnt listen to my "inner self" and booked it since I knew we would be in a rush that next morning. Well- turns out they havent had a restaurant in almost 2 years - so breakfast meant we could pick up items at the cafe off the lobby ( starbucks coffee, containers of yogurt, fruit, bagel to toast - up to $15 value per person) and carry it up to our room. ( there are three tables for 2 in the cafe area). This was not the full menu a la carte breakfast I was sold - and no reprieve from Front Desk.
The location on the East side is great- if you need to be in that area. We easily walked down to 44th Street- and up as far as 70th Street. So it suited our purpose. The scaffolding around building was a little tricky - but manageable - and the doormen very quickly got us cabs when needed.
Bed was comfortable - but be warned they do NOT have two bedded rooms - only queen or king sized beds. Lobby area is very small - and gets crowded when a group is checking in.
Just DO NOT fall for the pre paid breakfast scam!

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem to be better. Can be a bit noisy -but notice they have signs in hallways asking g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlhfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Bentley, the staff were professional and courteous and in our minds made the stay. It is true what other reviewers have said about the need to put in some walking when staying here, but I would recommend the Bentley and plan to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mavis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hello Mavis B,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experieince on our Trip Advisor page. It is always very rewarding to read reviews such as yours, it assists in motivating the team to take service delivery to the next level!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bentley Hotel in the near future. Until then, we wish you all the best.

Kind Regards,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

It looked great in the website and in the reviews. One tend to be apprehensive and the acid test is when you actually see for yourself. I must confess that Bentley lived up to the billing and in fact exceeded my expectation. Your first impression at check-in usually sets the stage. The doorman observed us getting off the taxi and had the door open, the lady that checked us in was courteous, efficient and helpful. Our room was tastefully decorated and my wife and I particularly loved the luxurious looking beds with elegant headboards. The views from our room was fantastic: the river, park, overview of sorrounding buildings. Room was clean, comfortable and quite (It is Manhattan, so naturally you'll hear sounds of sirens and traffic, but not disturbing to a restful sleep). We did not try the food either at the restaurant or room service since I was fasting- we plan to do so at our next stay. Our stay ended in the same high note as when we checked-in. Excellent service with courtesy and high efficiency by the bell boy in storing our luggage and by the doorman;obviously the service oriented culture is well entrenched. We, of course, enjoyed our stay and will be returning very soon for a week(maybe longer) !

Room Tip: Rooms in the higher floors have fantastic views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hello juan s,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Bentley and for sharing such positive comments about your experience! Our ultimate goal is to exceed guest expectations during every interaction and it is so rewarding when this is accomplished.

We anxiously anticipate your return to The Bentley Hotel. Please do not hesitate to email us at bentley@amsterdamhospitality.com if there is anything we can assist with, prior to your next trip to New York.

All the best,

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Bentley for 3 nights. As tourists we left the hotel at 9.30am and returned at 9pm. Therefore, all we were looking for was a comfortable bed and a good shower. We got both at The Bentley.
My only gripe is not with the hotel itself but it's location, you have to be prepared to put in some walking mileage unless you're going to get a cab everywhere.
I have no complaints with the hotel itself, the room was clean, large comfy bed and good shower.
I guess it depends what your looking for from your stay. It's not a luxurious hotel and I could pick hairs about room size, the view, the decor but it did the job for us and I'd stay again (if location was better).

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Curlyrach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hello Curlyrach1,

Thank you for sharng your great experience with us on our trip advisor page!

Our average room size is 280 square feet and this is on the larger side compared to many NYC hotels and I would argue that The Bentley has some of the best hotel views in all of Manhattan! Being able to see the East River, 59th St Bridge, Roosevelt Island, Long Island City, Williamsburg Bridge and the borough of Brooklyn is certainly not common and we receive an incredible number of compliments about this!

Although we are a 10 minute walk to the closest subway line, our location in many ways is ideal as guests are able to be away from the hustle and bustle of Manhattan. If guests plan on walking to and from Times Square during their stay, I agree, the 45 minute walk each way could very well get tiresome.

We do thank you for choosing The Bentley and look forward to welcoming you back!

John S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#125 of 470 in New York City
3,259 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#301 of 470 in New York City
907 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#82 of 470 in New York City
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#193 of 470 in New York City
1,878 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#151 of 470 in New York City
922 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#203 of 470 in New York City
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065-8314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
#150 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $135 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bentley Hotel provides an unmatched New York City hotel experience. Settled just outside of the epicenter of the buzzing Midtown activity, you can enjoy a quieter stay while only being a short walk from Central Park, Bloomingdale’s and the historic 5th Avenue shopping district. Escape from the fast pace of Midtown Manhattan with a stay at the Bentley Hotel. With breathtaking views of the East River and of the 59th Street Bridge, our tastefully appointed guest rooms reflect that very elegance and sophistication, while also being within walking distance to some of the greatest destinations in New York City. The breathtaking views from our guestrooms are not the only thing we can boast of; Enjoy a relaxing beverage at our lobby bar or head up to our penthouse restaurant – Prime at the Bentley to treat your taste buds with a gourmet meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing