We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel and great value or NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bentley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bentley Hotel
Ranked #248 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel and great value or NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights from 27th March. We found the welcome and general service excellent. The hotel is close enough to central midtown, but far enough away that you're out of the main touristy bits. True, there's no coffee facilities, but the bar downstairs served takeout for reasonable prices. The Ritz diner is good for a hearty breakfast and we had a great meal at Neely's BBQ parlour, and also El Porron Spannish restaurant, both a block or so away.

Our room was a good size and a great view over the Queensborough bridge. My wife found it a little noisy, but it didn't bother me. We also arranged a car for JFK which was only $45 from the hotel desk. We'd definitely stop again, in fact we tried to as we had another night in NY 2 weeks later but they wouldn't do a single night so we ended up at the New Yorker which was much smaller for more money.

In summary, if you don't mind being in a quiter area, and are happy to walk a little, this is a great option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagalout99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear sagalout99,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your vacation with us. I am so happy to hear you had great time and felt comfortable throughout your stay. We truly have a great team of employees and I am glad that we were able to accommodate you to your satisfaction. Let me know if you have plans to come back to NYC so I can be of assistance for future bookings.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,090
    942
    469
    185
    112
See reviews for
756
851
200
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

By all means ask for an upper level floor! We were on the 16th so noise not a problem, but the location just off the FDR Drive and traffic exiting Queensboro Bridge directly outside made for a very noisy and busy intersection around the hotel. Also ask for river view! Our king room was rather European in size (no closet even) but nice decor, clean, comfortable and was a good value for midtown Manhattan. There was a pricey minibar in the room, but,,alas, not a coffee maker. the bed was comfortable,though the sheets were a bit too crisp(rather than super soft and silken). The location is a bit off the beaten track (no good restaurants, bars etc. In the immediate area) but taxis are plentiful, buses convenient, and short hike to Lex. Ave. Subway. We had a great deal for our 3nightustay, and it was overall a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: request upper floor---as high as possible--- on east side of hotel.Preferably southeast corner for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laura714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear laura714,

Thank you for your valuable review on trip advisor. I am glad you had a good time and enjoyed the room and the views our property has to offer. I look forward to welcoming you next time when your travels bring you to New York.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed only one night in The Bently just after New Year. The room is very clean and the location is excellent. It is very easy to walk to the subway and be at any part of NYC in minutes. This is a boutique hotel so décor, colors and overall ambient is fantastic. The front desk was very helpful. Overall, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ida32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Ida32,

Thank you for your kind words on trip advisor. I am glad you have enjoyed your recent stay and we were able to make you feel comfortable. I look forward to welcoming you back soon, let me know if I can be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our stay at the Bentley was nice enough - the room was actually quite clean and nice and the location of the hotel was very convenient for our purposes. It was easy to drive in and park (there is a garage around the back of the hotel), but it was also an easy walk to the subway to get to all the places we needed to be.

However, the service definitely left us a bit disappointed. When we arrived, no one greeted us and once we got up to the room we had to call for linens for the pull-out bed (though the room had clearly been booked with the intent of using this). Finally, the day we checked out, we were not offered a receipt and when we requested it, we realized we had been hit with a number of erroneous mini bar charges. We hadn't touched a thing! The staff took care of it, but did not seem apologetic or concerned about it.

All in all, I'd probably give it another chance, but wasn't blown away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mafels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear mafels,

I appreciate your valuable and honest feedback about your recent stay with us and I am sorry to hear that we were not able to make you feel as comfortable as you should have been. I am however happy that you enjoyed the decor and the area of the hotel. We always strive to offer the best level of customer service and I am disappointed that we were not successful this time. Please feel free to reach out to me personally next time your travels bring you back to New York and I will make sure that all goes well with your future bookings.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Cool decor, great service. Comfy room, plenty of space, quiet. Didn't have some of the normal amenities like in-room/lobby coffee or morning newspaper and had a $12.95 wifi charge. But....for the price and still a good location the place was great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear iluvryno,

I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and appreciate your feedback that you posted on trip advisor. I look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring you to New York and I am sure you will have a great time again.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Cool decor, great service. Rooms actually had space, rathern modern. Didn't get the 'normal' amenities like in-room coffee, newspaper or lobby coffee but that was ok. There was a charge for wifi but that's expected. Great way to spend less money but still be close to everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvryno23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear iluvryno23,

Thank you for your great comments about your recent stay. I am happy to hear that everything went well and that you have enjoyed the location. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon once you have plans to come to New York again.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at the Bentley Hotel between 28th - 31st March 2013 for my daughters 21st birthday. Requested a high room with a view, which we were given. The room was very clean, a decent size and the bed and pillows very comfy. The staff were lovely, very helpful and very professional and looked after us very well. We left something in our room and went back several days later to collect it and it had been bagged up downstairs waiting for us. Very easy to communicate with before, during and after our stay. The hotel was in a great location, far enough out but near enough to walk to the main action. We loved and and will definitely be staying again when we return to NYC! Thank you.

Room Tip: A room high up with a view of the Queensborough Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippa131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Pippa 131,

I am so happy to hear that you had a great time and everybody took good care of you. We have a great team of employees and I am glad that you felt the same way. Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. I will definitely share your kind words with my staff members to let them know about your great experience. I look forward to welcoming you next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#249 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#197 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,428 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#345 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#60 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,595 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#330 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 4,477 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#158 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Property: The Bentley Hotel
Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
#160 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#184 Family Hotel in New York City
#193 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side - Hotel features panoramic views of Manhattan skyline, East River and the renowned, 59th St Bridge Be sure to have dinner and/or a cocktail in Prime at The Bentley restaurant. The kosher, continental menu features many great dishes that will not disappoint! Open Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:30pm and Saturday, after sun-down, until 12:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing