We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service? You must be kidding!”
Review of The Bentley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bentley Hotel
Ranked #244 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Service? You must be kidding!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked 2 suites one for my husband & I for a 4 night stay the other for 2 nights for our children. Our first night they did not have a non-smoking suite available. We accepted another room & inquired whether we would receive a credit for the difference - we were told I cant do that we had a suite (a smoking room) & you didnt want it speak to a manager in the morning. The next day we moved into our suite, clean & functional. Our children had requested an early check-in 2:30 instead of 3:00 their room wasn't ready until 4:00. When we went to use the pull out couch there wasn't a mattress on it - housekeeping stated not all couches are useable! (Our couch did have a mattress.) Linens were provided for our granddaughter to sleep on the floor! Service was not with a smile - we felt like they were doing us a favor by letting us stay in the hotel. Guess you get what you pay for, service not included!

Room Tip: Although the river view is nice it is noisy from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller90212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Traveller90212,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Bentley. As the General Manager of the Hotel, I am disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations. Please be assured I have shared your posting with our Executive team to respond accordingly within their respective departments. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Bentley the next time your travels bring you to NYC. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly if I may be of any further assistance.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,451
    1,114
    591
    240
    141
See reviews for
989
1,060
260
681
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a great time at your hotel. The front desk guy that help me his name Roopesh, since I started looking at your hotel he was very helpful an knowledgeable. We're definitely would like to stayed at your hotel again and i will recommended to my friends.


Thanks again,

Paula Hutchison

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandora502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had an excellant stay at The Bentley - the staff were exceptional in all levels of service. Of note - Alessia at the front desk was wonderful - she handled one situation for us very professionally and looked out for us during our stay. Would highly recommend The Bentley Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luann_M60895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Luann_M60895,

Thank you for posting your review of the Bentley on TripAdvisor. As the General Manager I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to sharing your feedback with our Guest Service Agent, Alessia. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Bentley in the near futrue.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed one night. Deluxe rooms have a good view. Restaurant is really bad. Our room was very smal and we were bumping into furniture. Beds are comfortable. Bathroom was sort of old looking with half partition which let water get on the floor. Hairdryer was sparks coming out of it. Overall I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear A C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. As the General Manager of the Hotel, I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Please be assured I have shared your post with our executive team to address accordingly. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel and staff accommodated my friend and I in every way possible. They gave us an upper floor room with a beautiful view of the Queensboro bridge and East River. They noted that we would be in super late, allowed us to store our luggage on Sunday while we shopped, brought us ice at 2 AM, and our maid service was excellent. Towels were always in supply, and they situated our stuff in our room in an organized manner. The lobby is super chic and the elevators have this awesome black leather padding...I just loved everything about it. It is a short walk to the subway- maybe eight minutes- and pretty easy to hail a taxi. About a $10 taxi ride to midtown/times square, $15 to meatpacking. The Bentley is fabulous I have nothing negative to say about it- absolutely nothing. The doormen are all super sweet, as well as the front desk, cleaning crew- everyone. There is no continental breakfast -as with most nyc hotels- but it is a short walk to dunkin donuts/mcdonalds. I just love the Bentley, will stay there from now on- AND I AM A PICKY PERSON. Look no farther.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor immediately when you book! If it is a special occasion, alert the staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaylenAmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My wife and I had to come to New York in a rather straining haste. We flew in all the way from London and my brother in law came to meet us in LA. The accomodation was second to none. The front desk was a bit too short for my liking (spoke to concisely i thought they were rather bland!) but the bellman, a young lad named Mayor or Majer was the darling of the place. He was positively engaging and incredibly knowledgeable of the area. He is a face to build the image of a hotel around so I highly commend the Bentley Hotel in employing the young man. He didn't give off the "going way way out of their way" shtick that so many Cosmopolitan Hotels stick to and so desperate for and yet was perfectly accommodating and in command of helping and informing our party. The location was perfect for hailing a cab the hotel itself was rather chic it had a Turkish feel that grows on you and the mere sight of it gave comfort to the soul. Overall I would have given the place 4 stars for good service and accommodation (with nothing else being too out of this stratosphere) but must give its 5th star on the duties performed by that Bellman. Call me charmed but this place tops the lot for a return trip!

Room Tip: Speak to the young Bellman! He Overall though you'll be pressed to find dissapointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ganash V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Mr. Verma_12,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent visit to the Bentley Hotel. We are so pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations and look forward to sharing your post with Meier, our bellman. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bentley lthe next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Bentley is a great little hotel with a great price. Great service, friendly, and personal. We stayed on a higher floor with a wonderful view of the East River, the bridge and the tram. We had to drive in to the city and our car was valet parked at a reasonable rate. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoJbrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear ChicagoJBrody,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable insight into your most recent stay at the Bentley. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

JEnnifer Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#160 of 468 in New York City
2,967 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 468 in New York City
4,992 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#285 of 468 in New York City
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#70 of 468 in New York City
1,819 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#236 of 468 in New York City
3,575 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#385 of 468 in New York City
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Property: The Bentley Hotel
Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065-8314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
#163 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#182 Family Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side - Hotel features panoramic views of Manhattan skyline, East River and the renowned, 59th St Bridge Be sure to have dinner and/or a cocktail in Prime at The Bentley restaurant. The kosher, continental menu features many great dishes that will not disappoint! Open Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:30pm and Saturday, after sun-down, until 12:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelPower, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing