We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better and better”
Review of The Bentley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bentley Hotel
Ranked #246 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Bermuda
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better and better”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have stayed at the Bentley twice this year, and both times I have been given the room, I requested.
I love the view of the bridge and the river.
The new restaurant is a great addition. Only experienced breakfast and room service, but the service was exemplary

Room Tip: Request the back of the hotel, overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srowlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear srowlinson,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback on your most recent stay at the Bentley Hotel. We look forward to continuing to welcome you as our loyal guest! Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may be of any assistance in the future.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    1,096
    578
    234
    138
See reviews for
952
1,041
251
661
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
isle of wight
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Arrived at the bentley to be met by one of the nicest doorman i've ever met, polite, helpful very nice chap, shame the rest of the hotel wasn't up to this.......the room was clean that i cannot deny, we were promised views of the river, well, if you sat on the window sill, pushed your cheek hard against the window so your eye was glued then you may get a sample view!!
it is very very noisey at night even more so when you have very inconsiderate people staying in the other rooms, i realise this is out of managements hands and at 1.45am they did come up and told the offenders to party in the lobby, stop partying or leave the hotel, it then went quiet till 3,30am when they started up again! the room walls are paper thin, we got our own back the next morning when we turned over the do not disturb signs on the party goers doors!! Feel sorry for the poor cleaner who went in there though, hope they didn't get shouted at!
one word of warning if they take a towel they don't replace it!! After 3 nights we were down to 2 towels and nothing for the floor! even though we asked for replacements they never arrived.
Breaskfast.....well....we were in a bit of a rush for this and were the only ones in the restaurant, all we wanted was tea and toast, they only had 1 english breakfast tea bag which myself and my sister shared, we dunked it in the 2 lukewarm half cups of water, out husbands had some other tea which by the looks on their faces was clearly quite disgusting, we ordered 2 rounds of toast each, i even said 8 slices, we got our 8 slices, 4 whole slices cut in half!!! for this pleasure we paid them $34,50!!!!over £20 for 4 slices of bread 3 teabags and 4 half cups of lukewarm water, hence didn't eat there again.
The light switches in the room were quite frankly tempermental, worked when they wanted, had to beat them a few times, had to get maintenance up, who to be fair were very prompt but even after repair lights still never worked properly.
i cannot say it was the best hotel experience i've ever had, but the beds were comfortable after a long hard day walking round and seeing the wonderful sights of new york

Room Tip: if you want a good view make sure this is requested on booking, check the prices before ordering any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillybeaniow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear jillybeanow,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on you most recent stay at the Bentley Hotel. As the Hotel's General Manager I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I would sincerely appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay in greater detail. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the Hotel or at jbaldwin@amsterdamhospitality.com. I look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back to the Bentley in the near future.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Bentley Hotel is located about as far east as you are going to get in Manhattan, convenient to the Upper East Side and the well respected hospitals of NYC. It really is a very nice, European style, boutique hotel. The rooms are very attractive, small and modern, and we had a fabulous view of the 59th Street bridge. They offer a special rate at the parking garage around the corner, which is a nice asset. That is the good part about The Bentley. The bad was the following. They were having trouble with their computers upon check in. That took 20 minutes. Apparently their housekeeping staff did not do any quality control. The blanket in the closet was flithy and there was one full size towel in the bath room when 2 people were checking in. The staff was very nice but cleanliness is an issue. I have stayed at The Bentley before, never reviewing it. I had no real complaints at that time. Because of that I have rated it "very good" but it really bordered on just plain old "good."

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiet and offer a fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear StefanieT,
Thank you for your feedback. As the Hotel's General Manager I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your most recent stay with us. Please be assured I will be addressing these items with our Executive Team to respond accordingly. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Bentley in the near future. Please contact me directly if I may be of any assistance moving forward.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
153 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed that this hotel over Thanksgiving.. Off the beaten path of the craziness that the holidays can bring, but close enough for us to enjoy. Nice location to catch subway and expressway. Staff was very helpful and rooms were clean. We did have a leak in our window, notified service, they meerly moved bucket to catch water... but over all I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We used Expedia and room we got was lovely... great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4gourmetharts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Bentley. The rooms are clean and modern. The beds are comfy with great linens. The river view was awesome from the 19th floor. The staff was super nice and handled our problems which included a broken sofa bed, they moved our room and loud music from a neighbor, they came up and asked them to turn it down. A word of caution do not expect to use the sofa bed in the suite as a bed. It's there as modern sofa and has about a 1 inch mattress

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skimompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Skimompa,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Bentley. As the General Manager of the Hotel, I am so pleased to hear our staff and service levels exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bentley the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great boutique hotel nestled on the upper east side. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms are always clean and the bed and pillows are comfy. The rooms happen to be a nice size for Manhattan standards. They have a wonderful rooftop restaurant with beautiful views of the 59th street bridge. Wonderful for dinner or just drinks and appetizers. I have stayed here several times this year and will continue to use this hotel as my base when I am in Manhattan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasCon1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear JasCon1211,

As the General Manager of the Bentley I am so pleased to hear that our staff and location exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bentley in ther near future. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly if I can be of any further assistance.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2012

So here's the thing..... One would expect wash clothes and towels to be a basic item you would receive with your room. Not here. Every night of our stay we have called for towels to accommodate..... So far tonight.......we have waited over two hours.........still waiting with a promise of towels/wash clothes to come......... Maybe by shower time tomorrow we may have them!!!!!!! BYOT!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Missy R,

Thank you for taking hte time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced inreceiving towels during your stay. Unfortunately, the company we utilize to launder our linen and terry had challenges with their machinery over the weekend and affected our ability to appropriately service our rooms. Please be assured this was a unique situation that has since been resolved. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Bentley the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,897 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#282 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,523 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#308 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,768 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Property: The Bentley Hotel
Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065-8314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
#164 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#182 Family Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side - Hotel features panoramic views of Manhattan skyline, East River and the renowned, 59th St Bridge Be sure to have dinner and/or a cocktail in Prime at The Bentley restaurant. The kosher, continental menu features many great dishes that will not disappoint! Open Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:30pm and Saturday, after sun-down, until 12:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing