We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding visit at an exceptional hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bentley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bentley Hotel
Ranked #250 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An outstanding visit at an exceptional hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was our first visit to the Bentley. We chose it because of the TripAdvisor reviews and the attractive price (for NYC standards). We were warmly greeted by the doorman as we got out of our cab. The staff at the front desk was friendly and efficient. We were pleasantly surprised to be told that we received a complimentary upgrade to a suite. Our suite was on the corner so we had a phenomenal view of 2 directions thru the windows that went across the entire wall of each room. The rooms were nicely furnished and very clean. The king size bed was one of the better beds we have slept in any hotel. Each room had its own a.c. control which is a plus. Check out was brisk, courteous, and friendly. The Bentley is in a great location for travel throughout Manhattan. The Bentley certainly made our Thanksgiving day stay in NYC a pleasure. No doubt, we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan17584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Alan17584,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed THanksgiving at the Bentley! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    943
    469
    185
    112
See reviews for
758
852
200
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at the Bentley from Nov. 13-16 on a few days vacation. I had already asked for a highler floor
as the tripadvisor guest spoke of and also requested a view of the bridge/water. I was given a room on the 14th floor and the view was spectacular. The room size was, contrary to opionion on here, very large. I liked that the hotel was off the beaten path but 62nd and York, unfortunately is a long walk
to the subway UPHILL! The bus from lower Manhattan is an express bus and will put you four or five blocks from the hotel on 1st avenue.
The hotel was just recovering from Sandy and the receptionist at the desk insisted there was no internet. However, I was able to get it from my computer and hot spot so I don't know if that was true.

The nasty part of the whole stay was the ice issue. I was told if I wanted ice I would have to wait in the lobby for the bellman to fetch it for me or have it come up to my room as there were no ice machines.
However, if I wanted a coke there was a coke machine off the lobby with cans for a dollar.
I also had dry cleaning delivered from a local cleaners which I tried to retireve when I came back from my day only to be told they weren't delivered. The cleaners said they were. I was informed that the bellman would deliver them to my room in a few hours. After insisting I have them now they brought them up.
All this for tips?? Really.



At any rate, I would stay at the Bentley again as my room was so beautiful, clean, comfortable and even had a chair and ottoman to sit and soak up the gorgeous view.

Room Tip: upper floor overlooking Queensboro Bridge Every room has paper thin walls so you might bring earplu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newtosouthamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear newtosouthamerica,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feeback. As the General Manager I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the Bentley. Please be assured our staff is committed to providing the highest levels service and want to ensure they take care of all guest requests including ice deliveries. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Bentley in the near future.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We booked into The Bentley for 5 days to celebrate our honeymoon. The journey from JFK wasnt too bad (approx half hr during rush hour) and our initial impressions were very good. The lobby was very attractive and the staff were very helpful. We stayed in a room on the 11th floor which was lovely and had 2 very large beds! We had a very good nights sleep the whole time we were there.

The view was exactly how we imagined New York to be with a view of tall buildings one side and the river and Roosevelt Island on the other- very nice.

We were able to walk to eveywhere which was quite handy. Bloomingdales and Central Park only a few blocks away. There were plenty of places to eat and drink within the vicinity.

The only negative we had was that because the hotel is next to the FDR there was a lot of traffic noise, but then thats probably the same wherever you stay in NYC. Once we'd got used to it it was fine.

The rooftop bar and restaurant on the 21st floor is stunning. We went up one night and had cocktails on the veranda which was quite romantic. Stunning views!

Although the hotel charges for Wi-fi we roamed and managed to find access to someone elses which wasnt password protected and was on all the time! Definitely recommend trying to get away with that one!

We would quite likely stay here again if we ever get the chance to go back to New York.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a river view and higher up- might be less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beepbeepwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear beepbeepwales,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Bentley Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC!

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Well I stayed in this hotel and my mother, Elizabeth Whitman clogged the toilet. It was about 12 inches and very circumstantial. We did not get a plunger up to our room for 2 hours and the whole room smelled like rotten eggs. But nice hotel definitely come

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetskifreakollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here during hurricane sandy. The staff was extremely nice and helpful even during a hectic time. The one down side was we were told the restaurant was open until 11 and when we arrived at 1045 we were refused service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizaboo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Elizaboo182,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Bentley Hotel. As the General Manager I am so pleased to hear that you found our staff to be helpful during Hurricane Sandy. Please be assured I will share your feeback regarding the restaurant with their GM to respond accordingly. We do hope to welcome you back soon - preferrably when the weather is a bit more cooperative!

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Had a nice, although brief, stay at the Bentley a few weekends ago. We had alerted the staff that we would arrive early in the morning after a red-eye from Seattle, and they were able to accommodate our requests for a room on a high floor away from the elevators so that we could sleep while others were checking out. The room was terrific - much larger than others we have had in NYC, with a fantastic view of the Queensboro Bridge. While the location is indeed a bit of a walk from major tourist sites, it was easy to get a cab and only 4 blocks to the nearest subway stop. We opted to find our own breakfast at a diner down the street, as the buffet didn't appear to offer much for $12.

Room Tip: We were in 1904, which was a great corner room with lots of space and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trimatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear trimatt,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Bentley Hotel. As the General Manager, I have to agree that our views are spectacular! We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central CT
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We're happy we stayed here for 3 nights while we visited family in the area. We enjoyed our visit to this neighborhood and found many things to do and see around here.

Everyone working here was friendly and courteous. Having coffee available for purchase in the lobby bar in the morning was a plus for me. We enjoyed the beautiful views from our southwest corner room. Within a few blocks of the hotel, we found plenty of restaurants so we did not leave the neighborhood during our stay.

The bed and furniture in the room are super comfortable. The room and bathroom were very clean.

Like other reviewers, we did hear conversations when we walked to the elevators and I definitely heard neighbors on one side from one of the corners of our room but this did not interfere with sleeping or our comfort during our stay. We did not hear any noise from the room above ours. We too had problems with some of the outlets in the room not holding our plugs for laptops and chargers but we used the power strip in the room when we needed to do so. The elevators can be slow so we allowed more time to wait. Not a big deal to us and we enjoyed the music in the elevators.

Having a restaurant/bar in the same building was also a nice convenience for us one night when we did not feel like going back outside.

The hotel should offer free Wi-Fi like other hotels in the city. We used our cellphones for connectivity without any issues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seabird0855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear seabird0855,

As the General Manager of hte Bentley Hotel, nothing makes me happier than seeing your posting of TripAdvisor stating that we exceeded your expectations! That is our top priority and I am so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#258 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#196 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,432 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#344 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#57 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,597 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#329 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 4,484 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#158 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Property: The Bentley Hotel
Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
#160 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#184 Family Hotel in New York City
#193 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side - Hotel features panoramic views of Manhattan skyline, East River and the renowned, 59th St Bridge Be sure to have dinner and/or a cocktail in Prime at The Bentley restaurant. The kosher, continental menu features many great dishes that will not disappoint! Open Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:30pm and Saturday, after sun-down, until 12:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing