We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Hotel, Clean & Comfy Bed”
Review of The Bentley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bentley Hotel
Ranked #216 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Recently stay at the Bentley room 1607 I think, it’s right off the elevator. My room was a great size for NYC there is a sitting area that contains a couch, TV and a table by the window. The sleeping area is in a little room on its own. A glass door closes you off from the sitting area with plenty of windows. The view is a partial view of the bridge but still it was nice to watch the cable cars go by. The bed was comfortable and the sheets felt and looked clean! The bathroom is a decent size single sink, and ladies two great features a glass shelf to place your toiletries the shower/ tub has an edge! Downside to the room the AC in the sleep area is loud and kept me up all night. I would start to fall asleep and then all of a sudden you hear a bang, I guess the compressor was kicking in. We had to keep the bedroom door shut do to the AC in the sitting area was not working. That part of the room was a sauna! I was only there one night so upon check out I let the front desk know of the issue. Hope they did something about it! Although I can’t complain too much because in the bathroom I don’t think there was a heat light or fan. So stepping out of the shower could have been cold. Location is not bad if you want to stay away from the hustle and bustle. But you are near the east river short walk. The subway is a bit of walk but that’s NYC, or you can grab a taxi. I do have to say if you are traveling alone this room might not be the right room for you. Since the bedroom is hidden from the front door you don’t have a view of the door. I know there is a safety latch but you never know. Overall I really like the room and the price was decent. Big question... would I recommend it...I would!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentley Hotel M, Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear M T-

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Bentley Hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your deluxe accommodations in one of our one bedroom suites. We too love the sitting area in the living room, the partial view and the spacious countertops in the bathroom.

We apologize that the air conditioner was so loud and disturbed your sleep. I have spoken to my engineering team and we have just received some brand new units to replace any that are not up to standard.

I hope we can welcome you back to the Bentley again soon! Please contact me directly at bcaspi@amsterdamhospitality.com for all future reservation needs.

Kind Regards,

Brett Caspi
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,221 - 3,227 of 3,874 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

I am constantly in New York for business and found my home away from home. The style of the hotel is contemporary which I love. The General Manager is always very accommodating and you will see him often in the hotel lobby greeting guests which most General Managers don't care about. The front desk staff is professional and friendly. The doorman very helpful. I enjoy having breakfast in the rooftop restaurant which provides an amazing view. It's a great way to start a busy day and the prices are also very reasonable. I feel home at the Bentley and will continue staying there for business and leisure. My next trip will be with my two small children and husband and I know we will have a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Unfortunately, I have spent 4 weeks in this hotel for work over the past year. The atmosphere is like an awkward night club in which the elevators smell like Axe body spray, the hallways are dark and dim, and the rooms have zebra carpeting and gilded beds. Between the overwhelming smell of banana air freshener in the rooms, which seems to emanate from the filthy, fuzz-encrusted air vents, and the fact that the hotel gouges you $10+ per laptop per day for internet access, this place is not ideal for business nor pleasure. My eyes were puffed to high heaven every morning each time I've stayed due to the fumes because the windows in the rooms do not open, even an inch. No fresh air here. Also, the location is horrible and as a former New Yorker I must say not convenient to anything (not near subways, best restaurants, attractions, or even a lively neighborhood). The area is a deadzone by the freeway and an underpass, and you'll never see residents out walking the streets as you slog 20-30 minutes back from the nearest train. Due to the poor location, traffic noise and streetlights are also a major problem for a good night's sleep. The 'business center' in the hotel did not have a working printer so someone at the front desk was kind enough to print our items for us for the day's work. For the price, you could certainly rent a nice little apartment from Air B&B or similar (which we did at the end our our stay last trip, and couldn't have been happier to get out of The Bentley!).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristinCarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

A bit out of the centre, just at the East River, but not too far off-centre, walking distance (just about – allow 30 minutes) from Central Park, 15 minutes from the subway. A slightly eccentric but pleasant enough venue. Our room was on the 15th floor and was a spacious corner room with views on one side of the apartment block across the way, but on the other side a wondrous view of the East River and the Queensboro Bridge. Sound insulation generally poor, no double glazing but noise not intrusive. Light insulation more of a problem, a good blind on one side but only feeble plastic venetian blinds the other, very bright in the early morning. Service at reception varied from helpful and attentive to offhand. Concierge was accurate but monosyllabic. On arrival we found no safe in our room, so rang down to inquire, they refused to believe we did not have one. Eventually sent up a service person with a portable safe in his arms, did not seem very secure but the alternative was to change to a 3rd-floor room, so we stayed put. Also no hotel booklet or guidelines of any kind, were told this was being reprinted and would be available the next day, but 3 days later had not appeared. Looked for an in-room fridge but there was none, we were told they used to have them but took them away. There is a potentially attractive space on the top 21st floor for a restaurant, but on our one visit there we were greeted with indifference and the whole area was unattractive, so we left and did not return. In-house facilities generally poor, coffee shop on ground floor very limited and closes early, no water in vending machine, phones out of order while we were there. Overall a hotel with potential not currently being exploited to the full, seemingly being run by management focused primarily on reducing cost, this may work for them but not so well for us. Nevertheless an enjoyable stay, a fair balance between location, price and quality. Look for a room with river view, 14th floor or higher is best.

Room Tip: Look for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkeffIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I have recently been diagnosed with a very rare cancer back in January. My treatments require visits to New York every other week since February 3rd. The staff has been more than accomodating. They know us by name and have always been very courteous. They even sent my husband a small bottle of champagne when they noticed that my hair fell out from my chemo. Because I really don't have any idea when I'm coming to New York, sometimes I would have to call only a day or two before our arrival, and AGAIN, the Bentley would be there to take us in. Especially Brett Caspi !!! Besides the courteousness off all the staff, the location of the hotel is great, easy on and off the FDR. One more thing to mention for all you out there, the rooftop restaurant is terrific. The food is good, and the atmosphere is even better, but the view of the Queensboro bridge is breathtaking..it right there!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I have been traveling to New York for many years and i have stayed to many hotels- but Bentley looks like is the best deal in town for many reasons.
First it has spacious rooms- great beds with very good quality linens and amazing views of the the city.! that is very hard to find at another hotel at this rate.
Secondly the hotel's personnel is very friendly and professional.
From the doorman to the front desk everyone treats you beautifully and tries the best to make you feel at home.
It is important to mention that Bentley has an interesting hotel concept that offers a very good deal to people who seek aesthetics, good space and basic luxury for their stay in New York city. To be able to offer incredible spacious rooms and beautifully decorated interiors at a very good price, the hotel has basic concierge services and that it perfectly fine with me.
Normally good concierge service can be found in very expensive hotels that charge a minimum rate of 500 $ and up for a tiny luxurious room per day.
Bentley hotel has a home feel -it has a cool charm- the location is great. It has a very good manager that is available to the hotel guests to assist them with any issue that may occur.
This hotel has lots of loyal customers that come often to New York for business or pleasure.
I would truly recommend Bentley to people that appreciate good service, good taste and warm people while their stay at a city hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mikela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We liked very much the hotel, the front desk warm welcome, the location and the spectacular view from our corner room ! The only downside came from the noise of the air conditioning system. Otherwise a very good ratio price / quality / confort / location.

Room Tip: High floor, corner room overlooking the bridge is a must !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlainB956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#132 of 469 in New York City
3,209 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#295 of 469 in New York City
894 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#84 of 469 in New York City
1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#200 of 469 in New York City
1,869 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#332 of 469 in New York City
1,348 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#162 of 469 in New York City
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065-8314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#178 Family Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $152 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bentley Hotel provides an unmatched New York City hotel experience. Settled just outside of the epicenter of the buzzing Midtown activity, you can enjoy a quieter stay while only being a short walk from Central Park, Bloomingdale’s and the historic 5th Avenue shopping district. Escape from the fast pace of Midtown Manhattan with a stay at the Bentley Hotel. With breathtaking views of the East River and of the 59th Street Bridge, our tastefully appointed guest rooms reflect that very elegance and sophistication, while also being within walking distance to some of the greatest destinations in New York City. The breathtaking views from our guestrooms are not the only thing we can boast of; Enjoy a relaxing beverage at our lobby bar or head up to our penthouse restaurant – Prime at the Bentley to treat your taste buds with a gourmet meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing