We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NYLO New York City
Ranked #175 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

Enjoyed my stay at NYLO. Nice room, but pricey and very small. When I got home 7 hours after checking out, I discovered I left my phone charger. Called the NYLO and they transferred me to Mr. Rivera, security supervisor. He had the charger and sent it to me through UPS. Great experience. Thanks

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anns18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Anns18,

I'm so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and even more to see that Mr. Rivera was able to retrieve your phone charger.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to NYLO soon!

All The Best,

Mark Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,293
    1,501
    481
    169
    99
See reviews for
1,293
1,505
356
825
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed at the NYLO on a recent trip to NYC. This was our first stay as we were dropping off a student in NYC. The room size was very large for NY and we had room for all of our college gear as well as comfortably able to move around. Our room was on the street (4th floor) and it was relatively quiet. The location of the hotel was very convenient with many amenities and restaurants near by. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jasmyntea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear jasmyntea,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review outlining our spacious rooms, and our ammenities. I'm so glad to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you, and your family back in the future!

Warm Regards,

Mark Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

NYLO is conveniently located on 77/Bway. Very easy to the take 2 or 3 express train at the 72nd station. One block away are plenty of restaurants, dessert places. Hotel staff are very pleasant and helpful. A few times I asked for extra bath towels and I got it promptly and even received a follow up phone call to double check. There were plenty of outlets for smart phone/ipad charging which was helpful when I had so many devices. Since there were 4 people in my party, I stayed at a queen queen suite that has an extra den (about 100 sq ft) attached to the room which gave us a little bit more space. The only complaint I have is the really small bathroom. I wonder if this is the only suite with such a small bathroom because my neighbour's bathroom wasn't as small. Other than the bathroom, i really enjoyed my stay and I would come again.

Room Tip: Higher floor is always good. This is a residential neighbourhood so not too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lokseenfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear lokseenfung,


Thank you so much for your detailed review about one of our Queen Queen Suites. I'm glad to see that we met your expectations, and hope to exceed your expecations again in the future.

My team and I look forward to seeing you again!

Best Wishes,

Mark Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Phenomenal location, and great hotel. Try to stay on one of the upper floors 14-16. The roof top lounges are awesome. My only complaint about the whole place was the Air Conditioner units. Extremely loud when they kicked on. Loud enough to wake you up.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACGHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear ACGHD,

I'm glad to see that you therougly enjoyed your stay with us here at NYLO New York City!

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Upper West Side in the future!

Best Wishes,

Mark Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

We really enjoyed our four-night stay at NYLO hotel. We stayed in a deluxe king room and were lucky enough to score a corner room. This meant we had four big windows so it was a beautifully light filled room. It did have great blinds to block out the light when needed though. The bed was super comfy and we could've spent all day in it if things like the Natural History Museum & Central Park weren't calling. Not to mention Zabar's just a few blocks away, the best food shop EVER! We booked the hotel over four months in advance of our stay so we scored a pretty good rate which included free wifi. There were a few downsides. There is some serious renovations happening to the building next door which included some intermittent jackhammering each day, starting from 7am one of the mornings. This is clearly not the hotel's fault and hopefully the work will be completed soon. One front desk staff member was quite short with us on our departure and we weren't sure why. Maybe she was just having a bad day. Also, the cleaner didn't do a particularly good clean during our stay. The room was clean when we turned up but other than make the bed each day we couldn't see anything else being done such as sweeping/vacuuming the floor and wiping down bench tops. It's no big deal really but it would've been nice as it's definitely not a cheap hotel. We would recommend this hotel to those wishing to stay in a lovely, quieter part of NYC.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe king room and ask for a corner room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleandElleWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear ElleandElleWilson,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay.I am pleased to note that you enjoyed the hotel overall and you had a comfortable stay with us. I apologize for the inconvenience caused with the construction next door, substandard departure experience and housekeeping service. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Mark Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

NYLO is a clean boutique hotel in a great location. The rooms are small and attractively decorated. Our bathroom was huge in comparison to the size of our room. The hotel staff was helpful, relaxed and aimed to please.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank joanl746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear joanl746,

Thank you so much for your awesome review! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you for the recognition of our team here at NYLO. I will be sure to pass along the word to them, as they greatly appreciate it!

All The Best,

Mark Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in July for 5 nights and relaxed into our second stay. Last year they were still renovating the lobby area but managed to provide a quiet, comfortable stay. So we came back. We had a Deluxe King on the 5th floor and at first felt let down. Our first stay was on a high floor with an amazing view of the Hudson River. Getting over the view factor, staff was super friendly and always helpful. Bed and bedding are total luxury and love the hardwood floor. I have asthma and appreciate every effort this hotel makes to clean the room so well without any scent. Bathroom on small side but, shower is excellent. The safe is on a low shelf next to the bed. You need to kneel on the floor to use it so not well thought out. But location is terrific! Close to Central Park, subway, shops and museums. A real treat was so many great restaurants in walking distance. We rarely took a taxi.One night we easily walked to Lincoln Centre to see a great play too. Lounge is nothing to celebrate but, go to the terrace with a bottle of wine and look at the view. Check for specials and get the Deluxe King or Suite.

Room Tip: Check for specials and get the Deluxe King or Suite. High floor makes a great experience better with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear yrush,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us! Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services, product and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.


The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Mark Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,416 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#211 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#312 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Property: NYLO New York City
Address: 2178 Broadway, at W 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6647 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in New York City
#81 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#128 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing