We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous NYLO”
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NYLO New York City
Ranked #178 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We have just returned from a week at the NYLO in New York. This is a great hotel, the rooms are lovely, clean and stylish and the hotel is in a brilliant location close to Central Park and the subway, the area also has great restaurants and museums. Our room was a twin room with double beds, easily big enough for two adults and a teenager for the week, the staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful and courteous, particularly Orlando, Robert and the hostess in the bar in the evening who's name I didn't get. There is a lovely roof terrace on the 16th floor and 2 restaurants attached to the hotel plus you can eat in the downstairs bar which had a very welcoming feel. We had a really great time and would recommend the NYLO to anyone wanting a great place to stay in New York.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Rachel W,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services, product and recognition of our staff especially regarding Robert and Orlando. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,805 - 4,811 of 5,751 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I have now visited NYLO Hotel on 77th and Broadway for the second time and find it is located in a very convenient location while visiting our daughter. While the rooms are not large by midwest standards, they are clean, modern, with a great bed mattress that provides restful sleep. By staying away from rooms facing Broadway, one gets a quiet and peaceful stay. The outdoor bar located on the 16th floor is another peaceful place to relax and unwind with views of Hudson river and Central Park. There are tons of restaurants, coffee houses, subway, all within walking distances, 3 parking facilities and even CVS across the hotel. We highly recommend NYLO.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kenichi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Kenichi T,

Thank you so much for your detailed review about our hotel! I'm glad to see that you enjoyed the scenery, and the overall location of the hotel.

My team and I look forward to seeing you back in the future!

All the Best,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had wonderful long weekend in this great hotel. Staff was friendly, spacious room and amazing part of the city. Nice lobby area and library make your entry into this hotel inviting. Italian restaurant next door has good food. Will come again for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pasi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Pasi S,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review on our hotel, especially about the staff, and our location.

My team and I look forward to having you back soon!

Best Wishes,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I travel to New York very often and I usually stay at one of the more recognizable chain hotels. However, this time I wanted to try something different. NY LO was amazing. The decor, staff and location was great. The rooms were small but comfortable. I really enjoyed going to some of the restaurants in the neighborhood and the wonderful fruit markets & coffee shops.

The only drawback was the there was construction going on which started early and was extremely loud.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 6th floor and I wish I had requested a higher floor so that I would not hear the nos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanBEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear SusanBEN,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services, product and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Outstanding hotel in a prime location with a great service team from the front door when you arrive to the bartenders on the roof top bar overlooking Manhattan. Gone are the tired old rugs replaced by sleek, clean and bright composite flooring giving the room a just waxed look and the feeling of true cleaniness.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank H9358BSrichardb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear H9358BSrichardb,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review!

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay, as well as the location, and ammenities of the hotel.

Thank you for the recognition of our doorman, and bartenders. I will pass along the recognition to the team, as they greatly appreciate it.

We look forward to seeing you back soon!

All the Best,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I spent four nights in NYLO and have nothing but praise for the staff and facility. We previously visited this hotel in its prior incarnation as On the Avenue and that was nice but the recent renovation takes this to the next level. The addition of a lobby lounge and terrace bar on the 16th floor make this a very convenient location for hanging out with family and friends. Craft beer and cocktails were wonderful - I love the "Green Cocktail" that is a variation on a Mojito but with vodka and cucumbers along with the mint. The on site restaurant Serrafina was also very nice and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We were very surprised to find a lively three piece combo playing Jazz/Blues/Rockability in the lobby bar on Saturday night with no cover and fun music. Have fun in this convenient location near Central Park. BTW, my husband left his leather jacket in the lounge and the staff immediately put it aside for us, who says New Yorkers aren't friendly and accomodating?

Room Tip: One piece of advise, ask for a room without an adjoining door, the lack of insulation means you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAppraiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear DAppraiser,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review about our recent renovations, ammenties, and services.

Myself and my team look forward to seeing you back soon!

All the Best,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

A local friend recommended this hotel as being a "new spot" on the upper west side. When I was younger I lived in this neighborhood and found it very appealing. Location is great - I was tired of 'just off Time Square" places that I had been using.

Lobby is nice and the bar is great. Service is good and I use it a lot before we went off to eat. Can't say about the restaurant in the hotel - some of the external reviews weren't great and there are really good places close-by.

I did put in for a room upgrade so had a deluxe room. Liked it. No fridge and seemed to have forgot the hair dryer but I didn't need it. Was very comfortable. I did wish they warned me about the construction next door as Friday 8am they fired up the concrete smashers - was a but rude, but that's life.

Elevators were fine - others complained, I've seen much worse.

Didn't get to see the upper balconies, but they did seem to be popular.

I would go stay here again. Close to the subway and I like the neighborhood a lot.

Room Tip: Get away from construction side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Matt321,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services, product and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#139 of 473 in New York City
2,469 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#60 of 473 in New York City
3,925 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 473 in New York City
5,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#233 of 473 in New York City
3,870 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#73 of 473 in New York City
1,180 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 473 in New York City
12,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Address: 2178 Broadway, at W 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6647 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#130 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $152 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing