We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money - hard to beat”
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NYLO New York City
Ranked #173 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Value for money - hard to beat”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was our third visit - first under the new banner of NYLO. Previously with teenagers ( who also loved it- this time just 2). Absolutely no problems. Pleasant check in; well appointed quiet room (looking over light well but this is what we requested as we had just had an 18 hour flight), very comfortable bedding. The decor was fun and practical. Much prefer the new wooden (or wood effect) flooring to carpet and there did not seem to be any extraneous noise. It is a fantastic location being right on Broadway. Walking is easy, subway nearby, although cabs are very good value for 2 or more passengers. Selection of really good places to eat nearby- Red Farm (Asian yum cha/ dim sum) casual style around the corner on Broadway, Salumeria Rosi on Amsterdam ( upscale italian tapas style). There is a chain restaurant now connected to NYLO which is a casual bistro which was great on the first night for a Thanksgiving menu.

We prefer to eat breakfast at any local 'Le Pain Quotidien' . We found one at 50 w72nd underneath a beautiful old apartment block. There is a National/Alamo car rental across the street - incredibly handy for car pick up. Superb enormous deli/ supermarket across the street on Broadway.

Apart from anything else the overall value was excellent.i think we paid about $AUS290 (then
$US285) per night. Depends what you are looking for. For us it's relatively close proximity to Lincoln Centre, Natural History Museum, Central Park, upper east side museums and shopping in a friendly, safe residential neighbourhood where the real New Yorkers live.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greengreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear iloveolives,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay! I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us! Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff!. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed!

Thank you for considering recommending NYLO NYC to others.
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,494
    1,632
    532
    189
    107
See reviews for
1,448
1,617
384
904
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Everything about this NYLO is a treat. The location is perfect (heart of upper west side), as is their inviting lobby with little bar and various gathering areas. The beds are beyond comfy, and you couldn't ask for a more wonderful shower. There are a huge variety of great rooms for such a relatively small hotel. We've been coming here for 5 years and experienced the change from On the Ave to NYLO. We've always loved the location and the small boutique hotel feel, but it's way more fun, hip and comfortable now that NYLO has taken ownership. The people behind the front desk are absolutely wonderful, as is everyone who works there. Even the manager is a total gem. Love this place!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDYS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear EDYS3,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration!

Thank you for your continued loyalty and business with NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was our first stay at NYLO. The location on the upper west side (3 blocks from Zabars, Central Park, Hudson River, etc.) is wonderful. Jessie at the front desk is amazing! Everyone else we encountered during our stay was warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Bill C,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to note that we made a positive impression on your first stay at NYLO NYC! Thank you for your wonderful note on the hotel's services and recognition of our staff especially regarding Jesse. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed five days here and came away with a really favorable impression. The location on the Upper West Side, on Broadway, was great -- close to the parks, good restaurants, nice for walking, and not so hectic as other parts of Manhattan. The interior room we were given (the window opened onto an interior shaft) was larger than other rooms, and the bathroom quite large considering this is a boutique hotel, and we didn't get the street noise. It has nice amenities, lighting and ventilation; room service was good, and it was quite clean. The only downside for us was, while they claimed you could control the temperature, you really couldn't. We cooled the room down by opening the window. As they switch over to AC, this probably won't be a problem. The lobby was a great plus: they had a bar and lounge, and on Thurs. nights they featured a live jazz combo. Really nice. We felt comfortable entertaining guests in the lounge. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't mind giving up a view of the street, go for the interior rooms -- they are larger a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samsarah714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Samsarah714,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay! I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be passed on to my team so they may be properly addressed.

I am pleased to note that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband and I recently spent four pleasant nights at the NYLO Hotel. It is in a great location at the corner of 77th Street and Broadway. The hotel is filled with personality. The lobby is made up of a number of different rooms, one, a library, another, a computer room with additional seating and the bar is a step down and overlooks the street. It is warm, welcoming and has a sense of fun to it. Ramona gave us a warm reception and was helpful in every way possible. She saw to it that we had the kind of room we requested and made us feel most welcome. Our room on the sixth floor was somewhat small, but a decent size for a boutique hotel in Manhattan. The mattress was superb. They are very proud of their fine mattresses and have a card in the room giving the details about it. We definitely slept well. Any request we made was accomodated and the person at the desk called to check that our request had been fulfilled. The gym on the second floor was also somewhat small, but had enough equipment to provide one with a decent workout. All in all, we were most pleased with the service and the accomodations at the NYLO and plan to return in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailorsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear sailorsandy,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank tyou for sharing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

I am pleased to note that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I arrived far in advance of check in time and had no expectation of being able to check in.
Ramona searched for a room that was ready and in the blink of an eye I was in my room prior to my noon meeting!
Location can't be beat for west side access and bed is incredible comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ubumon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear ubumon,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. Thank you for your wonderful note on the services, the product and recognition of our staff especially regarding Ramona. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here several times over the past 10 years. It recently was renovated and was originally called "On The Ave". We have never had an issue with any of the rooms we stayed in. Staff is always pleasant and helpful. The location is perfect for those who don't want to deal with the crowds of Times Square. You are on the 1 and 2 subway line, which heads to Times Square (and everywhere else in Manhattan). You are not far from Lincoln Center and close to Central Park. The Museum of Natural History is a few streets away. Several grocer shops are just a block or two south on Broadway. For some good, quick and inexpensive food, stop by "Big Nick's" across the Street on Broadway. They are open 24/7 and the food is fab!. If not your cup-of-tea, there are plenty more restaurants down Broadway and around the area. A hint - they have a nice viewing area at their top floor. Great for a hang out to enjoy the view of some of the NYC skyline.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Nikki_Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear 1Nikki_Black,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#129 of 466 in New York City
2,358 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 466 in New York City
3,506 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#236 of 466 in New York City
3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#247 of 466 in New York City
2,061 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#262 of 466 in New York City
4,531 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#98 of 466 in New York City
4,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Property: NYLO New York City
Address: 2178 Broadway, at W 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6647 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in New York City
#81 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#129 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing