We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a nice experience in a lovely neigborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NYLO New York City
Ranked #175 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Always a nice experience in a lovely neigborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here several times over the past 10 years. It recently was renovated and was originally called "On The Ave". We have never had an issue with any of the rooms we stayed in. Staff is always pleasant and helpful. The location is perfect for those who don't want to deal with the crowds of Times Square. You are on the 1 and 2 subway line, which heads to Times Square (and everywhere else in Manhattan). You are not far from Lincoln Center and close to Central Park. The Museum of Natural History is a few streets away. Several grocer shops are just a block or two south on Broadway. For some good, quick and inexpensive food, stop by "Big Nick's" across the Street on Broadway. They are open 24/7 and the food is fab!. If not your cup-of-tea, there are plenty more restaurants down Broadway and around the area. A hint - they have a nice viewing area at their top floor. Great for a hang out to enjoy the view of some of the NYC skyline.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Nikki_Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear 1Nikki_Black,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,287
    1,495
    481
    169
    99
See reviews for
1,291
1,499
354
823
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We split our trip to NYC between two hotels and NYLO was the second hotel, following a great experience in Tribeca. The staff couldn't have been nicer - not simply polite and professional - but warm. They anticipated our needs, offered services we hadn't contemplated, and made our stay significantly better than it would otherwise have been. We will certainly recommend NYLO for both personal and business trips.

Room Tip: No street noise. Our room was 2 doors from the elevator and we heard nothing from other guests, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunterzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear hunterzmom,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

Thank you for considering recommending NYLO NYC to others!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

My room was tiny, but fine for one person. Clean and comfortable. For the price it was fine but if rates go up I will look elsewhere. I would like to see some better security, though - nobody at the door at night and it's not locked, I waltzed right into the elevator going up to the rooms. Not my first stay here so not an isolated experience. Also, there's no inhouse room service, so local restaurants deliver right to your room. Convenient but another security concern imo. At times there are some people lounging around the street-level lobby that really don't look like hotel guests. Hallway noise is an issue if you want to sleep past 9 am but that's a problem in many places - the housekeeping staff are the worst offenders. If you need something once you get to your room (water, etc.), service is fast and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iluvhhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Iluvhhi,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay in regards to the hotel's security. We have shared your review with our security team and they are being addressed properly.

I hope that you would give us the opportunity to make this up to you in the future.
We look forward to seeing you here again soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I tried the NYLO after staying many times at the Benjamin in Midtown, The Benjamin had hiked their prices significantly.

The hotel is located up Town NY one block away from the Subway which efficiently takes you safely at all hours midtown and downtown NY faster and much cheaper than a yellow cab. Loads of interesting Delis in the area and a very interesting convenience store opposite the road on Broadway. The rooms are clean and industrial in design, beds are really comfortable but small for a couple. The room is equipped with a safe but it is not attached to the wall and fitting which means it could in theory be removed, definitely an oversight by the hotel. The size of the rooms are fair for NY. My bedside lamp did not work but generally everything else was faultless.

I would suggest not buying the breakfast upfront on the web site which is served in the hotels Sarifina restaurant facing on Broadway, it is quite restrictive in terms of what you get and the portions are small. You might want to order off the menu or try one of the many delis in the area.

For Dinner the Sarifina restaurant is absolutely outstanding and highly recommended, even if you want Gluten free pasta. A word of caution, the tip has become a Tax and the 18.5% tip is automatically added to your check whether you agree or not, this seems to be common practice in hotels and restaurant in the USA so be warned as you might double tip.

Free wifi in the Lobby but not in the rooms, very comfortable lobby with a variety of couches and interesting areas to hang out. WiFi should be free in the entire hotel now days, they charge about $12 per day for access (five devices). Pop across the road to T-Mobile, AT&T or Verizon for a cheap USA SIM card with Data.

The hotel is two blocks from the Hudson river and great waterfront walk or in the opposite direction three blocks from Central park and an easy walk through Central Park to Midtown.

The gym was clean and equipped with new functional equipment.

A great chill out deck overlooking the city on the top floor of the hotel.

It rained and the hotel had complimentary black NYLO branded umbrellas. This I was was a nice touch.

In summary a great choice of hotel and not as noisy as many midtown hotels, better value. Take a room facing inwards away from the street and on the highest floor possible.

I will be back.

Room Tip: take a room on the highest floor facing inwards or facing Broadway, there is a Fire station on 77th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanJ100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear seanj100,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be passed onto our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

I am pleased to note that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

First time visiting NY from London and I must say we are impressed! After a bumpy shuttle transfer, the NYLO sign was like a ray of sun shine in our long journey across the pond. The lovely lady at reception checked us in swiftly and up we went to our room. Nice, clean and modern just like home. The bed is amazing! So comfy and big. The flat screen tv mounted on the wall was a bonus and the bathroom is superb. For two girls travelling from London, we constantly feel safe. The staff are so friendly and nice. The nearest subway is only 2 blocks away. There are plenty of good places to eat, especially the restaurant attached to the hotel Serafina, amazing and delicious food!

Only downside is we need to book two more nights here and there is no way you can make a reservation from the front desk and not much help in making one. It would be great if there was someone who could of helped us as we are going to Philly for two nights and would love to come back here for the rest of our trip.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and come back again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LeiLeiNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear LeiLeiNa,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

I am happy to note that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We usually stay with family in NYC, but with all four of us coming over from the UK altogether for the first time in a long time, we decided a hotel would be the best option. NYLO did not fail to disappoint. The hotel has a great, unique style, perfect for New York, and the beds are possibly the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The location is great with plenty of great places to find breakfast nearby, and countless restaurants. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Julia D,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

I am happy to note that you will recommended NYLO NYC to others!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Wow..... what can I say about this hotel? From start to finish the staff at this hotel went the extra mile to make our NY stay unbelievably fantastic. Having had a fairly horrific cab ride from JFK, we were greeted at the door of NYLO by the brilliant door staff who took our cases and showed us to the front desk. There, we met the wonderful Chris who's customer service was nothing short of exceptional (glasses of champagne and an upgrade.... wonderful, thank you so much again). Our suite was amazing, and the location of the hotel is exceptional with access to broadway and

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woody081982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear woody081982,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us! Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be passed onto our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#212 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#312 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Property: NYLO New York City
Address: 2178 Broadway, at W 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6647 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in New York City
#81 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#128 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing