We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific stay”
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NYLO New York City
Ranked #173 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrific stay”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Had tickets to a show at the Beacon Theater which is four blocks away. Immaculate room with windows that actually open (!). The bathroom was beautiful. Bed and bedding top notch. Plenty of storage and I loved the hardwood floor -- it just seemed cleaner than nasty hotel rug. Will definitely stay here again. Close to most UWS attractions and in a very hopping neighborhood. The Chirping Chicken, a block away on Amsterdam, was perfect for a late-night nosh. Breakfast at Serafina (in the lobby) was excellent. Keurig coffee maker in the room and a couple of free bottled waters was a nice touch.

Room Tip: We had an "inner" room in the back. Our view was of a brick wall but it was very quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear eddie0t,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay.Thank you for your wonderful note on the hotel's services, the product and recommending the hotel to other Trip Advisor readers.

I am happy to note that you enjoyed the services at Serafina and considering to return to NYLO NYC! The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,357
    1,539
    498
    174
    101
See reviews for
1,344
1,534
366
853
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Nice hotel: clean, friendly/helpful staff, trendy bar, and not terribly expensive. Stayed here for 2 nights while looking for apartments in the city and was quite pleased. Beds were comfy, bathroom was clean, and an overall good experience. It does look a little like an upscale hostel with the locker nightstands, but I didn't mind it (european hostel, mind you, I have less faith that a hostel in the US would look like this...). But anyway! I would recommend, if you're looking for a good area/convenient location on the UWS, easy access to transportation and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Casey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Casey A,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! Your comments wile be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration.

I am pleased to note that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed here many times and the staff always go beyond the expected to provide service or provide information. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. On our last visit, my husband left an item behind and two days later we received a call that it was found.
The location is convenient, but quiet.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Vicki M,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay. Thank you for your wonderful note on the services, the product and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.


The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
188 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed at NYLO for a long weekend, seeing the Allman Brothers Band twice at the Beacon. What a find! Clean, comfortable, and quiet rooms (we spent a little more to get a room on an upper floor). Modern, spacious, clean bathroom, although the toilet paper holder was strange (vertically oriented?). A fabulous location, two blocks from the Beacon and an easy walk to the subway, a ton of great restaurants, and even to Lincoln Center. The lobby is comfortable and inviting, the staff was fabulous, from Nick at the front desk to every member of the bell and housekeeping staff we encountered. A good-sized room for Manhattan, and the price wasn't too painful either. We will be back (although rumor has it that the Allman Brothers Band will not).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zuckmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear zuckmeister,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff especially regarding Nick. Your comments will be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration!

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

As an ex-upper westsider, I have never been so happy to find not only a hip, trendy hotel in the area but one that goes way beyond the expected. A great spot for my future girls weekends for sure but this last trip was for my daughter's 10th bday. The service was amazing from the moment we walked in. Adults and children were wow'd with the architecture and serious "cool factor," this first impression was only made better by the wonderful NYLO cocktail the adults were handed. After a long day and one travelling with children, I almost cried with gratitude upon that tray-passed delight. Quickly checked in and off to our room - we found the most beautifully, chic and perfectly minimalist rooms. Plenty of seating, hard-wood floors and nooks and crannies fitting all items including our suitcases perfectly rolled under what appeared to be a destined location. The lobby bar was a great meeting spot for friends, great little event spaces and a fun, happening scene at night. I honestly have nothing else to say but, I can't wait to book my next trip. Sans kids so we can enjoy the evening hours. Highly recommend NYLO Manhattan.

Room Tip: I would but then I would never get the room I want. Sorry!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kMoFinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear kMoFinds,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! They will definitely be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great renovated hotel on the Upper Westside of NYC. Around the corner from the Beacon Theater. Great shopping and restaurants all right outside the door. Also walking distance to Museum of Natural History and Lincoln Center. I'm so glad I found this for my recent trip into the city. I used to live around the corner from this hotel when it was On The Ave. The renovations they made really brought new life into it. Stepping into the lobby, you feel like you are in a downtown location. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carman310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Carman310,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay.
Thank you for your wonderful note on the services, the product and location. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

I am happy to note that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The NYLO is a nice, new boutique hotel in a great location on the upper west side. The rooms are modern and the staff is friendly. The service is fine, but not at the level of top-tier hotels. But the biggest problem is that the elevators are unreliable. They are under constant repair (but never fixed) and are almost always slow. This is a huge problem if you are staying in a NYC hotel where there is constant traffic in and out of rooms by customers and staff. I know first-hand that this is not a one-time repair issue but has been a persistent problem for the hotel. You may have a nice stay, but one miserable 15-minute elevator ride could also ruin your trip to NYC. Stay here at your own risk...

Room Tip: There are creepy old tenants on the lower floors who the hotel was too cheap to buy out. Beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Michael P,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the issue you experienced during your stay with the substandard elevator service. We have shared your review with our engineering team and they are being addressed properly.

I hope that you would give us the opportunity to make this up to you in the future. We look forward to seeing you here again soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,335 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#56 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,441 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#308 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Property: NYLO New York City
Address: 2178 Broadway, at W 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6647 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in New York City
#81 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing