We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for years”
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NYLO New York City
Ranked #173 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
“Fantastic for years”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have been staying at NYLO since it was opened as On The Ave. The accommodations are excellent. From the front desk welcome, warm and friendly, to the quality of bed, from the location to the new lobby, it is hard to imagine a better value in New York.

The new mattress is exceptionally comfortable and I slept better than I have in a hotel for years.

The new lobby is welcoming and creates a warm atmosphere for people to sit and work in the space rather than in the room.

The bellman went down to the corner in the cold and wind and, during a time when there were no cabs in the area, and stayed 10 minutes hailing cabs until he finally got one.

If there is one critique that the hotel can improve, it is the absence of a ramp directly from the front door to the lobby. There is a small elevator for the five stairs but a ramp would be helpful in terms of entering with luggage.

All that said, I highly recommend the NYLO for visits to NY, especially if you are looking to stay on the Upper West Side.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlasykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear rlasykes,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. Thank you for your wonderful note on the services, the product and recommending the hotel to other Trip Advisor readers. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,357
    1,539
    498
    174
    101
See reviews for
1,344
1,534
366
853
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is the second time I've been put up at the NYLO. It's a great place to stay on the upper west side. An organization picks up my tab but they'd only do that if the price was reasonable. It's right around the corner from the subway, across the street from Fairway Market, easy access to the museums or a stroll across the park, and close to great little restaurants like Fishtag. My room was nice - simple lines, clean and efficient lay out. And the service is great. Like others I found Jessie at the front desk to be very welcoming. And the renovated lobby is a great place to hang out. In fact, I wasn't sure if I was in the same hotel as last year when I walked in. I'd be happy to stop here again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmacdToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear kmacdToronto,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay.
Thank you for your wonderful note on the services, the product and recognition of our staff, especially Jesse. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so that may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The location is exceptional: two blocks from the subway and right on Broadway in the heart of the Upper West Side. The decor is awesome, with plenty of hidden "pockets" of space in the room and the bathroom. We had room for all of our clothes, luggage, backpacks, laptops, etc without seeing our stuff spread all over. If there was a little extra room it would have been nice to have a cozy chair in the room, but for the price we knew we'd be a little cramped. Still, the bed was King and super-duper-amazing comfortable, and the bathroom had possibly the best shower I've ever had in NYC (marble and glass, cove lighting, great pressure, perfect temperature control, and LARGE).

I really liked the the beautiful lounge areas, bar and business center on the main floor and regret that I didn't have the time to invite some friends over to enjoy them with me.

One of the best features of the renovation is there are electrical outlets everywhere you need them. Sometimes in older buildings you really have to search or even move furniture around to find a good outlet for your laptop, shaver, cell, etc., or if there are outlets, they're already plugged up with lamps and clock-radios. But not at the NYLO! There were probably a dozen available sockets in addition to the ones already taken up. I LIKE THAT!


A special shout-out to Jessie who checked us in. She noticed it was our first time at the NYLO and gave us a great room (within our budget) and free internet in the room for the duration of our stay.

Room Tip: The seventh floor has a little balcony railing and the window opened up to a decent size. I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRANTFOTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear GRANTFOTO,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us! Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our employee, Jesse. Your comments will be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration!

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

This is my second stay here, and once again it was a great experience. Jessie at the front desk was as gracious and efficient as ever. I recommend this hotel and already look forward to my next stay here.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Marc P,

Thank you for staying with us here at NYLO New York City, and thank you for your amazing comment about Jessie, our Guest Service Agent. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to her.

I look forward to having you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Boutique hotel in UWS that is pet friendly. There is an awesome lobby/bar. Some nights they have a live piano player which is a treat. Would recommend and return. Internet in the room is extra...you can bring your laptop/iPad to lobby for free internet.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank rad79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Rad79,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our hotel, and our services. I look forward to having you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at NYLO New York in January while taking my son back to school at Columbia University. The staff was great, the hotel rooms were nice and clean, and the location is excellent. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Vicky F,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about our staff, and our hotel! We look forward to having you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I checked into the NYLO and the service at check in was just outstanding. Jessie, the front desk person greeted us warmly. I was with my 80 year old aunt, so even though our room was not ready, she worked hard to accommodate her and find a different room that was. She was prompt and efficient and really made us feel at home.

The rooms at the NYLO were very comfortable. I had one Jr. Suite that had a nice size seating area and a connecting room with two double beds. This hotel really is an AMAZING value for the money. I would highly recommend it and would stay here again in a hear beat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Linda N,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay.
Thank you for your wonderful note on the services, the product, recognition of our staff and recommending the hotel to other Trip Advisor readers! Your feedback will be shared with our entire team so they may br properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,335 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#56 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,441 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#308 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Property: NYLO New York City
Address: 2178 Broadway, at W 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6647 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in New York City
#81 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing