We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best service I've experienced at a hotel”
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NYLO New York City
Ranked #184 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was amazing from beginning to end! We landed extremely early in the am and I can not thank them enough for allowing us to check in so early. it saved our day as we were headed to the Super Bowl later that day. They also let me back into a room to pump (infant at home) before heading to the airport. Rooms are just fine, a little small.
I will say the only downside was a lot of loud slamming doors.
Other that that wonderful experience!!!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank sunnyjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear sunnyjetsetter,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am pleased to note that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,968 - 4,974 of 5,575 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

You don't know hotels. Not until you've lived the experience of NYLO New York. Yes, it's all that. Great service, including housekeeping staff, genial interaction with everyone involved at all hours of the day and night. The room itself was perfect, with a bed to die for.

So I'm going back. And if you're smart, you'll book a stay as well.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Gavin S,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! They will definitely be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration.

Thank you for recommending NYLO NYC to others!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Hoe does a hotel charge $15/day for internet usage on top of $200/day for the room (plus tax)? This is more important than the free bottle of water or K-cup coffee maker! That's why this place gets 3 stars.

Our King Size bedroom was very comfortable. Modern updated room and bath, plush towels. K-cup coffee maker (refills on request). Clean lobby, well appointed bar, and courteous staff.

This is a great location if you need to be in the Upper West Side of Manhattan (located at 77th and Broadway, 2 blocks from the subway at 79th street).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear raynan,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! I sincerely apologize for the issue you experienced with the charge of wi-fi during your stay. We have shared your review with our entire team and they are being addressed properly.

I hope that you would give us the opportunity to make this up to you in the future.
We look forward to seeing you here again soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed one night as a home-base for some things we wanted to do in the city. Rates are painless. Check-in was quick. I asked for and and received an upgrade from a panoramic view (which we paid for) to a penthouse one-bedroom (no charge.) Front desk staff was delightful. -Living room had a balcony with a lovely city-scape including the Museum of Natural History and a sliver of Central Park.
-Bedroom had a full wall of windows with another beautiful view including the river.
-Room was clean and comfortable.
-The decor is contemporary. Not for everyone. Gray tones, edgy lighting, offbeat furniture, tile floors, heavy lined drapes on windows and walls. We liked it.
-Two big flat-screen TVs, thermostat that worked well, big upgraded towels and high-end bath amenities.
-Went back down to the lobby for coffee. Lobby is definitely edgy; series of sitting areas and a small bar in the middle. Seating is inviting and cozy. Was welcomed and very well taken care of by Charles, our bartender. Really good coffee and conversation.
-Breakfast in the hotel restaurant called Serafina. Sat at a window table overlooking Broadway. --Food was good. Service was fine.
-Called down to the valet for the car. Checkout was a wave on the way out. Car was waiting at the curb.
Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LIGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Biobrat,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! They will definitely be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration.

I am happy to note that you enjoyed the services at Serafina!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The other reviews cover most of what is great about this hotel. During one of the many recent blizzards we were looking for a one night getaway. Hotel requirements were: dog friendly, room with a view, fun neighborhood, and room service. NYLO does not offer any kind of room service but it turned out not to matter. The lobby sitting area was appealing from the first moment we entered, all day and into the evening, this place has SUCH a welcoming feel, like a luxurious resort, or a bed and breakfast. Kids were playing chess, people were working, and I was chilling over a champagne cocktail with the dog! I loved the mix of patrons, not too hip, not too young, or old, just a bit of everything! DO not miss Red Farm next door for inventive dim sum and wonderful cocktails. I would avoid Serafina for what I think is a ripoff breakfast price and head down the street to a wonderful, typical NY coffee shop like Viand. I lived on the Upper West Side for ten years, and I don't think anyone mentioned that Zabar's is only two blocks away, as is Fairway, two of the world's greatest delis/grocery stores. It was a freezing, slushy, blizzardy day, and we did not venture out much, but watching the snowfall from the 12th floor was so cozy. Central Park is an easy, and beautiful walk away. I have stayed in FIVE pet friendly NYC hotels, and I cannot quite put my finger on why this one works SO well. The rooms are bare bones, there are NO services, hardly any amenities in the rooms, they charge for wifi, yet it all works! I think, as others have said, it is the caring staff, and the fact that you can get a spectacular view, and even a balcony, for a very reasonable price. It was also blissfully quiet. It may have been the blizzard, and it may have been the corner room. We loved it! I am not a fan of industrial chic, but I loved our room, the bed was wonderful, and it was large and spacious with many huge windows. I love a cold room for sleeping, and this certainly fit the bill! I turned off the heater at night, as it was a noisy one, and I woke up to a 59 degree temperature! This might not be great for everyone, but everyone is not nearly as noise sensitive as I am. I very much look forward to a return visit, probably very soon! This hotel is wonderfully run, and so welcoming. I hope they offer some more pet amenties in the future, (beds and bowls), but keep those prices reasonable and we will all return, often.

Room Tip: Corner hight floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freedatravel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear freedatravel74,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of staff. They will definitely be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed in this hotel two times during my last trip in the Caribbean.
It's not my first time in NYC (It's is my favourite city all around the World after Rome....! :-))
I could suggest to all the travellers that are visiting NYC: come and stay in this Hotel.
It's very nice, clean, spacious and all the employees are very kind.
I think that it's the best hotel where I stayed in NYC.
I hope that this will help you to do the best choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 70Francesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear 70Francesco,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to note that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your kind words on the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was my first time staying at NYLO and I was impressed by the service. Check in was much faster than at other hotels I’ve stayed. Elloy at front desk was especially accommodating to any needs, as was Will. Overall the staff is focused and friendly throughout my stay at NYLO. If you need help finding a cab (especially in this snowy weather), the doorman Rob was very helpful. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Doug W,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay! I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments. I am happy to note that you had a pleasant encounter with members of our staff. They will definitely be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#138 of 470 in New York City
2,450 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#60 of 470 in New York City
3,786 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#228 of 470 in New York City
3,782 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 470 in New York City
1,099 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 470 in New York City
11,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Address: 2178 Broadway, at W 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6647 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in New York City
#120 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#136 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $174 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing