We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NYLO New York City
Ranked #180 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed in this hotel two times during my last trip in the Caribbean.
It's not my first time in NYC (It's is my favourite city all around the World after Rome....! :-))
I could suggest to all the travellers that are visiting NYC: come and stay in this Hotel.
It's very nice, clean, spacious and all the employees are very kind.
I think that it's the best hotel where I stayed in NYC.
I hope that this will help you to do the best choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 70Francesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear 70Francesco,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to note that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your kind words on the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,148 - 5,154 of 5,758 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was my first time staying at NYLO and I was impressed by the service. Check in was much faster than at other hotels I’ve stayed. Elloy at front desk was especially accommodating to any needs, as was Will. Overall the staff is focused and friendly throughout my stay at NYLO. If you need help finding a cab (especially in this snowy weather), the doorman Rob was very helpful. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Doug W,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay! I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments. I am happy to note that you had a pleasant encounter with members of our staff. They will definitely be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights early February, the hotel room itself isn't anything special but considering the price it's hard to complain, though as a side note the in room tv is huge. But what really made my stay was the staff, from the door staff to the bar staff and everyone else, they were hugely helpful and extremely friendly. Because of the snow most of my plans were cancelled, but spent a Tuesday night in the bar, which was surprisingly fun and the live band were fantastic. Hugely recommend this place.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Fred W,
Reading your review makes me so proud to work with such an outstanding team! I will be sure to share your review with the entire team. Thank you for taking the tome to share your feedback with us. We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.
Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed here for one night for business when this hotel was known as On The Ave. Renovations were underway and the bar/restaurant were not available. However, I found my room (Superior room) to be spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was a dream compared to every other NYC hotel bathroom I've been in. Someone with a wheelchair could use the bathroom with ease.

Though the location is far away from Times Square and many of the popular shopping areas, I really liked the neighbourhood. It's much quieter and close to the less touristy parts of Central Park. I would recommend this hotel for families or anyone who wants to enjoy the less busy parts of New York City.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOfoodie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear TOfoodie80,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product and services. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed there for 8 nights in Feb. This hotel is excellent and checks all the right box!
A special thanks to Joana at the front desk who made the stay very pleasant.

Pros:
- Updated and modern hotel with a chic theme
- Excellent staff that is friendly and accommodating
- Great location away from the typical tourists traps; a number of excellent restaurants within walking distance
- Close to major public transportation links (# 1,2,3 subway lines)
- Great value for money
Cons
- Elevator can be slow at times
Will definitely be returning here next time I visit NYC.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear RhoTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share such an amazing review with us! It makes me so happy to know that you enjoyed our outstanding staff and great location , I will definitely share your review with the entire team. . We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in a junior suite at NYLO New York for Valentine’s Day and couldn’t be happier with our experience. The NYLO ambience, while still upscale, felt very welcoming. This in part can be attributed to your front desk manager Norman, who was assisting multiple customers but still gave us the impression that we had his full attention. His professionalism and charm should be commended!

The room was impeccably clean and stocked with amenities as well as a fine view of the city. And like other guests said, the mattress was very comfortable. Another point worth mentioning is the bar in the main lobby. Instead of going to Serafina, we decided for a quick coffee/pastry at the bar and received such pleasant service from Eddy, who was vivacious and ready to help—even at 7AM. If you visit the bar later at night, I highly recommend the bartender Charlie. Great drinks only matched by his great service.

Overall it was a memorable experience at NYLO, enhanced by friendly and engaged staff members. Definitely a five-star establishment!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Jessica C,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay! I am extremely pleased to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! I am happy to note that you had a pleasant encounter and interaction with our associates. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I checked into the NYLO NYC during a recent snowstorm. Jesse at the front desk made me feel welcomed and gave me a choice of room locations within the hotel. I could have had a room with a street view or a quieter interior room (i chose a room overlooking Broadway). The room was small but clean, with a Keurig coffee pot and a large, flat screen TV. The hotel has a lively lobby with free wireless if you feel you want to get out of your room, but not necessarily out of the hotel. I had a good experience there and will probably stay there again.

My only quibble with the hotel is that the bathrooms don't have towel bars, for some reason.

Room Tip: Interior rooms have less street noise, obviously. Rooms overlooking Broadway can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anotherboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Anotherboomer,

Thank you for taking the time to share such great feedback with us. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us especially that you got the opportunity to experience our outstanding customer service through Jessie, who we are very fortunate to have her on our team. We will be sure to share this review with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon!

Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#138 of 473 in New York City
2,472 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#59 of 473 in New York City
3,929 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 473 in New York City
5,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#235 of 473 in New York City
3,873 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#73 of 473 in New York City
1,182 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 473 in New York City
12,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Address: 2178 Broadway, at W 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6647 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $154 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing