We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location, great price”
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NYLO New York City
Ranked #172 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Great hotel, great location, great price”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I really liked this hotel. The price and location cannot be beat. If you are looking to be in the center of the action, this is not your place. However, if you want to explore the city from a nice, neighborhood-y feeling hotel that is super close to public transit and at a great price, then this is your jam. They offered a free drink (a champagne cocktail) as I checked in so I was kind of sold right then.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funfrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear funfrannie,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that you enjoyed the hotel overall! Thank you for your compliments. They will definitely be passed on to my team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,371
    1,545
    501
    175
    101
See reviews for
1,357
1,542
367
855
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just came back from a wonderful weekend in NYC. The NYLO is on the upper westside in a great neighborhood. The staff, especially Jessie at the front desk, was so accomodating and friendly. Our room was spacious and the bed was just the way we like it--comfy--and the sheets were crisp and clean. The bathroom was large, by New York standards. The hotel lobby and bar seems to be a neighborhood favorite and was always lively. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Denise S,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely pleased to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's facilities, services and recognition of our staff! They will definitely be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration.

I am happy to note that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel! If you are looking for a non-cookie cutter hotel, this is it. Interesting and cozy design, good location, attentive staff and great price! It has an industrial chic design, great bar and attached restaurant. Would stay here again in a heart beat.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MsSassy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear MsSassy19,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your kind words on the recognition of our staff, the hotel's facilities and services. They will definitely be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration.

I am happy to note that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We have just completed a three "wonderful" stay at NYLO New York. The room was very clean, the staff was exceptional with their care and service and the location was perfect for the things we wanted to do.., including visiting several museums. I would recommend the NYLO for anyone interested in staying in the upper west side. The very comfortable lobby bar and lounge area is perfect for coming in from the cold and warming up. The staff in this area are the greatest!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hgenekoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear hgenekoch,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services, facilities and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

I am pleased to hear that you will consider returning to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Staff was great, hotel is cool and comfortable. The bar and restaurant are solid and neighborhood is excellent. Highly recommend! Parking in area is steep. $65 per night... Prices at bar and restaurant I guess are in line for NYC but $30 for French toast and bacon seems a bit rough, although it was good. Restaurant Serefina makes a good pizza which you can order at bar Locl. Comfortable "library style" lobby is nice and door men are pleasant. Room was all king bed but very comfy.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michaeljyoungs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Michaeljyoungs,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay.
I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's facilities, services and you had a pleasant encounter with our staff! They will definitely be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration.

I am happy to note that you had a great experience at Serafina!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Booked an upgraded king room for a special weekend for my parents. Upon check-in to the room, they noticed the heater was not functioning and informed the front desk. Folks were told it would be fixed, no problem. Upon returning to the hotel that evening, the heat was still broken, and then they were told the hotel was sold now out and the only option was extra blankets or a space heater. With 15 degree temps in NYC, that's just not going to cut it. My parents had to pack their bags at 11pm and walk to another hotel -- about the same price for a much smaller, older room at a hotel with fewer amenities as there's not much in the neighborhood to begin with, let alone trying to find a hotel that has rooms available on a Friday night at 11pm. The only bright spot was they were charged a comparable rate at the new hotel, considering the rack rate that night was nearly double. At a minimum, NYLO should have made sure the heat was functioning before letting guests check in, especially in this kind of winter weather, or reached out earlier in the day to let us know the heat wasn't fixed, giving us some time to find adequate alternate accommodations. To add insult to injury, the night manager thought not charging us a penalty or cancellation fee should be considered part of his efforts to remedy the situation (and then apologized when I pointed out how ludicrous that sounded). Major fail. To their credit, the next day the "regular" manager apologized, was very professional and offered my parents a suite at the rate they had booked their room and free breakfast, but at that point, packing up and returning back there for just one more night just didn't make a lot of sense. Clearly should have been handled differently at the get go.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nyladyesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

the NYLO was a great hotel for our family trip to NY. The Upper West Side location was easy and convenient for our adventures! Kids are 10 and 8 yrs old and this was close to Central Park and museums. Friendly staff - and relaxing environment. We loved the lounge and library....and the Italian restaurant attached to the lobby. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WineAustraliaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear WineAustrailiaUSA,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank for contributing your feedback of your stay.
I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#58 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,447 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#309 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Property: NYLO New York City
Address: 2178 Broadway, at W 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6647 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in New York City
#81 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing