We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend in NYC”
Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #136 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel in the Upper West Side, close to subway, Central Park, shopping, Museum of Natural History, good room size for Manhattan, good restaurant attached to hotel, Nice Matin! Will definitely return again. Many very good eating places in the area, ranging from low to high prices.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,067 - 1,073 of 2,461 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Upper West Side! Competitively priced. Close to Central Park; a beautiful, old, red sandstone building. The rooms in the back are deliciously quiet. Good blackout curtains. Clean. Suites are spacious with dry bar containing a mini fridge & a coffee machine. On this visit the bedroom TV worked well; the living room TV wouldn't change channels & the staff seemed unable to fix it. Very good bellman service. Free New York Times at your door 7 mornings/wk. Attached Nice Matin restaurant is quite good; excellent french fries ("pommes frites" at lunch, "steak frites" at dinner). Prompt room service from Nice Matin. Good neighborhood shopping for basic necessities, including a Verizon store. Across the street: a Duane Reade Pharmacy, a corner store (mini mart to non-New Yorkers) with fresh fruit & a decent sandwich deli, &, next to the corner store, an open-til-3-AM fresh-baked cookie shop.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This lovely hotel is in a great locationand an easy walk to Central Park and Riverside Park and convenient access to the 1 subway train. It is walking distance from the American Museum of Natural History The rooms are quite roomy and the staff is friendly . They have a decent gym for those who need to get their hour of work out in. No room service but rooms come with a good coffee maker. And there are so many restaurants close by...A good hotel for business or pleasure

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snayyar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkHotel, General Manager at The Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you very much for your generous comments. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay, but I noticed that you mentioned there was no room service. We do have room service which is provided through our adjoining restaurant, Nice Matin. We hope that you join us again soon, and try the delicious, Original Five Napkin Burger!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This lovely hotel is in a great location. Lots of good restaurants nearby and an easy walk to Central Park and Riverside Park and convenient access to buses and the subway and near the wonderful American Museum of Natural History The rooms are quite roomy for a New York hotel. The staff is friendly and accomodating. I wish all hotels were this easy to work with! I would certainly stay at this charming place again. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Try amid-level room so you can see the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mainelover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I am just a week back from New York City and my first stay at The Lucerne. WOW! What an unexpected jewel of a hotel. I typically stay in Times Squares at the Doubletree Suites and on my last visit stayed at the Conrad Hilton in lower Manhattan. Both are good hotels, with the Conrad offering a higher end of luxury of course. However, on a whim and seeing a great deal, I stayed at The Lucerne. I was so happy with the location, service, and room. We got a one-bedroom suite on the 10th floor. The suite was very clean and well appointed. We had trouble with our heater and tv, but within minutes of calling, the maintenance team was upstairs to fix the problem. They were very responsive and quick!

Also, the concierge -- and I wish I remembered his name-- was lovely and helpful in finding a consignment company to find sellers for my extra theater tickets. He couldn't have been nicer.

I really loved the hotel and will absolutely stay there on our next visit. It was far enough from all the mayhem of Times Square, but close enough to either walk or get a cab for a few bucks.

Loved it here.

Room Tip: Feel free to call ahead and request a room on an upper or lower floor. They were very accommodating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vfwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkHotel, General Manager at The Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

It is so exciting to hear from first time guests of The Lucerne. We're very glad that we have exceeded your expectations. I apologize for the trouble you had with your TV and heater, but I'm pleased that the issue was taken care of in a timely manner. We look forward to seeing you again and hope to make your next stay even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is our first time staying in the Upper West Side. The Lucerne Hotel was very nice. The front door staff welcomed us and opened the doors each time we entered or left. I had requested a quiet room, and got it! This hotel is close to so many restaurants, and close to the Museum of Natural History. It is located a convenient walking distance between Riverside Drive and Central Park west side. It is convenient to subways and on a nice street, Amsterdam. There is not the frenetic pace of Midtown, or the East Side. The room was very comfortable, and our room had a refrigerator. I would highly recommend it, and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Beautiful stay. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms, and steps from great restaurants. Typically stay at Ritz or Fairmont Hotels. Less grandeur, but almost equal comfort and service. The only real con is that the rooms have the individual heating and cooling units. Ours worked well and was very quiet. The room and bath were well appointed. Beds were very comfortable,and we slept great. Located in a quiet, more residential part of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmer248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkHotel, General Manager at The Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you very much for the lovely compliment you have bestowed upon us here at The Lucerne. Our staff strives to provide the best hotel experience and room accommodations for all our guests. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#185 of 471 in New York City
5,665 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#62 of 471 in New York City
3,861 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#113 of 471 in New York City
4,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 471 in New York City
4,997 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#42 of 471 in New York City
3,737 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#248 of 471 in New York City
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $170 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing