We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lucerne Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$331
$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$326
$271
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$249
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$171
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$187
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$176
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
$371
$322
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$159
$120
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$100
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,503)
Filter reviews
2,503 results
Traveler rating
1,356
889
164
51
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,356
889
164
51
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupper west sidemuseum of natural historycentral parkamsterdam avenew yorkqueen suitelincoln centerattached restaurantsubway linegreat neighborhoodtwo blockstimes squarewonderful hotelbusiness centercoffee makerstreet noisecorner room
Filter
Updating list...
1,118 - 1,123 of 2,503 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Lovely hotel in a good location. We enjoyed our 4 night stay and found the location to be convenient and used the nearby subway as well as cabs. We walked to Times Square through Central Park - but it's a good way.
Our bathroom initially had a faulty shower tap but that was fixed quickly. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank 1leftleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkHotel, General Manager at The Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience. I would like to apologize for the difficulty you had with your shower. I am very pleased that it was taken care of in a timely manner and we will do out best to ensure that this does not happen again. We hope to see you real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We recently stayed at the Lucerne Hotel. What a beautiful Hotel. Our room was quite large and was kept immaculate. The recent renovation was done to perfection! The staff at the hotel was extremely helpful, courteous, and everyday more than one employee asked how our stay was going and if we needed anything. The location on the Upper West Side is terrific. Right next to the subway or you can quickly catch a cab if you want to go downtown. But there is so much to do uptown, we almost never left the area! I highly recommend if you are planning a visit to New York City, you stay at The Lucerne. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Excellent location ,one of the best in the upper west side of the city , close to Central Park ,Museum of Natural History ,Lincoln Center a short subway or bus ride from the theatre district and Times Square as to upper east side and Metropolitan Museum of Art...and last but most 'important' Zabars !!! The hotel has its original charm intact , the rooms are rather comfortable and the staff very attentive, professional and helpful. The room was kept well serviced and clean (Letty is an excellent housekeeper !) . When they say check in is at four pm they mean it! Yolanda checked us in at 3PM ,which I was very grateful for . I will stay there again .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

It's hard to find a decent place to stay in NYC that doesn't require a bank loan. The Lucerne is an old hotel that has been nicely renovated in keeping with its original style and is located on west 79th street, close to Riverside Park and Central Park. It's surrounded by restaurants and shops in a very pleasant NYC neighborhood. The subway is a block away, so it's convenient if you have to go uptown (i.e., to Columbia, and its medical center) or downtown, to everything else. Get a room on a high floor to keep the traffic noise down. They have free WiFi with a good signal in the room, but they forgot to put in convenient electric outlets. To charge my laptop, I had to get on my hands and knees to find one under the desk and to charge my phone, I had to pull the heavy night table away from the wall to find another. The hotel restaurant is buzzing and serves very good Mediterranean food.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaTraveler7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkHotel, General Manager at The Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

I want to thank you very much for your comments. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed The Lucerne and the neighborhood. I'm also happy that you found the wi-fi met your needs as we have recently updated our system in hopes of providing better service to our guests. You have also articulated your concerns regarding outlet convenience and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

When I come to NY I love staying at the Lucerne Hotel it is the best combination of value, location, and accommodation. Located on the corner of 79th and Broadway on the Upper West Side, it is less than a block away from Broadway and the subway station, three blocks from the Hayden Planetarium and the Museum of Natural History, and four blocks from Central Park. The rooms are very generous in size. The service is wonderful and the atmosphere warm and friendly. Starbucks is down the block along with City bakery. That was a great find!! The Lucerne is well worth being a few blocks north of the noise and traffic near Times Square and getting some exercise walking to Columbus Circle, Lincoln Center, or the theater. NiceMatin right downstairs has very good food for dinner too.

Room Tip: Be nice!!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrianne33458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews