We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in Upper West Side”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #119 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place in Upper West Side”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Nice place to stay, beds comfy, not cheap but great value I guess for NYC. NY Times at the door in the am is great. Nice Matin restaurant for breakfast was nice and cozy, they give you a 15% coupon, close to subway. Would go again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaston P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,272
    821
    141
    44
    36
See reviews for
747
657
134
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very good stay in a great location on the Upper West Side. The staff was friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. And the location was very convenient to the subway, central park, and great restaurants. A great place to stay in Manhatten away from the typical touristy locations but still convenient via cab or subway.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Good value, very clean room. Location was not great for business but nice neighborhood. The room was very functional, although somewhat small - it is New York. The adjacent restaurant was a good meal, but not fancy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Lucerne hotel recently because of the close location to friends in the area. This is a great hotel to stay at - rooms are clean, staff is very friendly and helpful, and the location gives easy access to the subway downtown for sightseeing. Some great restaurants and stores are close by. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to NYC and when we come back this is where we will stay!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jacxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We wanted to spend an evening in New York with friends, before proceeding north for Thanksgiving with the family. For an out-of-towner, no site could be better than the Upper West Side of Manhattan, with several decent dining opportunities and several car rental places on 76th and 77th streets. In the past we’d stayed at the Milburn (76th, West of Broadway). On the basis of price ($189 plus tax) and reviews, we decided this time to try the Lucerne on 79th and Amsterdam. It was a good choice. The room was quiet, clean and pleasant. On arrival, there was neither coffee maker nor mini-fridge, but both were available at no cost, on request. On the ground level, Nice Matin, where we had had brunched several times before, provided a more than abundant breakfast. We plan to return – highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerribleIvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is my "go to" hotel when I stay on the Upper West Side. Just a few subway stops to Midtown and on a nice day a very nice walk through Central Park to midtown. There are a lot of good restaurants in the area. Great Sports Bar (Blondie's) across the street. The WiFi worked really well in the room. There were three of us staying in a room with two double beds and we still had room to move around. The hotel staff could not have been anymore helpful or professional. I have stayed in many different hotels in New York and this one ranks #1 in my book!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lebr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We always enjoy our stay at the Lucerne. The location is ideal - a block from the subway, and in the midst of terrific restaurants. (The bagel place across the street is great for breakfast.) The hotel is on the small side - which we find a plus. Rooms are small - but average for Manhattan. Ask for an inside room to escape the traffic noise from Amsterdam Ave.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillygirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#175 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,531 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,497 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#212 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Property: The Lucerne Hotel
Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing