We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location, Wonderful Staff”
Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #131 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have stayed here numerous times since 2001 and enjoy it every time. The location is convenient, being near the subway, and the staff are always great and catching a cab if you need one. 5 or 6 subway lines are within 2 blocks, as is the Natural History Museum and Central Park, as well as the River. Rooms are comfortable with nice size bathrooms, and immaculate. The sidewalk was being redone, but we did not hear any noise. We like the idea you can walk to places, Broadway or Amsterdam Avenue to shop and/or eat. Many fine places to choose from, just step out the door, but
our favorite is Nice Matin, right next to the hotel , nice touch with 15% off for breakfast with check in coupons.

Room Tip: We like a room that is high up, nice views and no street noise. The suites are nice, and some have...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retired34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,412)
There are newer reviews for The Lucerne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,138 - 1,144 of 2,412 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Lucerne. It's a comfortable, quiet hotel, very clean and the staff is efficient and friendly. Great location, within walking distance to the Museum of Natural History. There are lots of good restaurants nearby. Sarabeth's on Amsterdam is a favorite of ours. We highly recommend the Lucerne and its restaurant, Nice Matin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

the Lucerne is nicely located in the heart of the upper west side, near the park, the natural history museum, a score of restaurants and less than a block from a subway entry. the hotel is clean, the staff is friendly, the concierge especially helpful. i would recommend the hotel to friends and associates.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pasalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is my third time staying at the Lucerne and it has never disappointed me. The service was excellent and they even arranged an earlier than usual check in for me with little notice. The staff working there are always pleasant and professional. The location is fantastic, close to the subway, restaurants and shops, Central Park, Riverside Park and museums.

Room Tip: Higher floors and facing north.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaP589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was our first stay at the Lucerne but I would certainly stay here again. The hotel is expensive by other city standards but in comparison to similar hotels in the area, it is a good deal. We looked at this hotel over a number of months and were able to get a better deal with time. They are good about dropping prices to keep them competitive. From our original reservation, we saved about $500 over four nights and got a much bigger room with more amenities.
The staff were great and the menu at the Nice Martin looked great and reasonable, unfortunately we never had time to try it. There are many restaurants in a very short walking distance and we enjoyed trying a number of them.
I would easily make this my centre for another trip to NYC because everything is so accessible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is my third stay at this hotel and my second TripAdvisor review for it. All of my past comments hold. On this trip, we were "upgraded" to a King Suite with a pullout sleep sofa from our two Queen Beds Superior Suite. This ended up okay since our kids didn't mind the sleep sofa, but I have to say the sleep sofa mattress was horrible. The upgrade happened without our knowledge. I am not sure what would have happened if the kids hadn't chosen the suite (the front desk gave us the option to check out the room). The kids choose the suite because they got their own TV.

As usual the doormen were great, we were even remembered from the year before. That was a great feeling after a long slow drive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cinnamon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Loved this place and so glad we did NOT stay in TIMES SQUARE amongst all the noise, lights and chaos!
Stayed 4 nights on the 12th floor and the room was spotless and the beds extremely comfortable. Also had fridge in room and room with an opening window! loved it!
Reception staff very helpful and knowledgeable and the concierge even helped me with obtaining BROADWAY tickets prior to arrival. The subway is right there, making access to all things super easy and convenient. Walk to central park a breeze! and the local eateries and delis (ZABARS) are such a treat! Loved that we could walk amongst real new yorkers and away from TIMES SQUARE crowd. Nice Matin, the restaurant next door, had great breakfast menu (we also got 15% off as guests of hotel) and the coffee is really good! Close to many, many cafes (which we adored) and all so close to Designer Shoe Warehouse (DSW) for shoe shopping!!! If ever given the opportunity to visit NYC again I'd stay on the Upper west side here!

Room Tip: top floor with view of avenue and river - ask for room with fridge - great to store your purchases f...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#75 of 468 in New York City
3,585 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#174 of 468 in New York City
5,241 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#245 of 468 in New York City
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#226 of 468 in New York City
3,683 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#267 of 468 in New York City
4,731 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 468 in New York City
3,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $209 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing