We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Upper West Side gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #111 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Upper West Side gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This boutique hotel is a gem on the Upper West Side. The location is terrific, with shopping and dining all around, near Central Park and Lincoln Center. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They greeted us with a glass of wine at check in (and then gave us the whole bottle to keep). The price is competitive with anything in the neighborhood. Valet parking available for about the same price as the garages in the area.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,243
    796
    136
    41
    33
See reviews for
724
643
130
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Can hear showers and blow dryers running- when asked why we were not receiving a copy of daily paper NY Times said" a copy is down in the lobby if I would like" however saw newspaper door delivery to other rooms??

Room Tip: Can hear showers and blow dryers running- when asked why we were not receiving a copy of daily paper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The staff are attentive and very professional. We didn't wait for anything. The room was clean, comfortable and bigger than we had expected. The restaurants recommended by the front desk staff were SUPERB ("Citrus" on Amsterdam and "Coppolla's" on 79th). We stayed 3 nights and it was highly enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules309Bflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I live locally but i travel frequently to Manhattan for business. I've tried many of the chain hotels and boutique hotels. The Lucerne is part of the Empire Hotel Group.

Very simply this is a quality hotel with excellent service. The entire staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was clean, well appointed and fully functional for a business traveler.

The hotel is located in the Upper West Side of Manhattan, a cool section of the City in itself. It is within walking distance to Central Park, museums, restaurants, cafes, wine bars and shops.

There is a great casual restaurant right next door to the hotel. It has access directly from the hotel lobby. If it's raining you don't even have to go outside. Very cool! :)

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, Brazil
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great for families, good location, calm place, confortable and for a reasonable price. My family and I stayed at the hotel for 10 days, in a double bed room, and we didn't have any complaints. Everything was perfect. I recommend this hotel, especially for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSJ71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

It's a challenge to find an affordable hotel room in NYC, but The Lucerne was a great discovery in a prime location. The doormen, valets and lobby staff were efficient and friendly, and our check-in experience was quick and easy, the desk clerk offering me a room that was already cleaned (at 10 a.m.) or a room on a higher floor if I preferred to wait. I took the available room on the third floor, and though it overlooked Broadway, we heard no street noise whatsoever. That might have been because the rooms have the old-fashioned heat/A/C unit under the window that's annoyingly loud, vs. a thermostat-controlled climate system. We appreciated the complimentary WIFI, which was fast, and the quality toiletries, Keurig coffee maker, and good light in the spotless bathroom. Nice Matin, the French restaurant next door, was outstanding, and its prices reasonable, especially for NYC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We wanted a hotel convenient to the upper west side. The Lucerne fit the bill perfectly. The public areas and rooms are spotlessly clean, and it has a doorman. The rates are reasonable for New York City. Our corner room with 2 queen beds was quiet and comfortable. In the room were an iron and ironing board as well as a Keurig coffee maker complete with coffee, tea, and even mugs - an especially thoughtful and nice touch, eliminating the need for room service or going out. Upon request, a small refrigerator was delivered to the room at no extra charge. Other thoughtful touches: free Wi-fi, a safe, and extra pillows. The hotel is convenient to the subway, Central Park, Lincoln Center - and near loads of restaurants and shops. Because it is a smaller "boutique" hotel and not part of a large chain, one gets the feeling of being looked after. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank loumorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#181 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,859 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#230 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,303 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#51 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#201 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#248 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#304 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Property: The Lucerne Hotel
Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6200
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#62 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#87 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing