We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and a great value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #119 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Great Location and a great value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is located on the Upper West Side right off the 1 Train. It is clean and bright, the rooms are large and very clean. The hotel staff knows the area and is very helpful. This is my go-to in New York. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 5th floor with a west facing view and watched the sun set over the Hudson River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,272
    821
    143
    44
    36
See reviews for
747
658
134
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have stayed at The Lucerne more than 10 times, and each stay has been great. I used to stay at the big hotel chains, but the personal service and great staff at The Lucerne keep us coming back. The location near Central Park and the subway make this a convenient, yet quiet area to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHXAZ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I booked a room at the Lucerne because we prefer a quieter area of NY and also wanted to be within walking distance to The Beacon Theater. Our room was not ready upon arrival, so we were graciously upgraded to the Presidential Suite. Oh my goodness - what a treat -- especially in NY! This suite is huge, with three windows that opened and one with a view of the river. The king bed was extremely comfortable and furnished with good linens. It had a separate living room with it's own television and desk. There is also a bar area with a Kuerig coffee machine, wine glasses, a corkscrew and plates for a snack. We walked across the street to a local wine store, brought some back and had wine in our room in the afternoon. As far as service goes, we found the staff to be extremely accommodating at the Lucerne.

This area of the Upper West Side has plenty of good restaurants to walk to but others are a short cab ride away. You can walk to Central Park West and the Natural History Museum. There is also a great little bagel place up the street on Amsterdam and the Amsterdam Cafe across the street has coffee, fresh pastries and made to order breakfast sandwiches. The Nice Matin Restaurant is lovely for brunch (but very busy) and great for sitting outside during nice weather. (see separate review).

Quick Recap: safe, quiet location; clean, large rooms; great value for NY; good restaurants in walking distance; attentive hotel staff

Room Tip: ask for a high floor with view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was here for two nights and it was very nice. The location is good, subway station just around the corner. My room was very big with two double beds.

Only thing I don't like that much is that there's not really a lot to do on Upper West, I prefer downtown Manhattan. But it's still a nice location if you just want to relax and don't mind taking the subway to midtown or downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliverHeartmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I just stayed here one night in one of their QUEEN standard rooms. It is a charming, clean, and comfortable Central Park West hotel. I stayed here for the Shakespeare in the Park performances in Central Park and I could not have asked for a better location. The lobby is simple but the room was very nicely appointed and looked recently renovated. It was one of the most comfortable mattresses I've ever had in a hotel. And the restaurant (Nice Matin) was great as well. I would stay here again most definitely!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceeceerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We wanted to stay in an area of NY that would make us feel like we were really in a neighborhood, not just a tourist destination. This was IT! The hotel was beautiful! The room was beautifully decorated and super clean. We stayed in room 809 which had a view of Amsterdam Ave. and a little bit of Manhattan. There was some street noise but it didn't bother us a bit. The hotel staff was very helpful. Amsterdam Ave. is full of little restaurants with outdoor patios. We ate at Coppolas the first night and really enjoyed it. We also frequented Insomnia Cookies more than we should have! It is just a few blocks from such a beautiful part of Central Park. And just down the block is the 1 line for the subway. Really, we could not have asked for more. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Room 809 was lovely with an outside view of Amsterdam Ave and part of the city. There was street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCeccos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Really enjoyed our recent five day stay at The Lucerne. The upper west side location is a nice respite from the hustle & bustle of NYC. The area is highly walkable and and you are near must see attractions like Central Park. There is also no real need to go the more fashionable parts of town for a nice dinner; we particularly liked Telepan, Spiga and Caffe Storico. The other parts of the city are also within easy reach because the #1 subway line picks up a block away and takes you to all the midtown and downtown areas. The hotel is not a bargain in price but you get more than you would expect in style, service and comfort in a "mature" hotel market like NYC. This is a solidly built old hotel and room noise from next door and above is almost non-existent (unlike many NYC hotels). The staff are particularly friendly and helpful - another real plus for visitors. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The bathroom did not have an exhaust fan so it was pretty steamy after showers. Just open the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeawoodCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,416 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#175 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,541 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,498 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#211 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Property: The Lucerne Hotel
Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
#96 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing