We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #132 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My two Grand-daughters ages 12 and 15 and I enjoyed our stay at the Lucerne Hotel. The sitting room and kitchenette really made a difference for us. After a busy day of fun, it was great to head to the hotel knowing we would be greeted by the friendly staff and that we could relax in the comfortable suite. The location is perfect. I look forward to staying at the Lucerne in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,309 - 1,315 of 2,418 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

cannot go wrong at this boutique upper west side gem - clean hotel, rooms perfect, small but all you need for a stay. Hotel staff is pleasant, and with Nice Matin in the hotel there is great food. It would be great if Nice Matin opened earlier. But, there is coffee in the rooms, and there are places within a block. Great location - can have street noise on lower floors facing Amsterdam Ave. I love it and will be back

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I've stayed at the Lucerne four times on business, and recently returned on vacation with my wife. The hotel is clean, well-maintained, and if on an inside room, quiet. The staff is extraordinarily helpful, from the concierge to the deck to the doormen who always greeted us with a smile. We look forward to future stays.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors facing in (not on the street) are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We really enjoy this hotel and come back to it whenever we are in New York. The location is wonderful and it's a great value. It has the feel of a small hotel and the rooms are large for New York. We were given a room when we arrived at 9 a.m. which made our stay even better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmyandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

So I lived in NYC for 20 years and find nothing more annoying the the polluted tourist trap called Midtown. Staying at the Lucerne is like going home again albeit more cramped and expensive. UWS has all the amenities you can ask for. Awesome towels and water pressure in shower.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uppertexside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

If I could give this hotel more stars, I would. We spent four nights at the Lucerne and wished we could have stayed longer. The staff was super friendly and courteous. The valet shared a tip with us to save money on parking in the city. The room was extremely comfortable and clean. The beds were extra plush; we both slept soundly each night. The elevators arrived quickly -- virtually no waiting at all (this is a problem in other hotels). The Lucerne has a lot of other great things going for it, including location. It is just two blocks from Central Park, two blocks from the Hudson River, a block from the No. 1 subway line that takes you directly into Times Square, and there are tons of great restaurants all within a few blocks of the hotel. We absolutely loved its Upper West Side location -- so convenient to other parts of the city. And the price was relatively reasonable compared to everything we got for it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyWfromWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed last week at Hotel Lucerne as a family of four, taking two rooms next to each other. The rooms were well kept and the hotel cleaning staff in particular need to be complimented for their meticulous attention to detail. Its location is the best feature of this hotel, and we particularly chose it because of its easy access to the beautiful Central Park for our morning walks; to the subway which is literally a couple of minutes away; and to a variety of eating places in the vicinity. The staff were courteous and very helpful, particularly the lady at the conceirage. The men at the entrance and the lift were always pleasant and helpful as well, and they always took a lot of trouble to call a cab for us, even if they had to ply back and forth in the pouring rain to catch one!

However, we found a couple of things jarring -- firstly their putting a tag of $6.50 on a medium sized bottle of water being offered in the room. Given that they were charging $429 (including taxes) for the room, this inhospitable act could surely be avoided! Better to offer no water, rather than put on a price, I would strongly recommend. Better still, offer water, a couple of fizzy drinks and a small biscuit packet for guests who have come in at a time of the night (like we did) when nothing is available to eat, and DON'T charge, atleast not so explicitly. If the cost of these measly welcome items is considered too much, discreetly add a few dollars to the room cost!

Secondly, there were issues about the noise. There were repairs going on in the corridor or somewhere in the middle of the afternoon, and we had to request the reception to kindly refrain from making constant thudding noises, which they immediately responded to, and the noises stopped. We could hear the staff or other guests in the corridors, sometimes laughing loudly and even quarreling! Most annoyingly, when our daughters turned on their shower in the next room, the television sounds got absolutely drowned out because of faulty plumbing, I guess! The rush of water through the pipelines makes a disconcertingly loud hissing sound and it woke one up each time a tap was turned on in our as well the next room. New plumbing arrangements might be something the management will do well to invest in, and also sound proofing the rooms if possible.

Otherwise the hotel bathrooms and rooms were nearly as comfortable and thoughtfully organised as one might expect. We would have liked a better view, but we were told that because we wanted rooms next to each other, we could not have rooms with a better view. There was an iron, an umbrella, a safe for the valuables, and complimentary wi-fi available in the room, which were all extremely useful, especially the wifi. A small fridge would have added to the comfort, but the convenience of a coffeemaker somewhat made up for that lack.

We chose this hotel for some of the reasons mentioned above, and I must say we did not regret it. We could go to any part of the city easily from this location, and everything we needed (including a laundromat for our accumulating laundry!) were closely available. I just thought that having stayed in Hilton in Chicago the previous week, also downtown, and given the relative facilities in both places,and even conceding it was NEW YORK and MANHATTAN, this hotel still seemed overpriced.

But after all is said and done, we will most probably go back here, if we have to go the NYC again, given the location and the extremely courteous service. We really enjoyed our nine day stay in the city, and we would say that the hotel played a large part in the success of our total experience. Thank you everyone at Hotel Lucerne!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#68 of 469 in New York City
3,640 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#183 of 469 in New York City
5,337 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#245 of 469 in New York City
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 469 in New York City
3,710 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#265 of 469 in New York City
4,802 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#106 of 469 in New York City
4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $202 - $560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing