We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful staff”
Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #139 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Lucerne for a family vacation to NY. It is in a great neighborhood on the west side close to the 1 line, museums and central park. We walked easily down to Times Square to shopping and theater. The staff was professional and helpful. Rooms are small but good size for NY and very quiet. As with any trip to NY, don't drive, parking is always difficult and/or expensive. The hotel will valet. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tablefor5NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,440 - 1,446 of 2,469 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

I took my 16 year old son into the city for a few days to immerse ourselves in good music before his school break ended. Searching on line for something reasonable in a location that suited the venues we wanted to reach we found the Lucerne. We had in mind events at the Beacon (a walk from here), The Town Hall (near times square) and BAM in Brooklyn.

The location was perfect, nice neighborhood, the red line is nearby, dozens of restaurants within a few blocks (not to mention the Nice Matin restaurant which is attached and very very good). There is a great little coffee shop, Irving Farm, a half block away and the hotel itself exceeded our expectations.
The room was clean, well maintained and comfortable. The décor has a European flare that to me is a pleasant relief from the often too antiseptic rubber stamp look of the big chains. All the staff were pleasant and helpful.
Apart from the fact that I get sticker shock every time I come into the city; this was a wonderful choice and I look forward to visiting again; yes I will stay here.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet but faced a narrow alley and had no view. This was fine for our purposes but if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MusicTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Lucerne during tour of Columbia University. Hotel was clean and most importantly it was quiet! We slept soundly every night with no street noise or disruption from other guests. Hotel is convenient to Subway, which we ended up using exclusively during our trip. Staff was helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwalsh13286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had booked using a special deals web site. When we arrived, the staff were about to give us a room of a lower category than we had ordered. I showed the email with the room type specified. In the meanwhile, my son excitedly chatted to the staff member about being in New York. So once she had looked into the matter, we were upgraded to a deluxe queen suite, with a separate room with a TV for my son. The room overlooked 79th St.

The main room had two double beds and a TV with a controller for Nintendo gaming at a fee. Next to the bathroom was a kitchenette with a fridge, microwave and hot drink maker. We visited during an unseasonably warm week, so we didn't need to use the AC, which was helpful as it seemed very noisy when we turned it on briefly. 

We were very comfortable during our stay, and felt well-attended. One minor problem was that the TV in second bedroom short-circuited twice when I tried to connect headphones to it. The staff dealt with this quickly, and ended up having to replace the TV.

The only major problem came when leaving. The concierge had booked us a car service, but it never turned up. The doormen kept a very close eye on us, and as time passed got very annoyed with the concierge on our behalf, who didn't know how to prioritize, and paid much more attention to a family booking theater tickets than tracking down, then cancelling, the missing car. He wasn't able to get a suitable replacement either. The two doormen who were now on our case hailed us a taxi. They also told us to talk to them directly the next time we needed transportation. So thanks to the doormen for making sure we didn't miss our plane!

Considering this wonderful location, the friendly staff, and the comfort of the room and bathroom, I would love to return. 

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traductora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Right between two subway stations, on the 79th St cross town bus route (very handy for getting to the Met and other UE Side galleries), brisk walking distance to Columbus Circle, close to Zabars for a breakfast coffee and plenty of nearby neighbourhood restaurants.

The hotel itself is nice - not the most modern of styles but all very good quality and in good repair. We had a superior king room which was pretty spacious and had a double aspect view down to the Hudson which was a really pleasant surprise. AC was pretty noisy so we turned it off. Not an issue in a chilly March but maybe worth thinking about if you stay later in the year.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LondonStravaiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is our favorite place to stay on the Upper West Side. Proximity to the Museum of Natural History is perfect not to mention Zabars, the subway, Barnes and Noble and a multitude of restaurants. We love Coppalla's Italian restaurant right across the street and we always have at least one meal at Nice Matin. Central Park is no more than a ten minute walk or go west to Riverside.

Room Tip: We like higher floors to avoid street noise. The staff happily accomodates our request for no feath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is my fourth stay at the Lucerne Hotel. Staff is very friendly, the rooms are clean and the location is close to park, great restaurants and shopping. The restaurant next door Nice Matin is convenient and has great choices for breakfast, lunch or dinner. You should be able to charge your dining to hotel, somehow though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyV340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 473 in New York City
3,923 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#180 of 473 in New York City
5,746 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#231 of 473 in New York City
3,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#245 of 473 in New York City
2,158 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 473 in New York City
3,770 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#115 of 473 in New York City
4,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in New York City
#30 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $186 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing