We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little jem”
Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #128 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little jem”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very stately yet fresh and clean. The King Suite was very comfortable and well appropriated. Staff was helpful and very friendly. Room service food was fresh and very good -- although small portions and a bit pricey. The room was clean and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCTruax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,290
    842
    147
    45
    38
See reviews for
766
668
135
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our 2nd visit to this hotel. Great location. Charm of old Europe in upper Manhattan location. Many small eateries to choose from within easy walking distance. Helpful bellman and very accommodating concierge service. Great value. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: We chose a standard queen room for each of our 2 stays here. Good value. We felt that since we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hotel staff was polite and accommodating. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Hotel was conveniently located. Valet parking across the street was a bonus. Subways and food within walking distance. I would recommend this hotel and we are likely to rebook here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We always stay here. right near subway 1 and very nice rooms. Always clean. Good restaurant on first floor. Rates are moderate though not at all cheap. Some winter deals.
you need to ask about discounts such as AAA because they won't tell you about them.
very good long term staff.
concierge available

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ItalophileBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I know that saying a room hotel in NY is small is common sense... but still, every time you have to go to a hotel and find yourself closed in a small room with another person sometimes you even forget the good things about the hotel. All that said, the Lucerne Hotel is located in a wonderful situation, in the heart of Upper West Side, close to good restaurants, shopping, markets, museums, parks, easy transportation to make you close to whatever you want in Manhattan. At the same time, you are far enough from crowded midtown and its tourists, so that you have the feeling of being a tourist in a mostly residential area. The service is very good, with attentive staff and quality of room is also good, even though with simple facilities (not even a coffee maker machine in the room). Bathroom is spacious for NY standards. You have the option of the good Nice Matin restaurant, neighbour to the hotel and the discounted (15%) breakfast they offer. Definitely a good option in NY.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FernandoLyrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Like a few other travelers, I was rather underwhelmed by the Lucerne. I booked it for a couple of nights, enough to go to the opera and head back out. The rooms are indeed uncomfortably small and the 4 star standard is not apparent. The entryway is virtually nonexistent and the bathroom is excessively small (for example, the toilet is a mere one inch away from the tub - no, really). I agree with a previous reviewer who noted that the so called deluxe queen room (the standard fare at the Lucerne) is very small and if you are on the second floor facing the street (coupled with a most unfortunate location across the hallway from the ice and vending machines) then you are in for much noise and flooding lights from the street – awkwardly, the curtains are affixed to the wall more than a foot apart, so it is virtually impossible to block the street light by pulling the curtains. The first evening we were there we took the stairs to the lobby (since we were on the second floor). My husband was holding on to the railing and jammed his finger into an edge where a part of the wood from the rail was missing and slashed the tip of his finger. The front desk did promise to send the “engineer” to look at the railing, but they made no effort to, say, waive the parking fee for a day, offer a free breakfast or anything in the way of allaying our apprehensions about staying for the duration of our booking. I did not see the great service others speak of…The location is good but they face much competition in that area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeliaPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
535 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is exactly what a tourist hotel in a big city should be: competitively priced, not too big, sensible sized rooms and bathrooms, clean, helpful staff. We were on a high floor and it was remarkably quiet. And very well positioned: a few paces from the subway and a number of restaurants (try the Kosher bagel place on the opposite corner for New York experience), and only a short walk to Central Park. Stroll across the Park to the mind-boggling Met.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor, not only quiet but a view of sorts across the rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanJGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 467 in New York City
3,509 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 467 in New York City
4,969 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#247 of 467 in New York City
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
3,609 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#208 of 467 in New York City
1,149 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#101 of 467 in New York City
4,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Property: The Lucerne Hotel
Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
#104 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing