We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned style and well located in the upper west.”
Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #141 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here as part of the marathon running group and enjoyed the older style
We stayed in a suite and appreciated the extra space. Bathroom was small for a suite and could do with a makeover.
The restaurant next door was great for breakfast and is highly recommended . As is Al Dente across the road for excellent Italian.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDD1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,559 - 1,565 of 2,448 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

From doorman to housekeeping, everyone was friendly and helpful. The room was well supplied, even with umbrella and flashlight. We were there during Hurricane Sandy, and staff stayed in the hotel so service was continued. There was a complimentary wine and cheese on a couple of afternoons. The metro is just a block away on Broadway, and the hotel is located mid way up Central park, close to the Natural History museum. After the storm we walked to TIme's Square,(there was no metro after the hurricane), it took an hour. Easy walking to to Lincoln centre. Revolving shower head with great water pressure, nice tub and bubble bath. Fluffy towels, and comfortable beds/pillows. No excess street noise noted, but traffic was reduced. The neighborhood has a variety of local restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank physiomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent. We stayed for 4 nights, we asked and we got a room on a high floor (eleventh floor). The room was big, with two king beds and a bathroom with tub. Many restaurants just round the corners; the metro station is only 50 meters away; very nice people at the reception desk, helpful in giving info on attractions and selling special tickets for the Empire State Buildings. No fridge in the room, but coffee machine with sugar, cream and tea available.
We had breakfast (not included) at the Nice Matin: it was very good but a little expensive even though you get a 15% discount if you stay at the hotel.
Free high speed Wi-Fi excellent in the room and in the lounge.

Room Tip: We were at the 1120 (west): no traffic room because you are not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicky7611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Location is great. Away from the bustle of Times Square but close to subway. Lots of eateries close by. Rooms are small but well appointed. Bathrooms adequate - great NYC water pressure. Our second time and we will repeat! Comfy beds. No pool or spa.

Room Tip: Ask for as large as possible - the queen room is small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We are middle aged midwesterners who were in NYC for a wedding. Since we were in NYC for 8 days, we actually stayed in 3 different hotels. Our stay at the Lucerne was lovely! The hotel is one of the older, elegant type (as opposed to hip and trendy). We loved the location - the neighborhood was great to walk in. Great neighborhood restaurants, shops and stores. We found the staff to be very accomodating. Rooms were quiet and well appointed, and were not small - as many reviews about NYC hotels read. Breakfast in Nice Matin was charming. NYC prices are high in general, but we really thought the Lucerne ambiance was worth the cost - nice to stay away from the chains on some trips to absorb the local history and culture. We loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler062010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This would have to have been the biggest New York hotel room I have stayed in. I have just returned from 5 wonderful nights at the Lucerne Hotel with my husband and 3 young children. We booked a double queen suite at approx $500US a night which was actually two rooms in one. The first room had two double beds and the connecting space had a sofa bed couch, desk, TV and kitchenette. Between the 5 of us there was plenty of room to spread out and even eat in the room. The location of the hotel is fantastic. A real taste of New York life with an unlimited amount of restaurants nearby to choose from and close proximity to central park and the Natural History Museum. The subway is only a two minute walk which will get you into Times Square or downtown very quickly. The staff were friendly and the concierge particularly helpful when it came to booking transfers to and from the airport for 5 people. Zabars is only a 5 minute walk and Duane Reed opposite the hotel is also handy. There is also an excellent coffee shop called Irving Farm opposite and a bagel bakery and cookie shop (Insomnia Cookies) nearby which were a favourite with the kids. The area is very safe and full of life without feeling like a crowded tourist area. I would definately stay here next time I am in New York and would recommend The Lucerne for the elderly, solo travellers or travellers with children.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryBeagle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a very fine stay at the Lucerne. Adjoining Nice Matin restaurant was fine as well. A number of other good restaurants in the area as well. The surrounding area (the Upper West
Side) is a particularly fine one for strolling, shopping and dining.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Embucado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#184 of 470 in New York City
5,554 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#62 of 470 in New York City
3,770 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#109 of 470 in New York City
4,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,910 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#254 of 470 in New York City
2,135 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#44 of 470 in New York City
3,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $187 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing