We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucerne for small home style hotel accom NYC”
Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #125 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lucerne for small home style hotel accom NYC”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed at the Lucerne Hotel, NYC during April 2012. We found 79th Street, to be great, the subway was a 2 minute walk, for uptown or downtown trains using 1 Line.
The Lucerne was a quaint, old fashioned hotel. The room was tiny, which I understand is pretty common with NYC but it was so small we could not have the suitcase open at all, let alone 2 suitcases.
Liked it for easy access to subway, Museum etc.
Dislikes: No fridge, I really dislike this with a hotel. No way to make a cuppa, no milk etc, just a water warmer and coffee creamer ( yuck).
The lift, well sometimes we waited 20 minutes and still no lift, so we walked the 6 floors down.
We had no view, despite the fact that I requested a view and a higher floor to get away from the noise. There was no problem with the noise.
The staff were reasonably helpful, my bag went missing on the flight over, so for the first day and half I kep asking whether my bag had turned up. it arrived at 2:30 one morning and they delivered it immediately ( because I had requested they ring me), much to my relief I had some clothes.
The concierge, well I asked about bikes to hire, and he said go to 7th avenue, when their were plenty of places closer with better bikes than that. I asked about Statue of Liberty and he did explain train stops etc, but possibly could have explained the 3 hour wait.
All in all for NYC, I guess the place was quiet, comfy, small, beds comfy. No room to move. I would have liked NY Times at my door each morning.
The restaurant below was really ordinary and my opinion on that is to follow... Nice Matin... not nice and do not go there!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    849
    149
    45
    38
See reviews for
781
672
135
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Lucerne is in a great location. There are dozens of restaurants within a few blocks. The neighborhood is reasonably quiet, and it’s two blocks to the park. Free NY Times at the door every morning.
I got a corner room on the sixth floor, with a view of the Hudson and New Jersey. It was a good size for a NY hotel room. The internet is blazing fast. And the attached restaurant, the Nice Matin, served excellent cappuccino and croissants.
Small negatives: the double beds were small (not queen beds), and my television did not work well (intermittently unresponsive to the remote even after they replaced the remote for me).

Room Tip: looking west is better -- you can see down 79th st to the Hudson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crito0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed in rooms 824 (a small suite) and 704. The sitting room of the suite was tiny, not really worth the extra money, but it did mean that we had a refrigerator and a microwave oven, which was useful. The hotel is quiet and clean - no bed bugs here! - and well maintained. We found all the staff helpful. The hotel is a couple of blocks from the Natural History Museum and Central Park, and about 15 mins walk from the Met. The subway station for line 1, which takes you to the theatre district, is at the end of the block. There are a number of restaurants and small food outlets on the street surrounding the hotel. Very convenient location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to lessen noise, as 79th street is pretty busy all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCDer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Large rooms, comfortable beds and attentive service. What more could someone ask for in a hotel/ How about free (FREE) NY Times at your door each morning.

Room Tip: Ask to be in a "back" room for the quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

A nice hotel in a quiet, yet good central location for meandering around the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I always stay at this hotel as it is extremely clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful. I feel safe staying here and it is so close to Central Park that when I get too overwhelmed with the city I can find peace in the park.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tempestinateapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, arriving late on our first night. We had stayed in the area before so knew the hotel was in a great location. We love staying away from the tourist areas and in a more residential area. It's only about 20-30minute walk down to fifth avenue, and we usually walked through the park.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't eat in the hotel/attached restaurant so can't comment on it. The hotel room was great-really comfy bed and plenty of room to hang up clothes etc. a large umbrella is provided, which came in really useful!
The things I would mark the room down on are....no coffee maker or kettle etc, which by previous experience is standard in US hotels. Also, there was a CD player, which I think should really be an iPod docking station in the age of iPods etc.
Overall, a good base to stay when in New York.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyjayne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#67 of 467 in New York City
3,548 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 467 in New York City
5,092 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 467 in New York City
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#224 of 467 in New York City
3,650 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#200 of 467 in New York City
1,158 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#95 of 467 in New York City
4,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Property: The Lucerne Hotel
Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing