We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointing!”
Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #128 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So disappointing!”
Reviewed September 27, 2007

This hotel has gone down hill dramtically in the last few years. It used to be a lovely small hotel on New York's Upper West side. Now I could never recommend it to anyone. On my visit here last April, the management refused to honor an internet reservation despite a confirmation number telling me they were sold out. I was forced to find an alternate hotel iate in the evening.
On this visit, we made the reservation directly with the hotel despite paying much more for the room. When we arrived, we were told out room would be be ready at 4:00 pm and then we waited hours for the room to be available. Had the management told us the truth, we could have gone shopping or sightseeing rather than be stuck in the lobby being told that "any minute " the room would be ready.
Once we we finally did check in, the room and bathroom were filthy and one of the bed was not made. The musty carpet smelled of mildew. When I complained that the room was diirty, we were told that everything else was sold out so there was little that could be done.

  • Disliked — Dirty
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Madacascar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,288
    836
    146
    45
    38
See reviews for
762
667
134
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, RI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2007

The huge room was a pleasant surprise - double the size of most NYC rooms that are more like closets! Very comfortable also - new furnishings, drapes and carpets and a large flat screen tv. Staff was friendly and helpful. Totally recommend this little gem.

  • Liked — size of room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco- Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2007

I ended up staying at the Lucerne because the Excelsior was booked solid. My room at the Lucerne was clean, quiet,and roomy. The bathroom tiny. The staff friendly. The hotel's location was pretty good. If you are looking for a budget hotel on the UWS the Lucerne is for you. For the same price I'll be by the park at the Excelsior.

  • Liked — clean room, friendly staff
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2007

We had a wonderful experience at the Lucerne. The hotel is lovely, comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the location can't be beat. We've found our new favorite place to stay in NYC! It is within minutes of Central Park, the Museum of Natural History tons of shops and wonderful restaurants. Our room was also the largest we've ever had in Manhattan, at a very reasonable rate. Kudos to The Lucerne!

  • Liked — Everything was great...but the location was fantastic
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staceybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2007

I was born in NYC and I have high standards for my hotel stays. So when I booked a room at the Hotel Lucerne, I had high expectations. I booked at the Lucerne because of its location just west of Central Park (and a straight shot across the Park to the Metropolitan Museum) and because the price was decent for Manhattan.

Overall, my wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Lucerne. We stayed on the 8th floor; the photos that accompany this review show our west-facing view and the front of the hotel. The bellhops, front desk crew, and concierge are all efficient and friendly...for New York, anyway. I appreciated their efficiency when we arrived in a private car from Long Island; the bellhop took our luggage and silently waited as we checked in. Nice.

The hotel elevators are fairly small, but they are manageable. Our 8th floor room was also fairly small, but in terms of Manhattan hotel rooms the size was to be expected. My wife and I found the space to be adequate, although eating a meal in the room was a little tricky. The bathroom is small but it has everything you need. We didn't get a mini-fridge in the room, but when we requested one we quickly got it free of charge.

The hotel location is terrific: 1 block from the 1 subway line, 1 block from great bagels at H&H, and less than 1 block from a few restaurants and shops. Taxi service is no problem, particularly with the bellhops and doormen standing by.

The room was extremely quiet. I was surprised by how peacefully we were able to sleep in the nice king bed in our room. The 8th floor isn't too high up, but we had a very quiet retreat for a few days there.

Minor downsides included a couple of slightly stained towels (quickly and cheerfully replaced) and a window that didn't quite close (no problem, just pulled the drapes). The TV could be newer/sharper, but again that's not a big deal.

Overall, I would stay at the Lucerne again. I never even saw the gym on the top floor! The Nice/Matin restaurant is good but a bit expensive...but also very convenient.

  • Liked — Good location, free wi-fi, nice staff, decent price
  • Disliked — Could be a bit larger and cleaner
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank arhythmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

The Hotel Lucerne was ideally situated away from the busy tourist areas but ideally situated for the subway enabling easy access for exploring New York. The staff were friendly and helpful and the concierge was on hand for useful advice. She was able to get us seats for The Jersey Boys which although a little pricey having paid over the odds for them the show was so good that we felt it was worth it for the convenience.

Our intial room was changed without any problem due to leaking air condtioning. The restaurant attached to the hotel was reasonably priced for dinner and breakfast. There was also a good choice of eateries surrounding the hotel. An absolute must for a vist is Zabar's which is incredible.

A very good place to stay

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roibush3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

Stayed for four days in August with our two girls, age 6 and 9. Room was cramped but reading reviews should have asked for a larger room. Very clean, quiet and nicely updated, we would definitely stay again both for the hotel, the exceptionally friendly staff and the neighbourhood. We usually stay at the Michaelangelo without kids (fabulous hotel if you can get a good rate) near Times Square but really fell in love with this location. Went for runs in Central park, had breakfast at nearby diners for very reasonable prices.
I would stay again but maybe book a larger room than the one we had with 2 double beds.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#59 of 468 in New York City
3,482 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 468 in New York City
4,854 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#251 of 468 in New York City
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#237 of 468 in New York City
3,581 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#198 of 468 in New York City
1,138 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 468 in New York City
4,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Property: The Lucerne Hotel
Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
#104 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing