We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we went back twice!”
Review of The House of Brews

The House of Brews
Ranked #1,191 of 13,678 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: This cozy neighborhood Hell's Kitchen beer cave offers a laid back atmosphere with down-to-earth staff & a great selection of craft brews from around the world! Your local bar with your favorite beer & soon-to-be favorite beer--we have a rotating beer list for those who always want to try something new, and a permanent list for those who love their old standbys.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“So good we went back twice!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were in New York for a four night trip. We arrived on a Wednesday around lunch and were looking for a local place to eat. My brother, who lives in NYC, recommended House of Brews, so we gave it a go. We got a table and service right away. The waitress was very nice and prompt. I ordered the Turkey Burger and it was VERY juicy and flavorful! The rest of our party was happy with their selections as well.
Later in the week we were looking for a place that had a Wisconsin style fish fry and thought of the menu at the House of Brews again. A friend and I ordered the Dublin Style Fish Fry as well as an order of the Nachos. The fish fry was very good! My mom is particular about her deep fried fish and even gave this place a thumbs up! The Nachos were HUGE, and we ended up splitting them between our whole party (5) and there were still leftovers!
Overall, VERY good local food! I would go there again - seems like a great laid back place to drink and have a good time!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ZombiePanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at The House of Brews, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hi There,

Much gratitude for your TripAdvisor review about your most recent visit to The House of Brews! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed our food and service so much that you came back a second time during your short four night trip! We will be sure to let our chef know that your compliments on our Turkey Burger, Nachos, and Fish and Chips. Feedback, good or bad , is very important for us to be able to grow & better ourselves in providing our guests with quality food, drink & service. We understand there are always ways to improve and take each TripAdvisor Review into consideration. So, your opinion is very important to us!

Thank you again for joining us on your visit to NYC! On behalf of the House of Brews Team please come again soon and safe travels!

Cheers,

Patrick Schmidt
The House of Brews
Operations Manager
Office - 212.245.0564
Email - PSchmidt@hkhgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    57
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rochester
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“went back for another meal”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stopped here on a list of top ten bars in NYC. It had a great beer selection. We got appetizers, and really enjoyed the menu selection that we went back the next day for Sunday breakfast. The breakfast pizza was awesome. And the jalapeno margarita was very interesting, and if you like spice, I would suggest trying it once.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pastrychefjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at The House of Brews, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hello Jenn,

I just wanted to drop a quick line & say thank you very much for reviewing our establishment here on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to the House of Brews! We are glad that you enjoyed your night so much, that you came back the next morning! We will be sure to tell the chef your compliments on the breakfast pizza. Feedback, good or bad , is very important for us to be able to grow & better ourselves in providing our guests with quality food, drink & service. We understand there are always ways to improve! I will be sure to let the staff & management team here know of your comments.

Much gratitude for the repeat visit during your stay in the city! Please join us again soon and enjoy the rest of your week!

Cheers,

Patrick Schmidt
The House of Brews
Operations Manager
Office - 212.245.0564
Email - PSchmidt@hkhgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
253 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great beer and food selection; check out their brunch!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stopped in here for some Sunday Funday goodness and had a blast! It has a very local feel to it. Large beer selection and also some food. Be sure to check out their Sunday specials (bottomless mimosas or bloody mary's for $10 with purchase of a brunch item). Sam the bartender is the best!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at The House of Brews, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hello Sted,

Thank you so much for dropping by and reviewing the House of Brews for your most recent visit. Glad you appreciated our wide beer selection, brunch specials, and attentive staff.. Much gratitude for joining us for Sunday Funday! We'll be sure to rely your compliments to Sam, which she will be happy to hear. Good or bad, we take each TripAdvisor review into consideration. So, you're opinion is very important to us, Sted! Each review is significant in helping us to better our business and to ensure that we provide great food, drink, and service to the best of our abilities!

Please join us again soon and enjoy the rest of your week!

Cheers,

Patrick Schmidt
The House of Brews
Operations Manager
Office - 212.245.0564
Email - PSchmidt@hkhgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great atmosphere, music, food & beer”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

After a terrible experience on our first night in New York we ate here as it was next to our hotel. Really great atmosphere, service and food and I really enjoyed trying the beer taster! Would recommend to anyone wanting good food and service away from the big chains.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at The House of Brews, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hey Andrew,

I just wanted to drop a quick line & say thank you very much for reviewing our establishment here on Yelp after your recent visit to the House of Brews! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your experience here with us! Feedback, good or bad , is very important for us to be able to grow & better our selves in providing our guests with quality food, drink & service. We understand there are always ways to improve! I will be sure to let the staff & management team here know of your compliments.

Thank you again. We look forward to seeing you guys again during your next trip over from the UK! Please enjoy the rest of your week!

Cheers,

Patrick Schmidt
The House of Brews
Operations Manager
Office - 212.245.0564
Email - PSchmidt@hkhgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great little bar”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

There is a huge variety of beers and we enjoyed every one we tried. There is a very relaxed atmosphere. The food looked good but we didn't try any. The girl behind the bar was friendly and efficient and remembered us even though we'd only been once 3 days before. Will be our "local" the next time we're in NYC.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank no1riggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, Manager at The House of Brews, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hey there!

We just wanted to drop a quick line and say thanks for reviewing the House of Brews here on Trip Advisor & for some of the nice things you had to say after your recent visit. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed the bar and friendly service.

Feedback, good or bad , is very important for us to be able to grow & better our establishment! Thank you again. We look forward to you joining us again during your next trip in from the UK!

Cheers,

Patrick Schmidt
The House of Brews
Office - 212.245.0564
Email - PSchmidt@HKHGroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House of Brews also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The House of Brews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing