We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Half price sushi, need I say more?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sushi Lounge - CLOSED

Sushi Lounge
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: East Village
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
567 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Half price sushi, need I say more?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This place will not win any awards for its sushi or maki, and the inside looks average at best. But you come here for the price. We had heard that this place had half price sushi so we decided to check it out. Rolls were $4 - $10 so we ordered 3 and some chicken and asparagus. We figured that was half price. We were wrong, when we got the bill it was half off of that even! Pretty sweet deal, our total came to $19!! And the taste was good. A little better than average. There was decent creativity to the rolls too! If you aren't trying to drop a hundred bucks on 2 people but still want good sushi in NYC come to Sushi Lounge.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HanKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
162 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Most affordable sushi place ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Though this restaurant may not have the greatest sushi in the world, the price can't be beat! I would go here every day if I lived in NYC!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank USCTrojansFan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Very Good Everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Once in a while, you stumble onto a restaurant that does everything right. Sushi Lounge in New York's East Village is such a place. Great food, great service, great local, great prices. There are plenty of sushi places in this area and most of them offer decent food and good service. But none of those I've tried (so far) come close to Sushi Lounge.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joakim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
275 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
“Not fancy, but good food and great prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

I happened on this place during a business trip and was not disappointed. The Dragon Rolls were fresh and tasty, and the udon noodle soup arrived piping hot and full of veggies, chicken, and shrimp. The only disappointment was the cabernet -- tasted like bargain basement wine, but can you really expect good wine in a storefront Japanese restaurant?

Service was attentive, and the restaurant was generally clean.

I'd recommend Sushi Lounge for a quick and inexpensive lunch or dinner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Louis59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great bargain for fresh sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Went there with my wife to have a late night dinner. The prices are very reasonable (50% all day, every day as long as you spend over 8$ per person after discount). The food was fresh because of the high turnover rate. The selection is not just sushi as they do have Ramen and other dishes. Quality of the food was good but I wouldn't compare it to a fancy sushi restaurant.

The waitresses do ask regularly if you wanted something else without being annoying. Pint of Kirin was less than 2.50$ with their "Happy Hour" promotion (After 10pm until closing)

They had something I don't see on the typical sushi menu (Natto), so I had to have a Natto roll.

The restaurant is open at least until Midnight although it did thin out after 11:30.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psychephylax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing