We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food at a reasonable rate.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bangkok House

Bangkok House
Ranked #2,005 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 8th and 9th Avenues
Transit: A, C, E, 1, 2, 3, S, 7, N, Q, R to 42nd St. Times Square
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable rate.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

On a recent visit to New York, this was the only restaurant I went to twice. The food was great at a reasonable rate. The service was excellent. I couldn't fault anything except that they were waiting for there Liquor Lic and could not serve alcohol. This problem will be solved by the end of Feb 2013. Short walk from times square.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkF54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    74
    17
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Saw it in a city guide and decided to try it. Great food, reasonably priced. Glad we tried it. The red curry had a nice flavor, a bit different from others I have had in the past.

Helpful?
Thank ajgeek65
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Cheap but quality has gone downhill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you care more about finding a really cheap meal than good food, this place might be OK for you. They have very cheap for New York dinner specials...ranging from $10.95 to $15.95 or more depending on the time you arrive, and include several courses.
We had been going here since discovering it at least 8 years ago, and it seems to have experienced a management change along the way or simply cutting costs and quality, but it has definitely gone downhill and declined in quality since we started going there. We went back on our Jan. 2013 trip after not having been there in about 3 years. There used to be fresh orchids at each table, and a clean, white airy feeling to the room. The room has been changed and now has an ugly dark bar taking up half of the front of the room, which is strange since they actually don't have a licence, at least not when we were there. Perhaps they had one but lost it at some point? Not sure why else you would install a huge bar when you cant serve alcohol. Back wall now has an ugly mirror all over it and big ugly dangling chandelier that definitely doesn't go with the clean, spare look the place used to have.
We ordered the pre-theatre special, for about $15. 95 includes spring roll or dumplings, soup, salad, main course and dessert. But the quality of the food, which had so impressed us when we first started going here, has sadly declined. My coconut soup was mostly broth and had only a few pieces of chicken and tasted too salty. Salad was OK if not exciting, with a lot of peanut sauce. My main course, chicken with cashew nuts, was drowning in an extremely salty soy sauce dressing that left my mouth burning from the high sodium. Nice green tea ice cream for dessert. I realize that for $15.95 in new york, that's a steal, but just wanted to warn people not to expect great Thai food. IT will fill you up but I've had far better and will probably skip this place on my next visit. There must be better Thai in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ok, but not great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I visited Bangkok House on a recent trip to New York, and having seen many positive reviews on Trip Advisor I had high hopes for a great meal.
First impressions weren't great: we were seated quickly but then waited quite a long time for our waitress to bring the menus. It was a cold evening and the restaurant seemed rather cold and draughty (we were seated near the windows at the front and should probably have asked to be moved).
After we had finally ordered we were informed that they have no alcohol license - rather disappointing as a thai meal is not the same without a cold Chang!
Our food arrived quite promptly. We had a the mixed starters and a mango salad. The mixed starters were ok apart from the spring rolls: I don't know what the filling was (some kind of vegetable mush) but it was revolting. The salad was nice, but I had asked for it extra spicy, and it wasn't.
The main courses were a definite let down: tamarind duck was chewy and the sauce was bitter and unpleasant. The chicken massaman curry was over- sweet and a strange grey colour. Portions were enormous: they definitely put quantity over quality. We did get a complimentary tea at the end on the meal which was a nice touch.
Overall it was a bit of a disappointment, which was a shame as the restaurant looks very pretty, is in a great location, and the staff were very friendly. Maybe we just chose badly, but I can't help thinking that there must be better Thai food in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1bsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
192 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food at a Good Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We ate early and had the fixed price menu, which was an extremely good value. We had eaten here before and eaten off the regular menu and thought that was a good value also. We don't usually eat dessert and had the fried bananas. Neither my husband nor I would recommend them. But everything else was tastey. The service was good and the staff was friendly. The location is within a short walk of the theater district.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pecan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok House also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bangkok House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing