We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy during happy hour!”
Review of Mermaid Oyster Bar

Mermaid Oyster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Mermaid Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #141 of 15,923 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: Bleecker and Houston
Description: The Mermaid Inn is a spot-on rendition of a casual New England fish shack, complete with style, warm hospitality and classic seafood fare.
Reviewed July 13, 2018

Pleasant atmosphere and attentive wait staff during our visit. The clams were fresh and clean. The oysters were very good as well. The fish in the fish tacos were a little too well done but still ok. I tried one of the specialty drinks (spicy ginger rum drink) and loved it.
I would highly recommend this place for a casual lunch and/or happy hour. For happy hour, the “bartender’s choice” oysters were very reasonably priced.
Enjoy! It’s worth the trip!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 236 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2018 via mobile

We made a reservation for 5 pm and a great culinary experience started shortly after.

Our order: octopus,tuna crude, 4 types of oysters, fried calamari,lobster tacos and total of five flutes of sparkling wine.

Food: very fresh, tasty, nicely presented, oysters could have not tasted better, calamari and octopus cooked to perfection.

Service: very professional, attentive without pressing us to pay the bill.

Overall: highly recommended !

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank KitchenView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

I've been here a few times for their great happy hour from 5-7. Their oysters are fresh and their calamari and lobster rolls are SO GOOD, some of the best I've had in the city. Ideal for date night or girls night. They open at 5, so if you want to get a good spot, get there on time because this places fills up!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank EmilyBrillanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

We'd been eyeing this spot for a while - finally pulled the trigger on a beautiful Monday night. We got in around 6:20 and were greeted with a 30-45 minute wait. Grabbed a couple glasses of white and waited no more then 30 minutes for our table. Monday's endless happy hour was an unexpected treat, as we were on the hunt for shellfish and wine. The oysters and clams were great, and we also had a couple of the happy hour snacks. Calamari was tasty and crispy, the friend clam slider interestingly tasty and the shrimp corn-dog coming in at a 'different' third.

We will definitely be back, no doubt.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nps114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

The tuna appetizer was very fresh and tasty. Perfect for a summer night. We split the kale salad, which was the perfect size for two. My wife had the salmon which was moist and came with a very flavorful sauce/broth. I had the lobster roll- fresh tasty lobster, great roll, way too many fries! All in all, a very good meal

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank mike-peg-eat-out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mermaid Oyster Bar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Mermaid Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing