We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrific classy place on the Upper West Side”
Review of Dovetail

Dovetail
Reserve with OpenTable
Dovetail is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #559 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $58 - $135
Cuisines: American, French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: Columbus Avenue
Transit: B & C trains to 81st Street and 1 train to 79th Street.
Description: Dovetail is a Michelin-starred restaurant operated by chef and proprietor John Fraser. Serving contemporary American fare through various prix fixe menus and located on Manhattan's Upper West Side, Dovetail received three stars from The New York Times as well as its first Michelin star in the 2011 New York Guide. Recently, Dovetail was recognized by The World of Fine Wine and given three out of three stars at the World's Best Wine List 2015.
London
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A terrific classy place on the Upper West Side”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

There were three of us and two had the vegetarian tasting menu and one had the chef's tasting menu. Both were perfectly coordinated with one another. The highlights were a truffle risotto and a braised carrot that was simply out of this world. There were a few dull points in the proceedings - the swordfish tasted more of the sea than I would've wanted and the pumpkin tart was too dry. The service was terrific and the atmosphere lively without being over bearing. However, at $525 for three people it's a little pricey.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WilliamAllen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    105
    44
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“European Style and Cuisine in Manhatten”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The highly civilized stylish décor immediately invites you to enjoy and expect the superb cuisine to follow. The menu was complete but not so extensive as to overwhelm. Every dish was very well prepared and delicious. The wine list is quite good and the deserts were sublime.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sobederm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sunday Sundaes”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Sundays are not usually my favorite dayS but the recommendation of Dovetail intrigued me. We were welcomed by the gorgeous display of fresh flowers,and our reservation honored right on timely by an extremely helpful wait staff. My fish was cooked to perfection and we were surprised
by dessert - I was not happy by any of the choices of ice cream but that was not a problem - my favorite all American chocolate ice cream sundae with hot fudge and fresh whipped cream topped with a cherry was graciously presented to me and I savored every bite. What a great
restaurant - whether or not you are not a foodie!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nssgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“No Michelinstar worthy in Europe”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

You hope that the Michelin stars restaurants has the same level all over the world but in N.Y. it is more how many people can we serve in as little time as possible at high prices. Three staff members at the entrance and no one ask for your coat, placing at a table looking to a wall and no space between the tables. We've got another table from a friendly hospitality staff member. The pictures at the website of the food is not the food which you receive from the menu card. Only the amuse has a touch of this pictures. Served our four courses dinner by different staff members and each time wrong served, we were with two people!!!! This kind of restaurant definitely gets no star with his kind of service and food in Europe and I'm curious what happens in November 2013.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank georgebilthoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Could be better. Should be better”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Let me start off. The place is beautiful. The wine list is great. Food very good. My only problem this night was the service tried but they forgot things and I was always asking for things twice. Other than the less than perfect service. Dovetail is a very nice place u should try

Helpful?
Thank daryn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dovetail also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Dovetail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing