We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't Be Back”
Review of Cacio e Vino

Cacio e Vino
Reserve with OpenTable
Cacio e Vino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,634 of 13,830 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: East Village
Cross street: Between 4th and 5th Streets
Transit: Take L train to 1st Avenue, then take the M15 bus south to East 1st Street. Walk west to 2nd Avenue and up to 4th Street.
Description: Named 2008’s best Sicilian restaurant by Italy’s elite judge of cuisine, the Accademia Italiana della Cucina, Cacio e Vino is the East Village’s choice venue for fine Sicilian wine and cuisine. Cacio e Vino has broadened its menu to include the traditional Bucatini con le sarde, and 13 varieties of the singular Nero d’Avola wine, ‘the most important red grape wine in Sicily.’ Created in 2006 by Sicilian-born Giusto Priola and managed with his partner Alessandro Ancona, this 50-seat enclave is perfect for serving delicious dinner and weekend lunches in its singular Sicilian style. Knowledgeable, first-rate service accompanies impeccable house-made pastas, traditional Sicilian caponata, and rich cassata in an intimate, understatedly elegant dining area. With its prime location and singularly Sicilian flair, Cacio e Vino is a dining experience like no other.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Won't Be Back”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Went with the family (four) for a celebratory dinner. They provided what seemed to be old bread. They have a menu with "small" dinner plates at regular dinner plate prices. Be warned; they are smaller than the appetizers. Outside of the smaller plates, there's not much of a selection. Good thing I had a http://restaurant.com voucher because the meal definitely was not worth the cost. I won't be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank josephga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    26
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Sicilian food”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

A friend of ours recommended this place and he was right! Excellent food with homemade pasta noodles. Portions were generous. We visited on a Monday night and it wasn't crowded. We had made reservations before leaving on our trip, but it wasn't necessary. Good ambience with the tables open to the street. It was just a perfect start to our weeklong trip to NYC. We will definitely visit again when we go back. Ciao!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryEvelynD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great lower east side Italian food!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

A friend took me there - first time for both of us. The restaurant is very cozy and serves Sicilian food. The service was very nice and helpful. We shared an appetizer, an eggplant dish that was excellent. We both chose to have home made pasta - I had spaghetti with pesto and my friend had it with peas and cheese. Her dish came served in a hugh wheel of cheese.
Everything was delicious (we are both Italian American and know good Italian food!). For dessert, we had a type of pannecotta. Very delicious.

If you are in the neighborhood, this is a great place to try. Reasonable prices. Good service and very good food. I would certainly go back.

I took the F train to Second Avenue and it was only a couple of blocks away.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NycRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The food was very good here. The menu had a very nice selection. The wine list had some excellent choices on it, but was a bit on the pricy side. The cheaper ones were around $44. Enjoyed the meal and would go back.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank FuzzleyFuzzington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“You have to like Sicilian”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We selected this restaurant because we love Sicilian red wine, and we were really pleased with the choices as well as the wine we had. We decided that Sicilian cuisine is different and we will not become great fans of it. But I'm sure it was well prepared and spot on for the discerning palate. The restaurant is warm and pleasant. Service is attentive, Sicilian and friendly. The East Village is calmer than the West, and seemingly populated by real people, especially on the side streets. We loved the experience overall as did the friends we were with.

And, we arrived early, so sat outside next door at Nomad to have a glass of Sangria. What a neighborhood of good flavor!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cacio e Vino also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cacio e Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing