We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Havana nights in the Village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cuba

Cuba
Reserve with OpenTable
Cuba is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #191 of 13,488 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Cuban, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: Bleecker
Transit: 6 to Bleecker, 1,9 to Christopher Street, A,,B,C,D,E,F to West 4th
Description: The romantic Milieu of Cuba effortlessly transports you from Manhattan to Havana. Cuba offers live music and a menu filled with delicious traditional cuisine. The restaurant offers a fascinating and charming escape to its own "Little Havana on Thompson Street".
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Havana nights in the Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

A salsa band on Friday and Saturday nights, a cigar roller in the corner, attentive and charming waiters and delicious cuban cuisine make this place a wonderful experience!
Try to get a table on the first floor where you can hear the live band. The basement is ok but lacks the atmosphere. They also have 3 private rooms for bigger groups. The menu offers a good selection of tasty starters, excellent seafood and meat dishes, decadent desserts and one of the best Mojitos outside of Cuba (besides other great cocktails).
We will definitely dine there again when we come back to NYC.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nicideluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    116
    22
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyside, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What happened!?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was by far one of my favorite places to dine in NYC for the past 7 years. I was disappointed however, the last few times that I have dined there. My sister was served her appetizer after we had already begun our main course. The crab cakes were severely over cooked. The molten chocolate was clearly pre-cooked and then microwaved to serve. I was shocked as this item typically takes about 20 minutes to cook and they brought me one in less than five minutes. The taste and texture was horrible and the chocolate sauce that was supposed to ooze out like molten lava, was mostly dried up and barely visible inside of the cake.
The ceviche is still amazing as was the churrasco. I wonder if the multiple changes in Management over the years has anything to do with the slow decline of the excellence that I was accustomed to at this restaurant?
Since the past few times have not been what I've come to love from this place, it is doubtful that I will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MixedGirlNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
355 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Great meal, worth another visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Well seasoned, imaginatively chosen items, served by friendly staff. If want to talk, ask for a table in the back room

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amosesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saintfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A must NOT eat in NYC”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Don,t understand why this place gets so many good reviews maybe everyone comes out of it half sloshed as the drink is pushed as much as the food. The wee old man who served us didn,t speak much , maybe he was just fed up. But the food was just ok chopped up steak fried and mixed with onions and some potato a house special but not very special. The noise from other diners added to the music must have been close to 80 decebils fine for a pub not a resturant . There is a lot better in Greenwich.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank pgtips451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest City, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must eat Visit in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I visited here when I traveled to NYC in 2012. I was looking for great Cuban food and I believe I discovered Cuba when I was researching Yelp before my trip. Wow! What an amazing place. Best meal I had during my 11 days in NYC. From the mango martini to the empanadas to the plantains & the scrumptious Ropa Vieja, it was just wonderful. At the time the had a 50% off special through scoutmob app. That has expired I believe, but I plan to return here when I am in NYC again in November this year. Already thinking about what I will order this time. Per usual for NYC prices are higher, but the food is do worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miles2Go2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuba also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing