We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure how it can last on Restaurant Row”
Review of Sangria 46

Sangria 46
Reserve with OpenTable
Sangria 46 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #640 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: between 8th and 9th Ave.
Transit: C & E trains to 50th Street.
Description: Sangria 46 offers the cuisine of Spain and Latin America in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Open for lunch and dinner 7 days a week, we serve a delicious array of seafood, meat, and vegetarian tapas and entrees, as well as paella and prix-fixe menus. We also feature an extensive selection of sangrias, wines, cocktails, and beers. Enjoy sitting at the bar, in the main dining room, or outside on the patio.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not sure how it can last on Restaurant Row”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our meal began when we were told they didn't have lettuce to make salads.

We tried to order the chips and salsa listed on the menu, but were told they were complimentary. Unfortunately, there were only 8 chips in the basket. The salsa was watery.

The chicken empanadas were bland. Ordered the jalapenos with cheddar cheese, only to have them served with a cream cheese or something. When we inquired about it, we were told it was melted cheddar, but the flavor was clearly inconsistent.

Beware- no free refills on soda, and they don't serve unsweetened iced tea.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    164
    40
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Price”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our friends, my wife and I ate an early supper at Sangria 46. We chose from the prix fixe menu, that included an appetizer, main course and desert. The food was great and the Sangria out of this world. If I had just paid more attention to the happy hour sign we probably all would have staggered out with four pitchers of Sangria. They have a cozy atmosphere and friendly wait staff. We will most certainly eat and drink (Sangria) here again!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentlyOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A little something extra”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had lunch here last weekend and all I can say is wow. The sangria's are just plain delicious and the food is too. Wait staff was attentive and very friendly. Food was prepared to perfection. At the end of the meal, the waiter came over with complimentary vodka with pineapple. A very nice treat and totally unexpected. The price of the entire meal was less than $100 for 4 people. This included 2 pitchers of happy hour priced sangria.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank emoe0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Spanish food”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

As a NYer, you try to avoid Restaurant Row on 46th St off Broadway. It's full of restaurants that cater to tourists. Sangria 46 is and is not. When you walk in there's locals at the bar and at the tables alongside the tourists. The service is quick and helpful. We ordered Paella Valencia. There were 4 of us but we ordered for 2 and it was more than enough. Chicken was tender and the seafood not overcooked. We also ordered some tapas which come in a tiered plate to save room on the table. Calamari - a little dry; Sardines - not like in Spain too many bones and Croquettas de Yuca with Spinach and cheese - very good. The sangria was delish should have ordered the extra large. There is outdoor seating - will have to go back in the summer. For economical and good Spanish food try this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnahidA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sangria& prefix theater menu”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Delicious food. Great service! We had a hard time choosing which entre to get. We decided on a seafood stew. It came in a little pot and was full of clams mussels calamari and shrimp. The sangria was awesome. I want to go back to try the salmon and paella. Nice atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sangria 46 also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sangria 46? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing