We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of West Side YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
West Side YMCA
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Perfectly situated in the Upper West Side. Friendly and helpful staff. Great fitness facilities. The bathrooms are a bit odd to figure out, every floor is different!

Love the lounge area for breakfasts.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Linh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,328)
There are newer reviews for West Side YMCA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

So, I generally stay in budget accommodation, but I was ready to pay a bit more for this trip... but, not ready to pay the NYC "more" of $200/night. This was the only thing I could afford.

It was probably as basic as it could get without being gross, or not good.

No bugs. Clean sheets. Nice (enough) staff. Good location.
One bathroom (3 stalls) for the whole floor was a bit uncool. And, the shower doors were fairly transparent.
Couples, beware that you will be sharing a bunk bed. I am pretty sure that you can take the top bunk off, and connect it to the bottom one to make a double bed (causing a fire hazard), but we didn't bother.

All in all, if you can get a nicer hotel, do it. But, this one "works."

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank smfische
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hi, been there 3 nights in NY City. Room is very small given the price with double bunk beds, Aircondition and TV. Floor bathroom and toilet was a bit messy but not very crowded. Nice selection of food in small market downstairs, self-service. You definitly do not want to spend more time in the room than necessary, maybe others are nicer, but downstairs theres a nice lobby, TV, internet place, and somewhere also gym, pool and conference rooms.... 1 Minute to Southern Central Park, 20 min walking to Times Square, great to explore the city!!! Paid 100+ Dollars per night, therefore only three stars!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank Stephan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hostel is in a very good location, close to central park and the subway station. Other than that everything else was poor. I stayed in a single room which was a decent size, but decoration was very sparse and kind of felt like a prison cell. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The air conditioning/heating didn't work and when I asked at the front desk they promised to send an engineer to fix it. No one ever arrived! There was a lot of noise from outside, a constant buzzing. The bathrooms were not very clean and there was no ventilation in there which meant it was very damp and sticky. I'm sure I could have gotten somewhere better for the price I paid here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

“First you can this hostel can start by taking down either very old or 'staged' room photos- It doesn't look anything close to that level cleanliness or esthetics / The Westside YMCA is a very scary place to stay and perhaps a ripe place to catch catch SARS or MERSA-. The entire hostel needed repairs, upgrading, carpet and for God's sake, more than the nasty filthy 4 stalls shared bathrooms for 50 guest rooms on each floor!! The dorms were a clean enough 'crash pad' but you get an F for the bathrooms. GLOOMY!!”

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lele767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

I thought that it being under the name hostel that this place would have a social environment but it is extremely hard to meet other people as a solo traveller. The bathrooms are the worst I have seen, almost threw up from the smell when I first walked in. The showers are horrible and fluctuate from boiling hot to cold with no shower head making the pressure sometimes painful and no where to store your clothes. The location is great because it is in the centre of things but the transportation around new york is super easy so you do not need to stay heee just because of the location. The beds have wheels on them which is so annoying everytime I moved in bed I would scoot across the floor. Beds are rock hard and have had a sore back and neck everyday when waking up. Never going to stay here again

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank 15gemmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

First time in New York. The hostel was very basic with a great location right next to central park. Had a very difficult check in with the extremely rude and unfriendly Diane. Her attitude upset both myself and fellow female friend who I was travelling with. She put a bitter start to our first night in the YMCA hostel and we had considered checking out after our dealings with her. We were relieved to meet the other more friendly staff the next day and then decided we would stay for the remainder of our four nights. Overall a safe and clean hostel, very cheap for accommodation in New York. I would recommend this hostel to my friends and people travelling on a budget.

Room Tip: Book early for a room with an en-suite.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydiamoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#359 of 468 in New York City
201 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#343 of 468 in New York City
6,153 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#308 of 468 in New York City
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#383 of 468 in New York City
642 reviews
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#20 of 163 in New York City
1,330 reviews
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#22 of 163 in New York City
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side YMCA

Address: 5 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7162
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range: $93 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — West Side YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Central Park West and steps from the Columbus Circle transit hub, our New York hostel guest rooms offer private Single and Bunk rooms that provide a home away from home for nearly 130,000 International and Domestic budget travelers each year. Our ideal location in NYC allows guests to enjoy the beauty of Central Park, the energy of Times Square and world famous cultural institutions including Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Natural History. As a hotel guest of the West Side YMCA, you can enjoy FREE use of our 65,000 square foot Health and Wellness Facility - including two indoor swimming pools. We're easily accessible to all NYC public transportation - uptown, downtown, cross-town buses, and the 1,A,C,E,B,D,N subway lines.Guest Rooms Facilities Include Cable TV, Shared Bathrooms on each floor (some private facilities)Air-conditioning, Housekeeping - Clean Linens and Towels provided. Elevator BuildingAround the clock check-in 24 hour security Free WiFi in lobby area Safe Deposit boxes No Curfew ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your West Side YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Side Ymca Hotel New York City
Ymca New York
New York City Ymca
Ymca West Side New York
Ymca Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing