We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, nice, good location”
Review of West Side YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
West Side YMCA
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The best thing of booking this hostel is the closeness of Central Park which is just a few minutes away from it. Also the prices are very cheap, so you can't expect too much but you get what you pay for. They have single and shared rooms so I had a single room as unusual for most hostels. The room was not that clean but also not dirty, just as normal for a hostel. As far as I remember I had wifi only in the entrance area, that sucked a bit since it was hard for me to stay in contact with my friends and family at home. The service was ok, the gym was pretty good, better than expected. It wasn't crowded at all and they had lots of different stuff over there so even older people could work for a long time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,328)
There are newer reviews for West Side YMCA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

Excellent location. Very close to Central Park. Housekeeping would talk very loud in the mornings which would wake you up. They would sometimes give us 1 clean towel for two people.
Good choice if you're not going to plan on staying in the rooms during the day. This has the potential to be a great hostel; they just need to fix/renovate the bathrooms, make their wifi stronger, improve housekeeping and create a more exciting atmosphere for guests.

Room Tip: Stay on a floor that has already been renovated.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed here with some friends for two reasons - it was cheap and the location was excellent. For young travelers without a lot of money, it completely did the job. There were shared bathroom facilities on each floor and although they weren't the most appealing of facilities, they were clean and for four nights in New York the whole trip became so much cheaper!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MI93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We booked this place for the Thanksgiving holidays due to its proximity to well, everything. As reviewed by many others, the hotel was just a short distance away from the metro, next to Central Park, and within walking distance to many attractions. The Macy's parade went by literally right in front of us, so it was a big plus.
Well, the pros sort of end there. There was no hot water, and NYC is freezing by this time of the month. I had a guess that they didn't provide hot water so that you'll be able to jump in and out of the shower as fast as you could??? Anyways, it was a pain going to the cold shower each time. The bathrooms were dirty although the cleaning ladies do come in, although i don't see them cleaning the showers. The walls were pretty thin in the rooms, so you could basically hear everything going on in the hallways and next door. One weird thing was that we had a bunk bed. Well... there was no ladder going up the top bunk which makes me wonder why they would provide a bed that was so hard to get up to each night. The bed was on wheels making the climb just a bit more difficult.

All in all i would say, if you are looking for just a place to crash, this may be the place. But if you are the kind of person who wants a hot shower and a comfy bed after a tiring day in NYC, you might want to consider some place else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fleurbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Spent a couple nights there right before New Year's Eve so I thought the hostel would be very crowded but it was very quiet. We were on the 9th floor and our room was very clean, which is my number one priority. The room was right next to the elevators but we were not bothered by them at all. The rooms are all private (2 persons) and he location is perfect, it is right next to Central Park and Columbus Circle and on a quiet street. You can leave your baggage there the day you check out for only a dollar. I would definitely recommend this hostel!! The only downside was that the bathroom and showers on our floor were dirty.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed at the YMCA Westside in New York with a friend of mine for New Years. It was advertised as a hotel, however our PRIVATE room at $125 p/night didn't even have a bathroom in it! Our bunk bed was on wheels and moved all over the tiny room everytime one of us rolled over. The hot water wasn't working at all over our 5 night stay and the cold showers we were forced to take were in showers with see through glass doors or had shower curtains that didn't reach across the shower so we had no privacy from other guests. The heat in our room didn't work. I asked for extra blankets multiple times only to have the rude staff ignore my request everytime. Staff were very rude with no customer service skills whatsoever and gave false information about the area. The Wifi didn't work at all. We were both harassed on multiple occasion by strange men in the lobby of this hotel. Neither of us could get a phone signal and were forced to go outside in -4 degree weather each time we needed to use our phones. It was very unclean and the day I arrived I stepped in a puddle of sticky liquid on the bedroom floor. I urge people NOT to stay here. I have travelled all over the USA staying in hostels and this is by far the worst experience I have had!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teagan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

A friend and I travelled to New York for New Years this year. We had booked the ymca, expecting fairly budget but somewhat good accommodation (for the rather expensive price). Unfortunately we were disappointed and disgusted. The showers were cold and the shower glass is see through in the shared bathrooms, the bunk bed rolled around the floor when we moved, the room was TINY, staff we're rude and we generally felt unsafe staying there. Next time, I will be paying much less to stay in a hostel which far exceeds the ymca.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#357 of 468 in New York City
201 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#342 of 468 in New York City
6,152 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#311 of 468 in New York City
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 468 in New York City
642 reviews
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#20 of 163 in New York City
1,329 reviews
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#21 of 163 in New York City
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side YMCA

Address: 5 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7162
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range: $93 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — West Side YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Central Park West and steps from the Columbus Circle transit hub, our New York hostel guest rooms offer private Single and Bunk rooms that provide a home away from home for nearly 130,000 International and Domestic budget travelers each year. Our ideal location in NYC allows guests to enjoy the beauty of Central Park, the energy of Times Square and world famous cultural institutions including Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Natural History. As a hotel guest of the West Side YMCA, you can enjoy FREE use of our 65,000 square foot Health and Wellness Facility - including two indoor swimming pools. We're easily accessible to all NYC public transportation - uptown, downtown, cross-town buses, and the 1,A,C,E,B,D,N subway lines.Guest Rooms Facilities Include Cable TV, Shared Bathrooms on each floor (some private facilities)Air-conditioning, Housekeeping - Clean Linens and Towels provided. Elevator BuildingAround the clock check-in 24 hour security Free WiFi in lobby area Safe Deposit boxes No Curfew ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your West Side YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Side Ymca Hotel New York City
Ymca New York
New York City Ymca
Ymca West Side New York
Ymca Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing