We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for quality-price rate, considering it's NYC”
Review of West Side YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
West Side YMCA
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Ok if you don't stay in the room more than it's needed to sleep.
Room: tiny, beds are very noisy, air conditioning sounds like it is going to fly out of the window. Very loud. Otherwise, quite clean and okay.
Restrooms: no restrooms in the rooms. The common ones are okay, nothing more to add. Well, what would you expect from the hostel? A lot of them were out of order, but that didn't cause any queues.
Wifi: nonexistent in the rooms. Only in the lobby.
Location: great. Close to underground and central park. A 15 min walk to the Times sqr.
Lounge area: quite nice, and a self-service area where one can buy something to eat is handy.

To sum it up, if I come to NYC once again (which is unlikely), I could decide to stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romashhka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace R, Guest Relations Manager at West Side YMCA, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review the West Side Y! We appreciate the feedback, and take these reviews into consideration in the improvements we are working on making around the building.

I'm glad you enjoyed the location, we love being so close to Central Park! It sounds like you stayed in a room with a shared bathroom. We do have rooms available with semi private and private bathrooms as well. I understand that the wifi signal isn't strong in all of the rooms, we are working on boosting our wifi system so that it works with strong signal everywhere. Our lounge and lobby area do have a great wifi signal though if you are having trouble connecting in the room.

I'm glad you enjoyed the lounge! We often times have live music scheduled in the lounge - for a listing of upcoming free concerts you can check here: http://www.ymcanyc.org/westside/pages/WSYLounge.

Thanks again for the comments. If you have any additional concerns or questions please feel free to reach out to me at Grochford@ymcanyc.org.

Best,

Grace Rochford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great location, just 150 m from the Central Park and a short way to Columbus Circle subway. Our room wasn't hoovered and it was very small but we got used to that. There was a smell all the time if you didn't put the air cooler on and beds were hard and noisy. Bathrooms were cleaned up twice a day, after morning and on the evenings.
Nevertheless, we had shower and sauna every morning on 3rd floor, where are also dressing rooms for the gym. And there's not just a plain gym, but also 3 cardio rooms, 2 group training rooms, a place for stretching, a hall for basket ball and gymnastics, running race above it, a place for boxing, playing fields for squash and racket ball, two swimming pools... huh, did I mention everything? I doubt.
We did our workout almost every day, sometimes twice a day and took part to spinning etc. We saved a huge amount of money during two weeks we visited 'cos we didn't have to go elsewhere. Using all of those are included the room price!
Downstairs there's a little shop where you'll find everything you need from breakfast light dinner. You just pick up what you want and the machine tells you how much is it -then you either return it or pay it with a credit card or a special card to which you can put cash. You can't pay with plain cash. And staff was very friendly if you have anything to question.
Dirty and smelly room dropped points from 4 to 3, sport facilities are defenately worth of 5 stars.

Room Tip: There was renovation in some floors and some of rooms were more modern than ours. Still we were luck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace R, Guest Relations Manager at West Side YMCA, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hi Miika,

Thanks for reviewing your stay at the West Side YMCA!

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the gym facilities, and thanks for sharing all of the different activities we have to offer! Happy to hear you were able to make it to some of our group exercise classes, we have over 100 classes each week that are free and available for our guests. For more details about the class schedule you can look here: http://b.3cdn.net/ymcanewyork/d0a41d1f983ffb9101_drm6bneve.pdf.

Thanks again for the review, and if you have any other concerns please feel free to email me directly at Grochford@ymcanyc.org.

Best,

Grace Rochford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We hadn't stayed in the Y in a while. Meantime, my wife and I have gotten old and decrepit and stove up and had no business staying in a room with bunk beds (Our last time at the Westside YMCA, we had a double bed and our own bath). But we tried it anyway because hotel prices in Manhattan have gone through the roof. We actually had spent several nights in a luxurious place as part of our timeshare. But we didn't have quite enough points to cover our full stay. And we didn't want to spend our last nights across the river on Long Island, relying on the subway, or in Jersey, taking the train, even though those hotels/motels are nearer the price we're used to on the Interstate. The room was small, and the bath was down the hall (but you could lock yourself in). So we got what we paid for in Manhattan. We go far enough back to the days when our guidebook was, literally, "New York on Five Dollars a Day." We didn't go quite that skimpily even back then, but we remember much, much, much, much, much less expensive days -- and nights -- in NYC.

Room Tip: Unless you're under 23, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

It's near subway stations, my bedroom view was Central Park, you don't need to pay taxes because it is a place that help people.
I love to stay there, it was a private bedroom with semi-private bathroom.
You can go wherever you want and came back to the hostel in a while.

Room Tip: Reserve with advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace R, Guest Relations Manager at West Side YMCA, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hi Vivian,

Thanks for your kind review! We are glad to hear you love staying at the Y, and would love to have you back!

If you have any other comments or questions please feel free to email me at Grochford@ymcanyc.org!

Best,

Grace Rochford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Hostel have a good location, next to the central park, that is a thing i could not complain about it. But the rooms are very tight and also a little dirty. The common bathroom was a total CAOS. There was piss all over the floor and the sink din't work for good. The staff is another thing that i could not complain about, very compressive...

Room Tip: If you wanna stay try the rooms on the seventh floor, it appears they have good rooms there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carloscerioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

All about location. Three blocks from Columbus Circle and between Broadway and Central Park West this is a good place to stay. I booked a semi-shared bathroom and private room and I have nothing to complain. To NY standards the facilicies are a little basic and simple, but in my opinion all good to what you pay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asdisaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was booked to stay in your hotel last week, but having spent 1/2 an hour there I checked out and found alternative accommodation. It was scary, I felt as a single female, totally unsafe. I would not recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank trevor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 470 in New York City
652 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#413 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#18 of 163 in New York City
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#24 of 163 in New York City
205 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#16 of 163 in New York City
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side YMCA

Address: 5 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7162
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range: $92 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — West Side YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Central Park West and steps from the Columbus Circle transit hub, our New York hostel guest rooms offer private Single and Bunk rooms that provide a home away from home for nearly 130,000 International and Domestic budget travelers each year. Our ideal location in NYC allows guests to enjoy the beauty of Central Park, the energy of Times Square and world famous cultural institutions including Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Natural History. As a hotel guest of the West Side YMCA, you can enjoy FREE use of our 65,000 square foot Health and Wellness Facility - including two indoor swimming pools. We're easily accessible to all NYC public transportation - uptown, downtown, cross-town buses, and the 1,A,C,E,B,D,N subway lines.Guest Rooms Facilities Include Cable TV, Shared Bathrooms on each floor (some private facilities)Air-conditioning, Housekeeping - Clean Linens and Towels provided. Elevator BuildingAround the clock check-in 24 hour security Free WiFi in lobby area Safe Deposit boxes No Curfew ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your West Side YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Side Ymca Hotel New York City
Ymca New York
New York City Ymca
Ymca West Side New York
Ymca Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing