We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun stay :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Side YMCA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added West Side YMCA to your Saves list
West Side YMCA
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   5 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fun stay :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Loved New York!!!! Came with friend to enjoy the City and we did not pay much attention to the accommodation... We were looking for simple, cheap place with good connection and we found it.... Its not a 5* place so we were not expecting WOW.... cool for students and people who don't complain much is just perfect!!! Thank you for a safe stay :))))

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    385
    357
    149
    130
See reviews for
93
196
324
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed couple of weeks ago...very good location, right on central park! ...place very basic but ok for European students... good fun and nice experience :) I wouldn't recommend but if you on the budged and travel easy - just go for it!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beata J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I had a terrible experience here for 2 reasons. To me, the worse one was that I was treated poorly by one person named Roman Vasquez because I'm a gay male. I booked and PAID for a room for three nights and my card was deactivated by him before my stay was over. I went down to the front desk to find out why and it was him! This wasted a lot of my time. The other thing is that I found a HUGE cockroach in my room. It was scurrying across the floor I kid you not! I'm really disappointed about my stay. If you don't mind being discriminated against by this individual, by all means stay here. He'll call security on you...seriously

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamboitaliono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Patna, Bihar, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This has a good location. Near the famous Central Park etc...Also relatively cheaper. However, the management staff is horrible. There are queues all the time. Security...well hell...This may be good for a short stay. Not recommended for family.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AonTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

If you're going to new York and plan on spending very little time in your room and more time out sightseeing, eating, drinking and pounding broadway then this is the place for you!!
The location is incredible!! Right on central park! I've stayed here twice and walked everywhere both times!
The rooms are very basic Abd there are shared bathrooms on the basic floors, but it's clean , safe, has a gym, pool and cafe and friendly reception staff! First time I went with a group of 40 students I was In charge of the entire group so safety was of the upmost importance especially as I just wanted to have a fab holiday with little worry or stress! It was so easy! I'd stay here everytime I visit NY !! There are premier rooms with private wash facilities on the upper floors if youre not looking for bunks , singles or shared bathrooms upgrade!! Definitely worth a visit!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KV76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here end of June with my sister. It was a really good location... within walking distance to Central Park and most of the Broadway theatres. Rooms and bathrooms are reasonably clean. Only thing was someone tried to break into our room... nothing was stolen as we kept all valuables in the safe-deposit box provided downstairs. We did lodge a complaint with the security and nothing happened after that.

Room Tip: Didn't use room service or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karynn-YH-Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This place is great. Clean and well maintained. Close to Central Park. Great friendly staff. Free Internet. If you don't mind the bath down the hall and the low price, then stay here. In the old days, the bathrooms were communal. No more. Private bath but not in your room. Great gym on the third floor with swimming pool and hot and dry sauna.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#436 of 478 in New York City
2.5 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#375 of 478 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#330 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 4,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#18 of 192 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#25 of 192 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side YMCA

Property: West Side YMCA
Address: 5 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 192 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — West Side YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Central Park West and steps from the Columbus Circle Travel hub, our New York hostel guest rooms offer private Single and Bunk rooms that provide a home away from home for nearly 130,000 International and Domestic budget travelers each year.Our ideal location in NYC allows guests to enjoy the beauty of Central Park, the energy of Times Square and world famous cultural institutions including Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Natural History. As a hotel guest of the West Side YMCA, you can enjoy FREE use of our 65,000 square foot Health and Wellness Facility - including two indoor swimming pools. We're easily accessible to all NYC public transportation - uptown, downtown, cross-town buses, and the 1,A,C,E,B,D,N subway lines.Guest Rooms Facilities IncludeCable TVShared Bathrooms on each floor (some private facilities)Air-conditioningHousekeeping - Clean Linens and Towels providedElevator BuildingAround the clock check-in24 hour securityFree WiFi in lobby areaSafe Deposit boxesNo Curfew ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity and ETB so you can book your West Side YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Side Ymca Hotel New York City
Ymca New York
New York City Ymca
Ymca West Side New York
Ymca Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing