We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!!”
Review of West Side YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Side YMCA
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

If you're going to new York and plan on spending very little time in your room and more time out sightseeing, eating, drinking and pounding broadway then this is the place for you!!
The location is incredible!! Right on central park! I've stayed here twice and walked everywhere both times!
The rooms are very basic Abd there are shared bathrooms on the basic floors, but it's clean , safe, has a gym, pool and cafe and friendly reception staff! First time I went with a group of 40 students I was In charge of the entire group so safety was of the upmost importance especially as I just wanted to have a fab holiday with little worry or stress! It was so easy! I'd stay here everytime I visit NY !! There are premier rooms with private wash facilities on the upper floors if youre not looking for bunks , singles or shared bathrooms upgrade!! Definitely worth a visit!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KV76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    439
    409
    175
    147
See reviews for
113
226
369
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here end of June with my sister. It was a really good location... within walking distance to Central Park and most of the Broadway theatres. Rooms and bathrooms are reasonably clean. Only thing was someone tried to break into our room... nothing was stolen as we kept all valuables in the safe-deposit box provided downstairs. We did lodge a complaint with the security and nothing happened after that.

Room Tip: Didn't use room service or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karynn-YH-Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This place is great. Clean and well maintained. Close to Central Park. Great friendly staff. Free Internet. If you don't mind the bath down the hall and the low price, then stay here. In the old days, the bathrooms were communal. No more. Private bath but not in your room. Great gym on the third floor with swimming pool and hot and dry sauna.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed for 8 nights in July 2012. I had a private room with a shared bath. The room was clean and quiet and I had a view of Central Park. there was a TV in my room. Where can you get that for about 100 USD in such a good location? They Y has a 65000 sq foot gym with amazing classes throughout the day with two swimming pools. The location is brilliant 1 min from central park and 2 mins from the lincoln center. It was perfect for what I wanted: a NY base. There are queues for the bathroom in the morning but the bathrooms are good quality. (good water pressure etc..) I also felt very safe staying here.

There is free wifi in the reception. The place does get full of student groups. The staff were excellent.

Downsides:- I did see a few cockroaches, but not in my room :-) The students can get a bit tiring. 8 nights was enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of CP. Ask for a room with a bathroom directly across the hall. (saves yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My boyfriend booked a room for one night there and he thought we would have two beds so we could join it and sleep together :) however when we opened the door to our room I was shoked... It was extremly small and there was a bunk bed... Ac didn't want to change the tempurature and kept 73 F. The room... it looked very old with blue paint. They have a fridge which is good.... Next night we spent in a good hotel and I felt finally very happy to sleep in a nice place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshutka52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Deventer, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We booked this hotel thrue a vacation agency. It is affordable and good situated. It offers a scale of sporting programs. The hotel has a nice old swimming pool and a coffee bar where you can have breakfast. The rooms are small, we had the shower and toilets in the hall. Nothing spoiled our good feeling about New York, I think this hotel fits in a city like this.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBraakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I've stayed at this Y on several occasions, and there is one main piece of advice I would give: Pay a few dollars extra and book a room on the 12th or 13th floors.
These rooms are still as small as the rooms on the lower floors, but these 2 floors were completely renovated a few years ago, and they are MUCH nicer than the rooms and washrooms on the lower floors. I paid $115 a night for a single room on the 13th floor.
Unlike the lower floors, where the washrooms are windowless, airless and always humid, these upper floors have a series of individual private bathrooms with shower along the hallway, and they have new tiles, fixtures etc. So you can go in and have the washroom and shower to yourself. I agree with other reviewers that the washrooms on the lower floors are BADLY in need of renovation. I stayed on the lower floors the first time I came here and hated the washrooms.
It's a shame the Y hasnt yet done the same thing on these lower floors to make the whole place nicer for everyone..
THe other option for anyone on a lower floor is to go down to the Y's great gym on floor 3 and use the showers down there...ONe of the advantages of staying here is that you have free access to the wonderful gym and pool facilities here, so I would always go down there and have a morning workout first thing in the morning anyway, use the cardio machines before heading out for the day. The staff there are very friendly and welcoming.
As I mentioned, the rooms on the top floor aren't any larger than the lower floors, but they feel fresher, with newer carpeting and new doors. My room was nicely cleaned each day with a fresh towel, and the window air conditioner worked fine...there were also roller blinds on the window to block out light in the morning.
Another tip: Bring some foam earplugs...I didnt need them this time, because it seemed it was mostly quiet guests on this floor on this trip, but I have been there before when there are student groups on the floor and they tend to bang their doors as they're all leaving at the same time...The window air conditioner helps to block that noise in the summer but in winter you really hear the hall noise..
But really, if you are on a budget and don't mind a tiny, dorm-room-sized room and just need a place to sleep, it's hard to get a better rate than $115 a night in NY.
As others have said, the location is superb,,not even half a block from central park on one side, near Lincoln Center on the other and a short walk to the subway that will take you quickly to TImes Square or south if you dont feel like walking...I walked home from theater every night and found it a nice walk.
UNlike others, I found the desk staff friendly and helpful when I checked in..They will also store your bags for you for $2 if you have to check out but dont have a flight until later in the day.
I was happy here and was able to spend the money I saved on theater and restaurants.
If you can't get a room on the upper two floors for when you're looking, I would probably recommend trying the vanderbilt y on 47th on the east side...It's been a few years since I stayed there but the communal washrooms were much cleaner and more pleasant there..they all had big windows for fresh air and were always clean when I used them.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room on the top 2 floors. It's worth it. If these floors aren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Steve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#368 of 466 in New York City
166 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#332 of 466 in New York City
6,016 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#297 of 466 in New York City
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#106 of 466 in New York City
1,253 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#437 of 466 in New York City
838 reviews
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#20 of 163 in New York City
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side YMCA

Property: West Side YMCA
Address: 5 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7162
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — West Side YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Central Park West and steps from the Columbus Circle transit hub, our New York hostel guest rooms offer private Single and Bunk rooms that provide a home away from home for nearly 130,000 International and Domestic budget travelers each year. Our ideal location in NYC allows guests to enjoy the beauty of Central Park, the energy of Times Square and world famous cultural institutions including Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Natural History. As a hotel guest of the West Side YMCA, you can enjoy FREE use of our 65,000 square foot Health and Wellness Facility - including two indoor swimming pools. We're easily accessible to all NYC public transportation - uptown, downtown, cross-town buses, and the 1,A,C,E,B,D,N subway lines.Guest Rooms Facilities Include Cable TV, Shared Bathrooms on each floor (some private facilities)Air-conditioning, Housekeeping - Clean Linens and Towels provided. Elevator BuildingAround the clock check-in 24 hour security Free WiFi in lobby area Safe Deposit boxes No Curfew ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and HotelsClick so you can book your West Side YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Side Ymca Hotel New York City
Ymca New York
New York City Ymca
Ymca West Side New York
Ymca Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing