We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Definitely worth it, if location is not an issue.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wales

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wales
Ranked #316 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Definitely worth it, if location is not an issue.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Finding good hotels in NYC is hard, but Hotel Wales was definitely worth it. The rooms are a decent size, are well maintained and have free wi-fi, they have a beautiful rooftop terrace and the staff is helpful and friendly. The only drawback for me is the location. Yes, it is only a block from Central Park and a lot of major museums, but if it is your first visit to NYC you may be better off paying more and staying downtown instead of on the upper east side. It is just a different experience. But overall I would stay here again if location doesn´t matter.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmos_Estrela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Hotel Wales with other like-minded travelers such as yourself. I am glad that you received great service from all members of our staff. Complimentary WI-FI internet access goes a long way in New York; I am glad that you were able to take advantage of that.

Please come visit us again during your future trips to New York. In the meantime I would like to wish you many safe and exciting future travels.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    246
    110
    54
    36
See reviews for
168
175
62
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Finding a hotel in New York on a budget is hard. Either the rooms are musty with suspicious odors, or they are tiny, corporate non-entities.

Enter, the Hotel Wales. Though this is an older hotel, it has been beautifully kept up. Wood scalloping on the window and door panes; marble touches; subway tile. Everything is spotlessly clean. Only the tired, old carpets could use a redo.

Our room was #904, and it is HUGE by New York standards. A bedroom AND a living room? With a door that closes between them??!! Be still my heart! We came with our 15 month old, and the pack n' play the hotel provided was perfect for her in the living room, while we enjoyed blissful nights in the bedroom.

Though a coffee/tea maker would be nice to have en-suite, the second floor lounge is so lovely, and the teas and coffees so tasty, that this amenity isn't really missed. And the rooftop terrace is truly a gem. Though we didn't spend much time up there due to the humidity, I can imagine take-away dinners with spectacular Central Park views would be a treat!

Having Sarabeths as the in-house restaurant ain't too shabby, and the fact that this hotel is walking distance to some of the best museums in the world makes it a real winner!

Finally, a word about the staff. To a man (and woman), they are helpful and are quick to fulfill every request. When I was checking out, I had been billed for the pack n' play, even though I was told on the phone that there would be no charge when I was booking the room. The manager was right there to strike the item from my bill. What a gentleman! The personification of this non-corporate, idiosyncratic and lovely Upper East Side jewel.

Room Tip: Our room, 904, has a terrific view of the Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dreamtimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello Dreamtimer,

I hope you made it home safely. Thank you so much for your kind review. The Carnegie Suite which you stayed at is one of my personal favorites. I am glad that you enjoyed everything the hotel has to offer including the splendid view from our rooftop deck.

We look forward to the possibility of having you stay with us during your future trips to New York.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Enjoyed my stay. I arrived early so I checked my bags. By the time that I returned in the afternoon, my bags were already in my room. Lovely 24-hour coffee and tea lounge and rooftop terrace. Location was perfect for meetings and visiting museums, and adjacent restaurant Paolo's was fantastic. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hihinish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
I hope you are doing well as you read this reply to your great review. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are all very glad that you were able to take advantage of the great amenities that the hotel offers including our rooftop deck. It is an excellent place to relax and enjoy the scenery which includes Central Park.

Please come visit us again during your next New York trip.

I would like to wish you many safe and exciting future travels.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

What a lovely place tucked above Sarabeth's on the Upper East Side. I was only staying one night to make an early Drs appt. at Mt Sinai Hospital so I got a salad to go downstairs which I took to eat at the Hotel Wales' penthouse garden. What beautiful panoramic sunset views! Met a lovely uncle and niece with their friendly dog who were already up there. Yes, for a slight extra charge, the hotel accepts pets! In NY! Who knew? Front desk personnel and housekeeping staff were responsive, polite and, based on how they talked to foreign guests, patient and helpful with directions and suggestions. My queen room was small but well laid out, extremely comfy, clean and just what I requested when booking online, -quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello Nina,

We are very excited that you decided to share your experience with the rest of the traveling community on Tripadvisor. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of the nice views that our rooftop deck offers. It truly is a great place to relax and enjoy the sunset just like you mentioned.

We look forward to the possibility of having you stay with us the next time you are in New York.

In the meantime I would like to wish you many safe and exciting future travels.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed 6 nights at Hotel Wales. Although we were all over NYC, the location was perfect as it was only a couple blocks to the Guggenheim, The Met and the Neue Gallerie. It is also one block to Central Park and the Basin. Easy and lovely walk to stops on the green line.

The hotel itself was just like we like it...historic, but updated. Our room was on the 5th floor with windows looking out on Madison Ave. and 92nd St. We booked a room with a living space and had no regrets. The room was just lovely, very comfortable and quite large. Bathroom was also very spacious. Coffee and tea was set up everyday on the Mezzanine. I was afraid this would be an issue for me as I like to have a cup of coffee first thing when I am up and I get up pretty early. I just popped down a few floors grabbed coffee and NY Times and then headed to one of the BEST parts of Hotel Wales...the rooftop terrace. I spent several of my mornings on the terrace with its views of the basin in Central Park. We also watched the sunset on two evenings with a bottle of wine. A great way to be part of the city, but surrounded by lovely plantings and just high enough to escape the noise of the street.

If you are looking for pools, dining rooms, glass elevators...this place is probably not for you. If you are wanting a bit of old NYC, where you walk into a lobby that is small and welcoming, where the rooms give you a bit of space to stretch out and where you can get to the best of NYC with ease, this is your place.
Hotel Wales is my new favorite in NYC. I will certainly be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner suite...not a huge difference in price, but we had wonderful views and a ton o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your "highly accurate" assessment of the Hotel Wales. I am glad that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary coffee and tea available 24 hours on our mezzanine level. Our rooftop deck definitely is an oasis for relaxation while enjoying the view of the reservoir in Central Park.

We look forward to having you stay with us again during your future trips to New York. In the meantime I would like to wish you many safe and exciting future travels.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I love walking in Central Park, so the Wales's location is perfect. We've stayed there four times. They were undergoing a remodel a few years ago, and it really paid off. The suite where we stayed this time is both comfortable and stylish. It's an old building and the service is basic, but the hotel excels in comfort, convenience and atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your review Chris!!! More importantly, thank you for choosing us over and over again. This is very meaningful to us and especially since you have so many alternative possible accommodations in New York City to choose from.

I am glad that you enjoyed the proximity of the hotel to Central Park. It is very nice to know that one can take a five minute walk and be in central park. The easy access from the hotel to many museums including the Metropolitan Museum of Art is also an added bonus.

We are excited at the possibility of being able to serve you again. In the meantime all of us at the Hotel Wales would like to wish you many safe travels.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I am a senior and stayed solo for five nights in a one-queen-bed
classic room on the ninth floor during May 2014. The hotel is in the
Upper East Side of Manhattan and close to relatives I wanted see.
I had an easy walk of a half mile to The Metropolitan Museum of Art
in the City of New York.

To obtain the greatest discount, I made a 40 day in advance
payment in full for my entire stay with no refunds allowed. I strongly
believe the amount I paid was too high. Unfortunately the City of
New York forbids the opening of other hotels nearby.

The Hotel Wales was built over 100 years ago. The hotel
displays a letter by the Mayor of the City of New York proclaiming
"Hotel Wales day" on the 100th anniversary of the hotel. Unfortunately
mistakes were made when the hotel was modernized.

The hotel is hard to find on the east side of Madison Avenue.
Only the hotel doorway fronts on the avenue. No awning covers the
sidewalk. The front desk lobby is small, but the smallness of the lobby
encourages guests to become acquainted with each other.

The mezzanine is one floor up. It has restrooms, a lounge, and a
business center. The lounge serves free coffee and provides daily a few
free copies of The New York York Times. The business center has a few
internet terminals. The first fifteen minutes on an internet terminal is free;
then for each additional fifteen minutes there is a charge on your credit card.
One morning, I used one of the internet terminals for the first fifteen minutes
of free time, but an obsolete version of the Internet Explorer browser
downgraded the performance of reading my e-mail.

Two ancient small elevators serve the hotel. Guests, their luggage,
engineering staff, housekeeping staff, and housekeeping carts share the
same elevators.

My classic room had drawer space and closet space sufficient for one
person but probably not for two. The hotel failed to put a sliding door or even
a curtain to close off the closet space in my room. The hotel failed to install
a modern heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system. My room
had a radiator for steam heating and a window air conditioner. In case the night
became too cold, I had engineering bring to my room an electric space heater.
Fortunately I never had to use the space heater. I did had to use the window
air conditioner for hours. The unit was noisy, but I was able to sleep through
the noise. The bed was quite comfortable. The carpet in my room was quite
worn.

The bathroom of my classic room was barely acceptable for men but
would not be acceptable for women: the bathroom had no bathtub. Instead
the bathroom had a shower stall. The hotel failed to provide a sliding door or
even a curtain to completely close off the shower stall. One part of the side
of the shower stall by the shower head was a immovable translucent wall;
the other part of the side of the shower stall was completely open. No matter
how hard I tried, spray from the shower went onto the floor outside the shower.
Fortunately the floor was tiled. Unfortunately there is no fan to ventilate
the bathroom, and the bathroom window is hard to access in order to make an
attempt to open. I never tried to reach the bathroom window. By some means,
the mist from my showers eventually disappeared.

The hotel's restaurant -- Sarabeth's -- is next door. The evening I arrived at
the hotel, I had dinner there. Unfortunately the price was high, and the food and the
service were only fair.

I enjoyed a few simple, light, and inexpensive breakfasts at a coffee shop
named "3 Guys Restaurant". From the hotel, I used to walk across Madison Avenue
from the east side to the west side. Then I walked a few blocks south along the west
side of Madison Avenue to the coffee shop.

Once I was near the front desk of the hotel when the general manager was
present. I shared with him some of my concerns. He asked me to tell him my room
number, and I did.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired_Preacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. It was a delight having had spoken with you while you stayed with us.

I hope you had a great time with your relatives here on the Upper East Side.

We appreciate your feedback regarding your accommodation and will definitely take corrective action where possible. Please note that our awning at the front door will be restored soon. Once it is back in place it will make the Hotel Wales much easier to locate.

In the event that you need more space we recommend staying in one of our many available suites. There you will have a lot more space then the classic standard room which you stayed in.

We all hope you made it back home well. We also hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again during all your future trips to New York City.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#347 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#248 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#260 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#30 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#43 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,688 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#268 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wales

Property: Hotel Wales
Address: 1295 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10128-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#219 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Wales 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Hotel Wales be your home away from home when visiting New York City. This sophisticated Manhattan boutique hotel, located in a historic building on the Upper East Side, is the perfect combination of old world charm and new world comfort. With its 46 stylish guestrooms and 43 expansive suites, Hotel Wales provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. In addition to well-appointed accommodations, Hotel Wales offers a scenic rooftop garden terrace, fitness studio, elegant meeting space, and more. This historic hotel is minutes from the subway and also conveniently located within walking distance of some of New York’s best attractions, quaint neighborhood shops, local eateries, Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue’s famous stores to name a few. And don’t worry about going hungry - Hotel Wales is connected to Sarabeth’s East, a New York institution serving up comfort food favorites and Paola’s, an authentic Italian bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wales Hotel New York City
Wales New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing