We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff; dated room”
Review of Hotel Wales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Wales
Ranked #239 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff; dated room”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The close location to Central Park makes this hotel attractive. Staff was also very friendly and helpful. The room was large and the bed was clean and comfortable. However, the price during the week was very high for the low quality of the room, which was dated: old carpets, furniture, amenities. The room was also very noisy (6th floor) and the elevators were really very tired. The hallways were very tiny and food trays stood in the halls at night and were still on the floor late in the morning. Overall, quite a poor hotel, but fortunately the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask a room that is not facing the street if you want to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarelCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the location and our entire team is delighted that they were able to offer you great service.

We are definitely concerned and are investigating all your concerns. Where possible we will definitely take corrective action. I would like to welcome you back the next time you are in New York. Please contact me directly and I will personally handle all your reservation needs to ensure that your experience is much more memorable.

Nteran@waleshotel.com
212-876-6000

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    284
    121
    56
    38
See reviews for
222
201
69
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winona Lake, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Attended wedding about 4 blocks away. Central Park one block away. Don't miss Gina La Forina's Bistro with wine bar and Sarabeth's for breakfast. Free Wi Fi nice and roof top has view of Central Park though buildings. Nice staff. Room was dinky, bathroom nice. Get a room that has exterior window if possible -- ours did not. Count on window air conditioners that are bit noisy. Price was quite reasonable for location. No pillow top bed for us -- had plastic mattress pad.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SawyerMacDougle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share some feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We all hope you had a great time at the wedding.

We look forward to the possibility of being able to serve you again. Please contact me directly during your next visit and I will personally ensure that your experience with our accommodations exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very nice little boutique hotel. Rooms are small but nicely appointed. Roof top garden is a nice touch. Excellent location to museums and subway. Upper East side with many great restaurants and shopping on Madison Avenue. Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: You can request a larger room which provides a little more space. But all rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Good afternoon Doug,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. In a few words you managed to encapsulate some of the great features of the neighborhood which we are fortunate to be a part of. This includes many of the museums along the 5th avenue Museum Mile which is walking distance from the Hotel Wales.

Our entire team is delighted that they were able to offer you friendly advise and recommendations. We are all looking forward to the possibility of having you stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel was pleasant; clean, but just o.k. Little amenities. Fitness room has two pieces of equipment; wi fi is sporadic at best; no vcr (child with our group). A bit dated, dark. Not really great value for price.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Carnegie Suite', small suite area. No refrigerator; no safe; Just fair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank algedneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Good afternoon,

I thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback regarding your stay with us.

It definitely is concerning to us that we were not able to offer you the level of service you are accustomed to.

Next time you are in New York please contact me directly as I would personally like to ensure that you receive an experience that you will want to tell all your friends and family about.

nteran@waleshotel.com
212-876-6000

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Beach, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Clean, friendly personnel, many bistros in vicinity, museums, great shopping and quiet. Charming penthouse balcony for the guests' use was a bonus! Room service not available and not missed since there are quaint eateries right outside hotel!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Good afternoon Susan,

Thank you for choosing us during your stay in New York. We are glad that you enjoyed everything the neighborhood has to offer including the many museums in the area like you mentioned.

Please note that although the Hotel Wales does not have a restaurant, the famous Sarabeths restaurant next door to us provides us with room service for all our guests.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed the rooftop deck. It truly is an oasis for escaping the busy New York City streets after a long day of sight seeing.

We look forward to having you as our guest during your next New York City trip.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The rooms are small but well appointed. The bathroom was updated. An extremely friendly and helpful staff. Very clean. The second floor has a great room for relaxing with complementary coffee and tea.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Good evening Fred,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Every member of our team is looking forward to having you as our guest again so that together we can offer you the level of service you have come to expect.

We wish you many safe and exciting future travels.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I travel a lot and this hotel is probably the worst ever. The decor is old, rooms are small, no air conditioner in the living room, the shower besides being small had no hot water, the faucet leaked, check in was slow with only one person at the desk and a long line, the key didn't work and the desk clerk said I demagnetized it however it was a broken lock. The lock still wasn't fixed 2 hours later and the manager had to let us in, one elevator was broken ( there are only two and they hold only 5 people therefore it took quite a wait to get to the 8th floor) One good point we left on the second night and got a refund for the second night. This room was cheap so it isn't a budget hotel.

Room Tip: Upkeep of a hotel is the key and professional management
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 653James_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Good afternoon James,

We hope you arrived safely back at home. It is very disappointing to read your review as we clearly missed the mark in offering you the outstanding service that we are know for at the Wales as is evident in the many reviews left by most of our guests.

Please note that it was a very busy weekend for us at the Wales as we had numerous wedding groups stay with us. Unfortunately we did loose one elevator for approximately two hours which delayed the amount of time that it took for you to get to your room. Rest assured that we are operating very efficiently as of this writing.

At times, and especially during early morning hours, it is advisable to let the water run for a period of time until the desired temperature is reached as prolonged inactivity during the night can cause only cold water to circulate initially.

I would like to wish you many safe and future travels.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#170 of 467 in New York City
884 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#383 of 467 in New York City
704 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#276 of 467 in New York City
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#29 of 467 in New York City
727 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#79 of 467 in New York City
1,865 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wales

Property: Hotel Wales
Address: 1295 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10128-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Wales 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Hotel Wales be your home away from home when visiting New York City. This sophisticated Manhattan boutique hotel, located in a historic building on the Upper East Side, is the perfect combination of old world charm and new world comfort. With its 46 stylish guestrooms and 43 expansive suites, Hotel Wales provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. In addition to well-appointed accommodations, Hotel Wales offers a scenic rooftop garden terrace, fitness studio, elegant meeting space, and more. This historic hotel is minutes from the subway and also conveniently located within walking distance of some of New York’s best attractions, quaint neighborhood shops, local eateries, Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue’s famous stores to name a few. And don’t worry about going hungry - Hotel Wales is connected to Sarabeth’s East, a New York institution serving up comfort food favorites and Paola’s, an authentic Italian bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wales Hotel New York City
Wales New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing