We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service lovely neighborhood”
Review of Hotel Wales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Wales
Ranked #238 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great service lovely neighborhood”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Great service, the front desk can get you anything you want ; cars, newspaper, reservations, suggestions for restaurants. Nice restaurant for breakfast and lunch right in the hotel ground floor and many good restaurants within walking distance. Near many museums and galleries. Comfortable and spacious rooms. Will go back again on the next trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Christine thank you so much for your kind words. The level of service that you received is exactly what our entire team at the Wales strives to offer. It also makes it that much easier and rewarding for us when our guests take a minute of their time to acknowledge and share their experience with the rest of the world.

We look forward to your next visit. In the meantime we wish you many safe and exciting travels.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    284
    121
    55
    38
See reviews for
222
200
69
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Large rooms for a NYC hotel. Good location with close proximity to museums. Renovation of the rooms is long overdue. Ancient single pane windows are quaint, but let in a lot of road noise - it was difficult to sleep in our 3rd floor room. Noise may be a problem for all of the rooms as we specifically asked for a quiet room. Elevator is slow, small and dimly lit. Great place to catch a dust bunny. Restaurant adjacent to hotel lobby has great breakfast.

Room Tip: Try for a room on one of the higher floors that does not face Madison Avenue. We asked for a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WRG25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
I would like to thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies with regard to the street noise that prevented you from getting the best sleep possible. Where possible we will definitely take corrective action to address the problem.

We are glad that you were able to take advantage of the restaurants in the area. Sarabeth's next door to us is a fantastic choice as is Paola's on the corner of 92nd street.

We hope you will stay with us again during your next visit to the Upper East Side. Please contact me directly next time you make reservations as I would personally like to ensure that you have a great stay with us.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

First time staying in the UES. Hotel Wales is a very good option. Room was spacious, 2nd floor 24/7 complimentary coffee and tea is a very nice touch. Staff was excellent and always willing to help. Special call out to Catherine at the front desk. She did a great job maing us feel like we were regular guests. Would definitely choose Hotel Wales on next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review about your recent stay. We are excited that you chose to stay with us during your first hotel stay in the Upper East Side Jeff. I cant thank Catherine enough for her hard work and dedication. She truly understands how important her role is in ensuring that all our guests feel like they never left home.

We are all as excited as you are at the possibility of having you stay with us in the future. Please contact us at your earliest convenience should there be anything we can assist you with.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locumtoco
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

A great place to get back to after a busy day. Our room was small but well appointed, the bathroom fresh and spa-like. The staff could not have been nicer. The location on the Upper East Side is perfect for the park, shopping, and lots of restaurants.
Valet parking is a real plus.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locumtoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. It definitely sounds like you were able to make the most of this great neighborhood that we are so fortunate to be a part of. We are in great proximity to Central Park, many great restaurants including Sarabeths which is just next door to us and numerous museums that are located along the Fifth Avenue Museum Mile.

We anxiously await the opportunity to be able to welcome you back as one of our guests.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berskhires, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The room was perfectly clean and the bed and pillows comfortable. Front desk staff. and bellman were perfect. Location was ideal for us as we needed to be at Mount Sinai. Neighborhood is lovely. This is an older property and like most NYC hotels of this vintage nothing is bigger than it needs to be and the carpets are a bit worn but everything is clean and comfy and our room was nice and quiet. Will be back next week.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
We are honored and pleased to read your review. The experience you had with us from the level of service that our front office team offered you to the cleanliness of the rooms from the housekeeping department is exactly what we aim for.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in the coming days.

All of us at the Hotel Wales wish you a fun and exciting weekend.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I will keep this brief. The bed was very comfortable. great pillows. The heating unit was loud but , heck,I slept.The staff were pleasant and quick to service.But the star was concierge Catherine.I was in NYC for some medical treatment and she was sincerely concerned with the treatment and my outcome.She remembered the days it was to take place and asked often about the process.it made the stay that much more pleasant.

Room Tip: ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
I sincerely hope that you are fully recovered and doing well after the treatment you had. We are very fortunate to have someone whom can show compassion and empathy towards our guests; Cathy definitely is a superb example of this and we are grateful that she is on our team.

We hope the next time you stay with us is for purely leisurely purposes. From Cathy and the rest of us at the Hotel Wales we thank you much for your kind words and look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I traveled to NY for a three night stay, which turned into four because of a cancelled flight. The welcome was warm and efficient, and having to extend my stay was no problem at all.
Coffee and tea is available free of charge on the mezzanine floor 24h a day, which came in very handy for a jet-lagged traveler with lots of work to get through in her room in preparation for a lecture.
All of the staff very nice and helpful; couldn't be better.
Excellent restaurants, a good food market and a bank with 24h ATMs a few steps from the hotel.
Room on the small side and giving out onto the internal light shaft, so no views, but also no traffic noise. The usual noisy AC unit and a somewhat tired undercarriage of the bed, but the mattress and bedding excellent - slept very well. Low pressure on the shower - might be better on the lower floors.
All in all a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gamotopanayia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write to us and the rest of your fellow travelers on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay. It brings us a great deal of satisfaction to know that we were able to offer you the kind of service you've come to expect.

I also hope your lecture went as planned. I can definitely relate as to how difficult it is to get things accomplished after experiencing the effects of jet-lag.

Please come visit us again during your future New York City trips.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#158 of 467 in New York City
883 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#383 of 467 in New York City
704 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#275 of 467 in New York City
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#29 of 467 in New York City
727 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#79 of 467 in New York City
1,864 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wales

Property: Hotel Wales
Address: 1295 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10128-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#214 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Wales 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Hotel Wales be your home away from home when visiting New York City. This sophisticated Manhattan boutique hotel, located in a historic building on the Upper East Side, is the perfect combination of old world charm and new world comfort. With its 46 stylish guestrooms and 43 expansive suites, Hotel Wales provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. In addition to well-appointed accommodations, Hotel Wales offers a scenic rooftop garden terrace, fitness studio, elegant meeting space, and more. This historic hotel is minutes from the subway and also conveniently located within walking distance of some of New York’s best attractions, quaint neighborhood shops, local eateries, Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue’s famous stores to name a few. And don’t worry about going hungry - Hotel Wales is connected to Sarabeth’s East, a New York institution serving up comfort food favorites and Paola’s, an authentic Italian bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wales Hotel New York City
Wales New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing