We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valet parking not reliable”
Review of Hotel Wales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wales
Ranked #265 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
State College, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Valet parking not reliable”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

For my visit, the hotel was fine. Good location near the Museum Mile and Central Park. Room was a decent size for Manhattan, very clean and quiet. Staff was polite and generally helpful.

However, the valet parking service was terrible. I had to wait almost an hour after my call to the desk before my car arrived. When you need to be somewhere else on time, this is completely unacceptable. Because the service is evidently farmed out, there is nothing the staff could do except make apologies.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoPa58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your honest feedback. We are fortunate to have guests such as yourself that are willing to take a few minutes out of their busy schedule to let us know the details of their stay. The location definitely is very convenient if you enjoy the outdoors due to the proximity to Central Park and also for exploring the museum mile like you mentioned.

With regard to the delay in having your vehicle returned, please accept our apologies. The garage that we utilize for our valet service has been notified of the delay in returning your vehicle. We have expressed our concern as this is something that we do not want any of our guests to have to experience; there are times where you have deadlines, places you need to be at, at a specific time, and it is very frustrating.

I look forward to the possibility of serving you in the future. Please contact me directly during your future stay. I personally want to make sure that your next experience is a memorable one.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    272
    121
    55
    38
See reviews for
210
194
68
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

With a more professional management, the Wales could achieve so much more. The location is ideal, a safe, residential neighbourhood with good restaurants, cafes, a terrific bookshop and many boutiques. Some guests have said it feels quite European,however, I disagree as sadly the Wales does not have the warmth and attention to detail one finds in Europe. Over the years there have been several managers none of whom succeeded in improving standards and with the latest one I doubt this will change. Mr Luna, the current manager, does not exactly exude warmth, preferring to avoid contact with his guests. He is fortunate to have staff such as Rosalyn, Kathy and Alex who make it their responsibilty to provide a welcome. In fact, whoever is on the front desk has to not only greet the guests, but answer telephones, direct calls and deal with check ins, a somewhat daunting task for one person. During this last stay I encountered a serious problem which was dealt with extremely poorly. I made the General Manager aware of the negligence I experienced, however, I am not confident there will be any improvements as a result.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princpessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
All of us here at the Hotel Wales welcome your feedback as it helps to elevate us by addressing issues which we otherwise could possibly go unnoticed.

I am glad that you were able to take advantage of all the nice restaurants in the area. We recommend Sarabeths for Breakfast, lunch or dinner as they have an exquisite menu. Paola's Italian restaurant on the corner of Madison and 92nd street is also a local favorite.

The hotel Wales is fortunate to have a team dedicated to providing a memorable experience to all of our guests. Our entire management team, including Mr. Luna, puts forth their every effort to ensuring the utmost in guest satisfaction. We, like you mentioned, are very fortunate to have a great staff that includes members such as Rosalyn, Kathy, and Alex.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed at the hotel Wales for four nights and my stay was excellent. The rooms were very clean and the location was perfect. I was walking distance from the train and I had no problem getting around the city. The staff was very professional. Frank was extremely helpful and he made my stay at the hotel Wales an excellent experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel if your staying in the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasheda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Frank and the rest of the staff here at the Hotel Wales could not be happier that you enjoyed your stay with us. He is delighted to hear you mention that your experience was impacted by his dedication to providing you with great service.

Please come and visit us during your next trip to New York.

We look forward to welcoming you back!!!

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Hotel Wales and found it to be a very pleasant stay. There are great restaurants right outside the door, the lounge with free coffee and tea is spacious and comfortable and the rooms are pleasant. It reminded me of staying in Europe. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We got a good deal by paying in advance and were able to get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Linda thank you for taking the time to write your review for us here at the Hotel Wales. We hope that you and your daughter made it home safely. A lot of our guests will agree with you that the area has many great restaurants to choose from including the famous Sarabeths and also Paola's restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Wales next time you are in New York.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed at the Wales for 3 nights and we loved every second of it. Rosalyn was extremely friendly and welcoming upon checking time. The hotel has a very elegant and a pleasant old feel to it. We loved the rooftop terrace, we were taken a back from the gorgeous view. The mezzanine level offers 24 hours coffee and tea, which was very convenient. Alex, was also very knowledgable and recommended the Atlantic Grill restaurant for some good seafood, we also tried Paola's restaurant around the corner from the hotel for really good Italian. We highly recommend the Wales & are looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Your review is greatly appreciated Christine as it allows other fellow travelers like yourself to find a place to call home while away from home. We cannot say enough about the great service that Alex and Rosalyn provide. We are fortunate to have them on our team.

Thank you for all your kind words and please visit us here at the Hotel Wales during all your future stays to New York City.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is in a quiet neighborhood of the upper east side. You can walk to restaurants easily and safely.

The only problem is that it's old and the windows are very thin. You can hear trucks on Madison all night long. If you turn the window unit on it's quieter but not by much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinet23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review Caroline. Please accept our apologies for the noise coming from the trucks outside. We take your comments very seriously as it helps us to improve so that if you choose to let us welcome you back into our home we can offer you the kind of experience you want to tell all your friends and family about.

The restaurants in the area are fantastic. I hope you had a chance to have breakfast or dinner at the famous Sarabeths. For an amazing Italian experience Paola's restaurant will not disappoint!

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here in early October on my 3 day trip to NYC. I liked the fact that it was close to all the major museums and central park.

Really nice staff. Especially front desk rep. Fabian who made it a pleasant stay and recommended great attractions and restaurants.

The hotel terrace was a nice little surprise as well, as it offered wonderful views of the area.

Another great trip to NYC! Would recommend this place to fnds.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaiMeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I agree that our proximity to the 5th Avenue Museum Mile makes the Hotel Wales a great place to stay should you want to experience The Met Museum, The Guggenheim and the Frick Collection just to name a few. I along with Fabian and the rest of our team are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Please come visit us again during your next trip to New York as surely 3 days in the city just is not enough time to explore everything New York has to offer.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#172 of 468 in New York City
868 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#284 of 468 in New York City
820 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#386 of 468 in New York City
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#73 of 468 in New York City
1,831 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#36 of 468 in New York City
702 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 468 in New York City
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wales

Property: Hotel Wales
Address: 1295 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10128-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Wales 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Hotel Wales be your home away from home when visiting New York City. This sophisticated Manhattan boutique hotel, located in a historic building on the Upper East Side, is the perfect combination of old world charm and new world comfort. With its 46 stylish guestrooms and 43 expansive suites, Hotel Wales provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. In addition to well-appointed accommodations, Hotel Wales offers a scenic rooftop garden terrace, fitness studio, elegant meeting space, and more. This historic hotel is minutes from the subway and also conveniently located within walking distance of some of New York’s best attractions, quaint neighborhood shops, local eateries, Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue’s famous stores to name a few. And don’t worry about going hungry - Hotel Wales is connected to Sarabeth’s East, a New York institution serving up comfort food favorites and Paola’s, an authentic Italian bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelPower, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wales Hotel New York City
Wales New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing