We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Vintage-Style Hotel”
Review of Hotel Wales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Wales
Ranked #258 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Little Vintage-Style Hotel”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just got back from a weekend trip to NYC and stayed here for one night. Check-in was not a problem and the front desk clerk was courteous and helpful. She said the room type I had booked (one bedroom suite) wasn't ready so we were being upgraded to a two bedroom suite with a living area. That was fine with me since it wasn't taking any space away but rather adding more.

The problem came when the bellman put our luggage on the cart and told all of us (there were 5) to pile in the small, old elevator with him to go up to our room. Maybe we should have realized it was a problem but we assumed he knew what he was doing (wrong assumption)! We proceeded to get stuck in the elevator but thankfully it only lasted about 5 minutes since he was able to call for help. Another staff member came and yelled for us to push on the door to slide it open. Once the door opened, I got the impression this man should have known better than to put all of us and then luggage in this elevator. Wonder how long he has been working there!

We did get a quick apology from someone else once the drama was over but I felt maybe we should have been given a little more than just that. Although I did not make a case out of it even though it was a bit traumatic for the few minutes we spent wondering if we were going to be able to get out anytime soon.

I did like the room and it was very comfortable. The furnishings were nice and the beds had very nice linens and a variety of pillows. The bathroom was a decent size and the shower was roomy and worked well.

You need to be careful about the location though since this hotel is located in a very quiet residential area. Things close up early (even on a Saturday night) and you have to walk or ride to another area if you are looking a restaurants and shops open later at night (as we were). I think most of the businesses around the hotel close at least by 10 p.m. if not earlier. But anyone looking for quiet would really love this hotel.

There is no breakfast at the hotel from what I could tell but Sarabeth's is right outside the door to the hotel and is phenomenal (just be sure to book a reservation).

Most of the staff were very helpful and polite with the execption of maybe one or two who seemed mostly annoyed to be at work!

Room Tip: Do NOT overpack the elevator or you will get stuck. Just go in smaller groups!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. My apologies for the inconvenience due to the elevator incident. I'm glad to hear you found the room comfortable, and our staff courteous and helpful, for your weekend trip. Once again thank you for taking your time and sharing your experience with us, we hope to welcome you in again in the future.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    275
    121
    55
    38
See reviews for
214
195
68
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

As an Englishman, I felt accustomed to the level of service offered here. Perhaps it was the lack of welcome when we arrived (although the staff seemed to be enjoying their chat amongst themselves), or the fact that we had to argue to obtain our second breakfast ticket (despite paying for two in advance)? Our basic room faced inwards, and onto a wall a few feet away. There was little storage space. On the positive side, it was clean and quiet. But to top it off, our shower was broken - so no hot water on our last day. We reported it, but it was not fixed, and there was no offer of another room. All in all, a disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_D44410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank for sharing your feedback with us. Having our guests feedback is an excellent tool to better our service as well as the overall guest experience. It's certainly a disappointment when our guests do not have the experience that we hoped for. I would like to extend my apologies for any inconvenience caused. If you could reach out to me at my email nteran@waleshotel.com would like to discuss this matter.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed in this boutique hotel 5 years ago on business, and really liked it. My husband and I stayed there this past week, and again- it was a very pleasant experience. The Suite we were in (room 515) was amply sized and was a reasonably good size for NYC, with a decent closet and adequate bathroom. Great shower with surprisingly good water pressure for an old building. Toiletries were of good quality. The bed was good with many pillow options. Window AC unit functioned well, but was noisy. As the Suite overlooked Madison Avenue, it was noisy- I got awakened several times every night by horns honking, sirens, dogs barking, etc. Understand-I live out in the country on a lake- so any noise would have disturbed this light sleeper.

As expected, the elevators are slow. The carpeting and furniture in the room could use updating..

WiFi worked ok in the room, but I did have some trouble in the business centre. The printer didn't work, but the people at the front desk were very kind and accommodating in printing documents we needed for our business in a timely fashion. Hotel staff were responsive to requests. It's a small hotel, so there's usually only 1 person at the desk.

Hotel is located on Madison Ave. between 92nd and 93rd in an UES residential area, a minute or two from Central Park ... and far far away from Times Square!!!!! Nice restaurants nearby that are frequented by locals. We became "locals" at Sarabeth's for breakfast and lunch every day, as well as several very good lunches at Islands on the other side of the hotel. Upper end shops further down the avenue. Easy walk to museums and mid town.

Room Tip: One of the suites away from Madison would be preferred, to minimize night time noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I'm pleased to hear our staff was responsive to your requests and that you have enjoyed the location. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and look forward in having you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had to plan a trip to NY within a 2 week timeframe. I knew I didn't want to stay down by times square, but had no idea where a quiet area was. We had a last minute recommendation and we lucked out. Our little boutique hotel had the right amount of updating to be charming and relaxing. Our jaws dropped when we stepped into our room which had a had a kitchenette, living room with a fireplace and a comfy king bed ensuite. There was a beautifully appointed 24 hour meeting area. There were 6 restuarants on the same block and we ate in 3. All great with the final breakfast at sarabeths. Central Park and museum row were within 2 blocks. The rooftopterrace was incredible and was used nightly for our wine and cheese repaste with amazing views of Central Park and the Skyline and the reservoir. We don't need another place, we found our paradise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Its a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay, found your suite up to your standards, and specially enjoyed the view from our Rooftop Terrace.
We look forward in welcoming you again, and thank you for sharing your experience with us.!!!

Sincerely,


Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My daughter had stayed in this boutique hotel last year and loved it. So we made it our destination this year! First impression of the room: dingier than their website pics... but it did grow on me!! The queen room was a reasonably good size for NYC, with a decent closet and a charming bathroom. Great shower with surprisingly good water pressure for an old building. Toiletries were of good quality. The bed was good with 2 pillow options. Window AC unit functioned well and I appreciated the white noise it offered ... no noise heard from the hotel at all. As expected, the elevators are slow, so we always used the stairs from the 6th floor. The only negative was dingy carpeting in the room.

The exercise room was a nice surprise ... kept clean and cooled. 24-hr coffee/tea on the 2nd floor common room, which was a perfect space for bringing in breakfast or lunch. Roof top patio was nice in the evening. WiFi worked well in the room, but I did have some trouble in the business centre. Hotel staff were responsive to requests. It's a small hotel, so there's usually only 1 person at the desk.

Hotel is located on Madison Ave in an UES residential area, a minute or two from Central Park ... and far far away from Times Square!!!!! We felt safe for the 4-5 min walk to the subway, even at night. Nice restaurants nearby that are frequented by locals. Second Time Around down the block. Pure Foods across the street whipped up incredible healthy smoothies. Upper end shops further down the avenue. Easy walk to museums and mid town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margoloves2travel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
It's great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and the surroundings of the neighborhood. Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback with us. Hope to have you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A classic, old-world-style NYC hotel with a lot of character. The old mosaic floors are gorgeous and will hopefully be preserved, the old carpets, not so much. But despite this wear, the rooms are clean and the staff is friendly and helpful - thank you Rosalyn!

I've already booked two more stays.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertSarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Mr. Sarno,
It's a pleasure to hear about our friendly staff. Thank you for taking the time in sharing your comments, and booking with us again. Look forward in meeting with you.
Rosalyn, great job!!!!

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of major museums and Central Park and if that's your primary reason for visiting NYC it's unbeatable. It's not cheap, but nothing of this standard is in Manhattan. The room I had was small but comfortable and very quiet. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The restaurant on site was good for breakfast. The neighbourhood has plenty of local cafes, small grocers and an excellent bookshop. A bus route from downtown has a stop half a block away.

Room Tip: If travelling solo, as I was, ask for a room at the rear. Some rooms face into an internal light we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, it's great to hear that our staff was pleasant, helpful and that you found our location to your expectations. Look forward in having you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#156 of 466 in New York City
880 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#388 of 466 in New York City
698 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#281 of 466 in New York City
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#247 of 466 in New York City
2,060 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#27 of 466 in New York City
718 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#73 of 466 in New York City
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wales

Property: Hotel Wales
Address: 1295 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10128-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Wales 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Hotel Wales be your home away from home when visiting New York City. This sophisticated Manhattan boutique hotel, located in a historic building on the Upper East Side, is the perfect combination of old world charm and new world comfort. With its 46 stylish guestrooms and 43 expansive suites, Hotel Wales provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. In addition to well-appointed accommodations, Hotel Wales offers a scenic rooftop garden terrace, fitness studio, elegant meeting space, and more. This historic hotel is minutes from the subway and also conveniently located within walking distance of some of New York’s best attractions, quaint neighborhood shops, local eateries, Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue’s famous stores to name a few. And don’t worry about going hungry - Hotel Wales is connected to Sarabeth’s East, a New York institution serving up comfort food favorites and Paola’s, an authentic Italian bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wales Hotel New York City
Wales New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing