We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where are the large suites?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Wales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Wales
Ranked #271 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Pulaski, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Where are the large suites?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I decided to come to New York for a short get away. We wanted to stay close to central park. We were told the rooms would be large with a view. Our view is of windows and airconditioners and our room is so small we can hardly turn around. The roof is nice but no bar. Large bathroom but only a sink with no place to put anything not even a table or vanity. I have to say I am extremely disappointed, Also, just be prepared for window airconditioners. It is on a good location. It is very clean and our bed was comfortable. I do love the old building and the atmosphere.

Room Tip: There is no pool, spa, or bar or restaurant. There are several excellent choices nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the location and the comfort of the bed. Also,I'm delighted to hear you love this Landmark building in conjunction with the atmosphere, and unfortunate that's the reason we still have window air conditioners, for not to loose the charm of the building. Based on your comments seems that you have reserved a Queen Classic room, we do definitely have suites with a view towards Jackie Onassis Reservoir.

I thank you for taking the time in sharing your comments. Please accept my most sincere apologies for any inconveniences, please don't hesitate to reach me, look forward in having you back.

Sincerely,


Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    268
    119
    55
    38
See reviews for
205
189
67
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We needed to find a hotel on the upper east side near the #4 subway line and there are not many alternatives. I stayed at the Hotel Wales based on other trip advisor recommendations and we were not disappointed. The hotel offers large suites at affordable rates. Added bonus is Sarabeths kitchen right next to the hotel and will provide room service to guests in the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner suite which was quite large. Higher floors probably more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and found our suites spacious with affordable rates. As you mention we are proud to work with Sarabeth's, they are very well known in NYC.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments, and look forward in having you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hotel Wales is within comfortable walking distance of Central Park and Museum Mile (especially the Met and the Guggenheim), two of my primary interests in traveling to New York. It's out of the Midtown hustle and bustle--but it's still easy to get anywhere in New York from the hotel--short walks to subway stations and bus stops, and a constant stream of cabs going down Madison Avenue in front of the hotel. While at breakfast at the adjacent Sarabeth's (scrumptious breakfast!), I enjoyed watching real New Yorkers walking their dogs on uncrowded sidewalks. The building is a century old, so it has some of the quirks that come with age--the elevators are small, the hallways aren't air-conditioned, the rooms have window unit air-conditioners. But I didn't find any of these things troublesome--indeed, I enjoyed the charm of the older building.. I had one of the Queen Standard rooms--and, as clearly noted on the website, it came without a view. But it was very comfortable and clean, plenty large enough for one person, and remarkably quiet. The window unit air-conditioner kept the room comfortable. The public spaces (the 2nd floor lounge area and the rooftop deck) were comfortable and easily available. The staff was friendly and helpful. With their summer promotion, the price was excellent. I'll go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMW137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the neighborhood close to the museums and away from the hustle and bustle of midtown,and that you found our century old hotel to your standards. We hope to have you back again in your future trip to New York.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel located near Central Park. The staff was friendly and helpful. despite what the website says, there is no rooftop bar. However,there are several places closeby where you can get a drink.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrldtravel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the location and that our courteous staff was able to assist you.
We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for sharing your experience.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Very nice hotel over 100 years old, fabulous upper east side location, blocks from museums and Central Park. Staff is helpful and very courteous. Some very nice restaurants in the area too, including one attached to the hotel. One funny thing was that the light in one of the two closets wouldn't go off and we couldn't find a switch.

Room Tip: We reserved far in advance and got a discount. Then we needed a bigger room and got upgraded to a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtneymcglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the location and that our courteous staff was able to assist you.
We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for sharing your experience.


Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our son goes to Mt Sinai and we have tried a few hotels that were not very well located. On this trip we happen to find Hotel Wales and thought the price for this area was worth a try. We had a very nice stay and were pleasantly surprised at how nice the rooms were considering the price. We did not have any problems to report to the staff and found them very pleasant and attentive to making sure we were happy. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We certainly appreciate you choosing to stay at Hotel Wales with your family. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel with our staff and the wonderful service they provided. We hope to have you back soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

First the good. We stayed in a nice king suite that was well priced, very comfortable and spacious. Great location in a reasonably quiet building, easily accessible to the subway.

Now the bad. Do not stay in a standard room, they are tiny. There is no in room coffee, which is no big deal but surprising in that the hotel claims to be a provider of luxury service and the lobby coffee is adequate at best and ran out during our stay.

Finally, the ugly. The hotel management is simply lacking in basic customer service skills. During our stay we parked our car using the valet garage service provided by Hotel Wales at $50/day. Upon arriving home we discovered that the garage had some type of accident with our car and there is now scratching and paint on the left front bumper. It took 4 calls to the hotel to get any response from management. After leaving a message with Nestor Teran we received a call from the assistant manager Frank (who had not returned previous direct calls) who promised that he would fax papers from the parking service to investigate and follow up with the accident. To date we have not received these papers or any other acknowledgement or action from the hotel. Our bargain stay has now turned into an expensive stay. Though the parking lot accident is not directly the responsibility of the hotel, some compensation would have been nice and certainly some basic honesty and decency should be the minimum expected.

This is not the only problem we encounter with the hotel staff/management during our stay. When we arrived, the desk clerk had difficulty finding our reservation. Some quirk in the hotel software had the reservation listed under the name of the second guest as opposed to a listing under the name of the person who made and paid for the reservation. The desk clerk was abrupt and rude, but did find the reservation and then upgraded our room from a queen suite to a king. This was a nice gesture, but the overall encounter was unpleasant.

In summary, if you are looking for a nice suite at a good price in a quiet location, Hotel Wales is probably a good choice. As a bonus the 2 restaurants on site are quite nice. If you care about the quality of the organization you are staying with you may wish to stay elsewhere. All this said I do hope to hear from the manager, Nestor Teran and find that indeed will follow through with addressing our concerns.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ymutate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed the location, and the King Suite. My apologies for the incident occurred with the parking garage, and the miscommunication with management, it was not our intention, our philosophy of taking care of our guest, and making them feel as though they are at home is always a top priority.
I can guarantee you that all of the issues you stated have been addressed. It is feedback like yours that helps us strive to continually improve our hotel and our level of service.
I thank you for taking the time to the inconveniences you experienced while you were a guest of our hotel. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#375 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#284 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#58 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#28 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#250 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wales

Property: Hotel Wales
Address: 1295 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#218 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Wales 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Hotel Wales be your home away from home when visiting New York City. This sophisticated Manhattan boutique hotel, located in a historic building on the Upper East Side, is the perfect combination of old world charm and new world comfort. With its 46 stylish guestrooms and 43 expansive suites, Hotel Wales provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. In addition to well-appointed accommodations, Hotel Wales offers a scenic rooftop garden terrace, fitness studio, elegant meeting space, and more. This historic hotel is minutes from the subway and also conveniently located within walking distance of some of New York’s best attractions, quaint neighborhood shops, local eateries, Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue’s famous stores to name a few. And don’t worry about going hungry - Hotel Wales is connected to Sarabeth’s East, a New York institution serving up comfort food favorites and Paola’s, an authentic Italian bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wales Hotel New York City
Wales New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing