We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Hotel with some tradeoffs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Wales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Wales
Ranked #286 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Pawling, New York
2 reviews
“Charming Hotel with some tradeoffs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very charming hotel but I agree with other ratings that there are some tradeoffs. Elevators and bathrooms very small. Beds and pillows were decent but our room had alot of street noise. The staff were friendly and many sites were within walking distance. I don't know that it was worth the $450 for a double suite.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank napap2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    265
    118
    54
    38
See reviews for
199
188
67
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Room 506 old carpet we even had a wet spot on floor next to bed, whistling and knocking radiators during sleep, lots of street noise..... if you are looking for a room at Hotel Wales with a family because you would want a little extra room for kids to sleep on pullout in separate room. You would be better off getting a normal room with two beds somewhere else because there is no separation of the bedroom and living area. The only plus I experienced was that the staff was very friendly and the location to Central Park one block away....I didn't see any other rooms but ours looked nothing like the photos on web page

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gagen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. . Please allow me to extend my apologies for the experience you have described with the noise in the room you stayed in.. I'm interested in speaking with you further in regards to your experience, as we will always do our best to make our guests as comfortable as possible. I'm looking forwrd hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Wales has converted their 9-story upper East Side building in several stages over time. Today it's tasteful and generally up to date. Beds are comfortable, our "small suite" was spacious, and the neighborhood offers nice shops and restaurants. Central Park is quite nearby. But there are trade-offs when you choose an old building. Plumbing was slow and noisy. Lobby and elevators are cramped. Doors on the built-on armoires were hard to open. Still, I choose the Wales's charm over comparably priced chain hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTeran, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like take this opportunity to thank for your kind words. I really appreciate you choosing the Wales as your place of lodging during your last visit in New York city. Feel free to contact me personally the next time you have plans of coming to New York. I will make sure to quote with our best available rates.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a very nice laid back hotel just off central park on madison avenue in an apparently safe and relatively quiet neighborhood. The staff are very pleasant and overall there is nothing major to fault this property with. I was somewhat disappointed by the lack of temperature control in my room which resulted in it being 10 degrees too warm for me most of the time on my March visit. The windows did open but not enough to compensate for the overactive passive heating. Also, periodic noise from some clanging machinery made leaving the windows open a non starter for sleeping. Also the wireless internet was quite slow, slower than my cellular connection. But it was free. The rooms themselves are typical of a property this age, although the bed was new and comfortable. The bathroom had recently been renovated and was quite nice. The closet was very small and a little awkward and there was no minifridge, coffee machine or ironing board in the room.

That said, despite these limitations the hotel had a very hospitable feel and was clean if also a little "frumpy".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTeran, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for thanking the time and giving us your honest feedback. it was our pleasure to count you amongst our guests. Rest assure that we are taking into consideration all of your observations.

again, thank you for your feedback...

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
590 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Staying several nights at the Hotel Wales, we found it to be a mixed bag. On the plus side, the location is very nice (upper East side at 92nd St), convenient to the subway at 86th or 96th and Lex. The room (a suite) was spacious, and once the hot water made it up to the top of the building, there was plenty of it.

Sarabeth's on one side and Island on the other were both good choices for meals.

But there are three things we look for in a hotel - temperature, light and quiet. The temperature should be individually adjustable within a wide range, so that those who like it very cool can get there, while those who need the room toasty can have their needs met, too. The Wales has old radiators that not only made the room too hot for our taste (and the air conditioning is turned off for the season), but made loud banging noises all night. Strike one.

Light should be similarly adjustable, so that you have enough light to get ready in the morning, or to read in the evening, but pitch darkness when you want to sleep. The Wales has no makeup mirror, but the light was adequate for my wife. Nighttime was another story. A lot of light bled in around the window blinds, so when we woke up to the radiator banging, it felt like morning. Strike two.

As for quiet, although we were on the 9th floor, we still had street noise, even if we couldn't always hear it over the radiator noise. Sorry folks, it's strike three for us.

A couple of other points are worth mentioning. The coffeee service on the second floor is 24 x 7, and there is a large room there where you can sit and read the paper in the morning. That's a plus. The locks on the room door were installed with 1/2" screws, and had been reinstalled several times. You could see the old holes where the screws had pulled out. That is something the hotel should fix. In addition, our suite had a connecting door to the next one, but we were the only ones who could open it. There should be (but wasn't) a similar door in the other room to prevent us (in 912) from opening the door and going into the next room (910).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travl003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

My friend and I stayed for a week at Hotel Wales in New York at 1295 Madison Ave. Although our room was very small, it was clean and comfortable with every amenity needed. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. There is a good sized coffee/hang out room, plus a very nice rooftop lounge area. The neighborhood on Madison Avenue was great, with plenty of restaurants of all caliber and right near The Corner Bookstore which was such a fantastic bookstore. I wouldn't hesitate to go there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bevcoe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NTeran, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you on behalf of the hotel wales for staying with us during your last visit in New AYork . It was our pleasure to count you amongst our guest here and will be delighted to have you again. Please feel free to reach out to us and will be more than happy to help you with our best available rates.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night, had dinner at Le Parisian across the street and breakfast at Sarabeths... Perfect for two New Yorkers who live outside the city looking for a romantic night. The hotel was clean, and compared to European city hotels we were happy with the size. The bed was comfortable, shower was big and not too much street noise at all. The staff was really warm and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VrmSjm1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcmbuyi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your last visit New York City. It was our pleasure to count you amongst our guests. We are looking foward to your next visit. Please, feel free to reach out to me personally and will make sure to assist you with our best available rates.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#364 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#209 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#279 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wales

Property: Hotel Wales
Address: 1295 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#219 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Wales 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Hotel Wales be your home away from home when visiting New York City. This sophisticated Manhattan boutique hotel, located in a historic building on the Upper East Side, is the perfect combination of old world charm and new world comfort. With its 46 stylish guestrooms and 43 expansive suites, Hotel Wales provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. In addition to well-appointed accommodations, Hotel Wales offers a scenic rooftop garden terrace, fitness studio, elegant meeting space, and more. This historic hotel is minutes from the subway and also conveniently located within walking distance of some of New York’s best attractions, quaint neighborhood shops, local eateries, Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue’s famous stores to name a few. And don’t worry about going hungry - Hotel Wales is connected to Sarabeth’s East, a New York institution serving up comfort food favorites and Paola’s, an authentic Italian bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wales Hotel New York City
Wales New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing