We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No heat, no keys”
Review of Hotel Wales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Wales
Ranked #217 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Arrived for overnight stay told key system down so bellman must take me to room. Room looks ok but is very cold. Heat is from steam radiators that are not working. Call front desk, they send person to turn on radiators but heat is turned off downstairs.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
Thank Normfrommiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcmbuyi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Hello,

I would like to thank you for staying with us during your last visit in New York City. Although it was for a surgery I am glad the hotel was convenient to you and your family. We really appreciate your feedback. Please next time you do make plans to come to New York and stay with us feel free to contact me directly and it would be my pleasure to assist you with the reservation...

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 783 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited NYC and stayed at The Wales for the month of January 2013. We left our farm in Washington State to have my wifes heart valve repair done here at Mt. Siani. I could write a book on this whole adventure. But, this is a review for the Hotel Wales.
The rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The location is as good as it gets when it comes to staying close to Mount Siani in a Hotel. It took about 12 to 14 minutes to walk from the hotel. To take a cab is pretty easy. Costs $5.50 one way door to door.
There are plenty of places to eat near the Hotel. Plan on spending $25-$35 a meal. We got a room with a kitchenette thinking we'd save on eating out.
There are two small markets on either side of the hotel. They have everything you need. But, the cost of goods made it comparable to dining out. It was a push.

Thank TImefo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jcmbuyi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Hello,

I would like to thank you personally on behalf of the Wales Hotel and our staff for staying with us. we are happy to hear that your stay went well. Please do not hesitate to contact me for your next visit in New York City. I will make sure to set you up with our best available rate. Again thank you for your feedback.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

There were 3 groups of us staying here over the holidays - and everyone had different issues with the hotel. First, it is very clean, the folks at the front desk are friendly, and it's located in a nice area. But, our room was like a furnace - we slept with the window open in both the bedroom and the bathroom, but it was still far too hot. Since there's no in room thermostat, we had no choice but to broil. The other two groups had freezing rooms - could not get any heat at all. I guess that the rooms on one side of the hall are hot, the rooms on the other side are freezing. We left the hotel looking for coffee one morning and ended up at Starbuck's b/c there is no coffee machine in the rooms and no mini-bar. While we were in the elevator returning to our room, another person there was sipping a cup of coffee - from an area on the mezzanine, which the front desk folks neglected to tell us. There was also a pretty big issue with our final bill - the charges were over $100 more than the receipt that I had in hand. I needed to make a call to the hotel to clear it up, and the difference was immediately removed. But, I should never have had to make the call in the first place. While the Wales has no restaurant of its own, it has SaraBeth's "attached" to it - literally, you just open a hallway door and it's there. In the end, although it's a lovely, small, clean and well located hotel, the hot/cold rooms, lack of amenities, and lack of information mean that we'll not return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcmbuyi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Hello,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback on your last stay at the Hotel Wales. I would like to apologize for the over heating in the room in whcih you stayed. I can assure you that this issue has since been delt with. This does not reflect in any way the level of service that we provide to each and every guest that stayed with us. Again, thank you so much for your feedback and if you were to make plans to visit New York in the near future please reach out to me. I will be delighted to assist you in making your reservation.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is ok- no heat, some air conditioning. The lobby is very clean, nice, and fancy. The rooms are not very nice, 2 TV's, one bed, and a pull out couch that is very stiff. They are also very small. The locks are very old. The bathrooms are not very nice, they are a bit old. The room service how ever is spectacular! You can order from the next door restaurant that I rate 4 stars and you can almost order anything. Then, if you go to the restaurant next door, give them your room key and they'll charge your bill to it. Overall, the hotel needs a lot of renovations, but staff, food, and cleanness, its good. I do not recommend it, but if you stay there, it won't be the worst thing on earth.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcmbuyi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time and rating our hotel. Your observations are very helpful and discribe the pretty accurately in some aspects. I would invite to also look at our Penthouse suites next you do come. These are set to accomodate larger group of people or just people who are looking for much more room. Again, thank you for the feedback.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Having stayed in small hotels in Europe, this hotel is similar. The staff is friendly, lobby well maintained. Elevators are small and can be slow at busy times. Located in a lovely neighborhood in the UES. Close to lots of restaurants, bars and museums. Sara Beth is next door and serves a great brunch. Our room was not ready when we arrived and since we had to wait about a half hour we were upgraded to a larger suite. Our room was a large corner room with an extra seating area with a tv. The closet was large with a safe. Only two hangers. At first we could not figure out how to turn the light off in the closet. Finally figured out up above was a tiny chain to pull. Had to get the husband to reach it, so if your on the short side...... Put your heels on:)
Bathroom was large with plenty of hot water. Towels were plentiful. Hair dryer and the usual toiletries. Bathroom could have been a little cleaner, the floor was not as clean as I would have liked. Carpeting had some odd stains in different areas. Time to replace them I think. The bed was very comfortable. I had a burned out bulb on my end table, housekeeping replaced it the next day.
If you're not used to radiator heat, be warned. You room will heat up quite nicely. If you want to cool things down, just turn it down or totally off. Your room will stay warm.older buildings have fun quirks like this. A couple times the pipes were whistling in the middle of the night . We will return, the location and price were perfect. We did not find out about the computer room and coffee station till after I came home. No info in our room about this or room service or gym location either.just a heads up to management to get that together.
.

Room Tip: Pick higher floor. Corner room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoeshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcmbuyi, Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Hello,

We are please to hear that your last stay at our hotel was convenient to you. We took in concideration all of your observations and will be working on improving. We hope to see you back at the Wales...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I know well how pricy Manhattan is but 360 for a steamy room with no thermostat is a rip off. Cant imsgine being here in the summer. Clean at least...... And pretty quiet. Television works though channel selection is limited. Room service ends at ten o'clock

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hockessin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcmbuyi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Hello,

The Hotel Wales TEAM would like to thank you for taking the time and submitting a review on your last stay at the hotel. We apologize for the inconience that the heating system may have caused you but promise that we are actively working into fixing the issue permanently....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We arrived for a two night stay and were greeted with a warm welcome. Our suite was spacious, well furnished, and very comfortable. This is an older hotel with all the quirks that come with an older building, small elevator, slightly dated decor, tight odd hallways, but all very well cared for and recently painted with new carpeting. There is not an in house restaurant, but Sarabeth's next door provides room service and is literally two steps out the front door. The neighborhood is charming with nice restaurants - Island, Table d'Hote, and Paola's all on the same block. The only smear on an otherwise lovely stay was the hot water system failed sometime in the night and we were hot water the morning of our departure. The only concession offered - and it was now 10AM - was to comp the internet charge. Too bad...breakfast at least would have been nice. There is construction going on in the neighborhood at the moment, so don't plan to sleep in.

Room Tip: Corner suite was spacious and removed from the hallway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVTraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcmbuyi, Front Office Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Hello,

We would to take a minute here and thank you for staying with us. We do appreciate your feedback and are glad that you a awesome stay. We are looking forwards to your next visit at the hotel...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#174 of 469 in New York City
892 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#393 of 469 in New York City
718 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#285 of 469 in New York City
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#246 of 469 in New York City
2,112 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#91 of 469 in New York City
1,897 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#30 of 469 in New York City
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wales

Address: 1295 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10128-1301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#213 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $220 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Wales 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Hotel Wales be your home away from home when visiting New York City. This sophisticated Manhattan boutique hotel, located in a historic building on the Upper East Side, is the perfect combination of old world charm and new world comfort. With its 46 stylish guestrooms and 43 expansive suites, Hotel Wales provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. In addition to well-appointed accommodations, Hotel Wales offers a scenic rooftop garden terrace, fitness studio, elegant meeting space, and more. This historic hotel is minutes from the subway and also conveniently located within walking distance of some of New York’s best attractions, quaint neighborhood shops, local eateries, Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue’s famous stores to name a few. And don’t worry about going hungry - Hotel Wales is connected to Sarabeth’s East, a New York institution serving up comfort food favorites and Paola’s, an authentic Italian bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wales Hotel New York City
Wales New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing