We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best in NY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Ranked #41 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I have stayed in several hotels in downtown, midtown and uptown New York City. By far the Waldorf has been the best for room spaciousness, comfort, convenience. Room rates are great when you compare to others that for a similar rate are smaller and less quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Madlyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Madlyn,

Thank you for your recommendation and support! I am so delighted to learn that you enjoyed your experience at the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria. Our aim is to impress each and every one of our guests, and I am happy to know that we succeeded in your case.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    269
    120
    75
    33
See reviews for
598
626
62
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I have stayed here on business a couple times now and I couldn't be more pleased.
I was checked in both times by Krissy at the front desk and she is so nice and helpful.
The suites I have stayed in take you back to another era in the best possible way. This is not a brand new, modern hotel. Its for people that appreciate history and comfortable, back-in-the-day luxury.
The room service I got was very good. You HAVE to get the Waldorf salad of course. It lives up to its reputation.
Location is great, beds are super comfortable and the water pressure in the shower is heaven. :-)
I will definitely be staying here as much as possible whenever I am in NYC!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBeisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear MBeisser,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave us some comments regarding your recent stay at the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria.

I am thrilled that we were able to provide you with the luxury accommodations and True Waldorf Service you expect and deserve from our historic property! We look forward to hosting you in the future, and please feel to reach out directly if you should have any special requests.

Thank you,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
196 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel never disappoints. From the Lobby of the Waldorf which is old world magically to the more sedate and subdued entrance to Towers this hotels is wonderfully located and appointed. David our Concierge was fantastic and I would recommend him highly as he directed us in the right direction every time!

Room Tip: Request the Tower side if possible and the suites are definitely worth the extra money as they provi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Jerry,

What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay here at the Towers. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to New York City again in the near future, and we will be sure to pass your regards on to David, our concierge.

Thank you kindly,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
207 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The perfunctory, tired service was underwhelming. One example: My wife called the Towers concierge and was put on hold for a long time and when she said it had been a long wait the response was "It was only two minutes and forty seconds." We had been upgraded to a grand apartment with lovely views of the Chrysler Building and the East River and it was great fun to imagine the glory days of this faded hotel. While the public lobbies of the building are wonderfully cared for and kept up the Towers residential floors are sadly in need of updating. The breakfast lounge was dumpy. I should note that the room service was prompt, excellent food, and we enjoyed sitting down to a couple of lovely meals in our dining room. I should also note that the housekeepers and bellmen who served us were uniformly polite and warm. It was the people manning the desks and concierge phones who left a bad impression. I hadn't stayed here for twenty years but it was overall not as nice as I remembered. I've stayed many times at the new Waldorfs in Shanghai and Beijing -- and they put the "mother ship" to shame. Hilton needs to put some money and management attention and talent into home hotel for this brand.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimatmutianyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear jimatmutianyu,

First, I would like to take a moment to thank you for submitting your experience. We regret that we did not provide you with the personalized standard of service we wish to provide every guest while you were here. While we are happy to learn that you were satisfied with your room accommodation, it is disconcerting to read some of your concerns, as they are so out of line with our standards.

We take feedback such as yours very seriously, and I want to take this opportunity to inform you that we are currently racing toward a strategy that will address and evolve the issues you mentioned as well as others. This is our commitment to our guests, and we hope for your support as we embark on this journey.

Thank you kindly,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The Waldorf Astoria is for the rich and famous, of which I am not. We managed to save up and come and stay in the Waldorf for 4 nights where we did not feel that we had a warm welcome and we were ignored when we checked out. The room we stayed in felt tired and in need of updating and I understand that they have very rich guests staying there but shouldn't they treat every guest as if they were welcome? We felt that there was a big prejudice against us as we are not part of the elite group of rich. It would be nice if we had been treated as if we were treated as valued customers. I wouldn't recommend to stay here for value for money but it is in an ideal location and the beds are very comfortable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DrChains03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear DrChains03,

I am sorry to read that we were not able to make you feel at home during your recent stay at the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria. While we do have a high number of guests who fall under the "VIP" category, it is our wish to make each of our guests feel like VIPs and provide them with the personalized luxury treatment they expect and deserve from the Waldorf Astoria.

Next time you are in New York City, we hope you will come back so that we may show you our True Waldorf Service and provide you with the luxury experience we wish we could have extended to you last time. Thank you for your comments, and we hope you have an excellent day!

Thank you,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callander, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We have just returned from a great time in new York staying at the waldorf,Our room was a bit disappointing the vent was dirty and there was an odour on entering the room,I would suspect a drainage issue,We loved the other aspects of the hotel,the lobby was fantastic,and m,ost of the staff were very helpful and kind,,in particular Stanley and jonathan on concierce are a credit to the waldorf they were excellent,We did the hotel tour with Karen ,she is great very entertaining,only downside was the very ,very poor sevice at the peacock which was part of the deal,we must have waited 30 minutes to be served the main,very poor show,We will return to new York ,and give it a lot of thought about were we stay,but we have not ruled out the waldorf.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Assistant Director of Rooms at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Stephen M,

Thank you for submitting your review for the TripAdvisor community. While we are very pleased that you were satisfied with your New York experience and your stay at the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria on the whole, we regret that we were not able to fully blow you out of the water. We sincerely hope that you will stay with us again in the future when you return to New York City so that we may show you how we are using guest feedback such as your review to improve our offerings.

Thank you,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Everything associated with this grand hotel is exquisite and first class from the minute we checked in. I read some negative reviews before getting reservations here, but nothing could be further from our experience. The roll away bed was in our room, we got upgraded to a suite that had obviously been refurbished as everything was modern and first class down to the bathroom amenities for our pampering. The only first class five star hotel we can compare the Waldorf Towers to is the Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables, Fl. This hotel is the ultimate in NYC and every staff personnel we met was tops and bent over backwards to please us during our three night stay. Will definitely stay here again!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Kenneth,

What an honor to read your comments! I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable experience at the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria- from our amenities to our True Waldorf Service.

We look forward to hosting you here in the future when you return to New York City. Be sure to let us know if you have any special requests we can accommodate to ensure that your next stay is even more magical than the last.

Thank you,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Waldorf Astoria New York
Waldorf Astoria New York
#279 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 10,550 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#20 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#73 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,383 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#49 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#32 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria

Property: The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Address: 100 E 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring above Manhattan on the 28th-42nd floors of The Waldorf=Astoria, this boutique hotel is home to celebrities and corporate leaders and has hosted every American president since Herbert Hoover. The hotel features a collection of 181 rooms, including 123 impressive suites with its own Les Clef D’Or concierge and a dedicated private entrance. Towers Guest enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast in the Astoria Lounge. The hotel is situated within the Waldorf Astoria in midtown Manhattan, near shops, museums & the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towers Of The Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York City
Waldorf Hotel New York City
Waldorf New York
Waldorf Towers
Waldorf Astoria New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing