We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great hotel, service recovery slow but got there in the end.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Ranked #52 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great hotel, service recovery slow but got there in the end.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our rooms were not available on arrival as apparently they didn't exist and this is not an inexpensive hotel for a family of 6! We spent a couple of days separated as a family in different rooms and eventually got upgraded to a spectacular suite which surpassed our expectations. The frustrating thing was the ability to commit and deliver on expectations and our complaint didn't get taken seriously until I googled and e mailed the area general manager for the hotel group. Concierge service was brilliant and we got fantastic recommendations for wonderful restaurants. Overall a wonderful stay and service was recovered after a poor start. Great location and wonderful food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and double check they have your booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RUTHANDPAULLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,158
    258
    115
    74
    32
See reviews for
536
589
57
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Just returned from a special trip to Manhattan and stayed in a corner suite at the Waldorf Towers. The suite felt more like a fine home than a hotel, and the staff was unfailingly professional and welcoming. Whitney, our assistant in selecting the suite, was extraordinary and made a special effort to greet us personally upon our arrival. The Tower rooms are definitely a different experience than rooms in the rest of the hotel, and I suggest upgrading if at all possible. An iconic experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willtravel1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Arbour, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Waldorf Towers is definitely a treat. With its own separate entrance, it is truly a hotel within a hotel. The service was excellent and the rooms were very spacious. Would also highly recommend the Guerlain Spa which was very special.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank MaryPat0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen K
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

All big cities around the world have at least one of them: The grand old hotel; often they offer only a name, a glitzy lobby and high prices, but this one, the Waldorf Astoria of New York, remains grand in every sense of the word - including the lobby! From the building itself and its location down to the impeccable service and the elegant rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank SKruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

After looking and looking for a hotel for a family vacation in NYC I finally, with trepidation decided on the Waldorf. Other reviews said it was dated or criticized the lobby check in process etc. I could not find one fault with the hotel. It exceeded all of our expectations. Beautiful, elegant, classy and top notch service. Beds that where truly a dream to sleep in. Incredible views of Park Ave from the windows. I've stayed at "Andaz" and the "W" and love the modern vibe as well. This being the first trip of my 11 and 12 yr old to NYC I wanted them to be amazed and they where. They where the ones that pointed out that "People here are dressed so nice Mom". Drinks at the bar with my husband in the evening, listening to the pianist sing classics just made it so special. The price for the Towers was comparable to other boutique hotels but the rooms are bigger. Continental breakfast was included with fruit, different breads yogurt, cereals etc. In a very elegant room on the 26th floor. I wholeheartedly recommend that you stay here at least once it is truly a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Stayed at the towers on the 31st floor facing park ave. Pretty quiet since it was at the end of a ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altaussee, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I did enjoy my stay in this landmark hotel very very much. All the staff is extremely friendly and the view from the luxury guest rooms to Midtown is breathtaking. Chef concierge Michael Romei is the good soul in respect of guest relations and made our stay an unforgettable one. I'll be back for sure during my next NYC visit and can strongly suggest this great experience of hospitality.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfgang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

For those who can afford it, this is the pinnacle of New York luxury accommodations. The staff could not be more welcoming. And the hotel has avoided the rundown aura that grandes dames establishments of its type often exude. The mid-town location on Park Avenue is also a plus.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Waldorf Astoria New York
Waldorf Astoria New York
#282 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 10,141 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#73 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#18 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#30 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria

Property: The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Address: 100 East 50th St, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring above Manhattan on the 28th-42nd floors of The Waldorf=Astoria, this boutique hotel is home to celebrities and corporate leaders and has hosted every American president since Herbert Hoover. The hotel features a collection of 181 rooms, including 123 impressive suites with its own Les Clef D’Or concierge and a dedicated private entrance. Towers Guest enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast in the Astoria Lounge. The hotel is situated within the Waldorf Astoria in midtown Manhattan, near shops, museums & the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towers Of The Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York City
Waldorf Hotel New York City
Waldorf New York
Waldorf Towers
Waldorf Astoria New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing